We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene and Beautiful”

National Shrine Basilica of Our Lady of Fatima
Ranked #4 of 20 things to do in Lewiston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
North Tonawanda, New York
Level Contributor
438 reviews
211 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
“Serene and Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Even if you are not Roman Catholic, this is a wonderful place to visit. Even with repair work going on it was worth going to see. On this last visit we only stopped in the visitor building to light a candle in the little chapel. It was too cold to wander about the grounds and over to the church itself, but spring is coming and we can always go again. The cafeteria is not open on weekdays during the winter.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    19
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Youngstown, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely spot.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

The shrine and grounds are really lovely, peaceful and quiet. Definitely worth a vist. The place needs some funding, it's a bit shabby and needs some upkeep that looks a bit overdue. Nice place, I plan to go back in the summer when the gardens are blooming.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peg4157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

I visited The Shrine of Our Lady of Fatima in Novenber it was absolutely Beautiful. It was all lit up with different Tableaus of Christmas scenes. We were there at dusk so the place seemed magical. The Basilica was filled with Peace and one could get lost in contemplation of life and The Great Spirit's love for us. I think it would have a different look in the Spring/ Summer and I do hope to go back in these seasons to visit again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank travelwithme44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperail Beach
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

A place to visit. The grounds are welcoming and it's history interesting. Very peaceful inside. Take a moment to sit and absorb it's beauty and power.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bchrefuge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Serenely beautiful basilica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

If you are visiting Niagara falls, then it is worth visiting this place. This is a catholic shrine and is well maintained and green all around with beautiful trees, a nice pond, a few fountains, and flowers. The shrine itself is shaped like a globe with the virgin Mary standing on top of it. Most saints have their statues here. It has many places where you can sit on the benches and just admire the place. If you are looking for some calm and quiet, then you can can sit on one of the stone benches and have some quiet time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Axnchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Shrine Basilica of Our Lady of Fatima also viewed

 

Been to National Shrine Basilica of Our Lady of Fatima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing