We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get- away from the Hustle and Bustle!”

The Horned Dorset Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leonardsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Horned Dorset Inn
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

About 4 plus hours from NYC, after driving through several little towns, you will reach the little town of Leonardsville, NY, and this is where you will find the Horned Dorset Inn; a large, old, four bedroom house each with private baths. The two upstairs rooms had king size beds with large, private sitting rooms. We were very comfortable in our queen size bed downstairs and a shared sitting room adjourning a small dining area for an included breakfast (you can choose to have it served in your room) of Chibani yogurt (made in the next town over) homemade croissants and banana bread, fresh squeezed orange juice and coffee or tea. It was quiet and unpretentious; no television or internet and an old-fashioned dial phone in the foyer for emergency contact. And our mid week stay was undisturbed by any noisy nightlife!
The owner, Madeleine, gave us a tour of the house and restaurant where we ate in the private dining room (incredible experience prepared by her husband, chef Aaron, but that's another review).
The personal touches of fresh fruit and bottled water and cloth napkins in our room were a great finishing touch!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank retiredandtraveling5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 18 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Horned Dorset is an unlikely find. Leonardsville is about as rural a town as you'll find in this part of Upstate New York, a tiny hamlet on an unremarkable State highway. And frankly it's not the most picturesque highway you'll find, at least the part where the Restaurant is located. But what a restaurant.

The owners have lovingly "restored" the building. I put restored in quotation marks because I doubt this building ever looked this lovely in reality. The inside of the restaurant boasts two major rooms, one with a stately staircase, beautiful windows, and soothing plants, and the other with a den/library vibe. It's very much a late nineteenth century Victorian sensibility; in fact it reminds me of the interior of the Mark Twain House in Hartford, Connecticut. It's soothing and very classy. We didn't see the associated inn, but my guess is that's lovely too. The outdoor courtyard certainly is.

The food was classical French for the most part. We had beef tenderloin and (in a non French twist) Wiener schnitzel. The beef was quite good, the Wiener schnitzel only adequate-- but the ambiance and service were so fantastic that this place still deserves full marks. We had two entrees, a bottle of wine, and dessert for under $200-- very reasonable for such a fine establishment.

The night we were there, a Friday night in early October, a grand total of four couples visited the restaurant all evening. We felt like royalty. When I asked how they can possibly stay afloat, the waiter mentioned that families from nearby Colgate University and Hamilton College often patronize the place. I certainly hope so. It's a treasure and we'll definitely be back. They close for the season in November and reopen in May. we can't wait.

If you like fine dining and find yourself anywhere near here, just go. You won't regret it.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TerminusEst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The interior architecture and atmosphere of this unassuming building is superb. The food was outstanding, the service absolutely phenomenal (I left a 30% tip and felt a little guilty I wasn't leaving more), and the wine list was surprisingly affordable. I'm a little afraid to go back, because I'm not sure its possible to top my last experience their

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HamCol1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The location is out of the way but, well worth the drive. The Inn is beautiful, the menu full of nice surprises, and the staff is very professional and well trained. Each time I visit, I wish I would make the effort to travel here more frequently. We have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachFan711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Driving through the pastoral farmland of Western New York, we came upon the sleepy hamlet of Leonardsville and the Horned Dorset inn and restaurant.
Set in an historic building, the restaurant features French cuisine, lovingly prepared and presented by Chef Aaron Wratten and his staff. Menu items we tried during our two evening meals included grilled octopus salad, celery root with wild mushrooms, roasted chicken with gnocchi, vegetable ragout, braised duck and the daily fish which was a grilled salmon. All were delicious. The wait staff was attentive, the pace unhurried and the final treat of the evening, almond pastry with amaretto cream and lemon cake with chocolate glaze satisfied our palettes and had us looking forward to our next visit.

Although we didn’t stay at the inn, we were treated to a tour and were impressed with the lovely décor and attention to detail.

We highly recommend the restaurant and inn to those who appreciate a genteel dining experience with details including fine silver and freshly cut flowers, set in a beautiful surrounding.

Room Tip: The suites are luxurious>
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank francesca r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My family and I had recently dined at the Horned Dorset, it was our first time. We were intrigued and surprised by the decor and the attention to the details. The ambiance and the welcoming of the staff have been at the level only experienced in the highest ranking hotels or restaurants you can find in big cities like Paris or London.
Our dinner was tasty and the dishes enrriched by forgotten flavors and aromas. We found out afterwards that they use ingredients from the Chef's own vegetable and herbs garden next to the restaurant. The lamb was delicious and so was the selection of fine wines.

We enjoyed our dining and our stay at the Inn, will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paolo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Went on Saturday night with reservation. Jacket not required.Placed in back room with other non jacketed types. Live guitarist and fresh flowers. Beautiful candlelight and ambience. Veal steak cooked as ordered. Asked for vegetarian dish custom made. Chef vegetatarian. Duck soup with ramps tasty and unusual. Table setting impeccable. Young wait staff attentive and gaining experience. Sociable. Pricing moderate to expensive. Nice wines.Private party room and lodging available. Owners open to diners, tours. Cocktails in library. Recommend for special events or getaway close by.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank anymember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Horned Dorset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horned Dorset Inn

Address: 2000 Main Street, Route 8, Leonardsville, NY 13364
Location: United States > New York > Leonardsville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Leonardsville
Price Range: $175 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Central New York overnight accommodations are in the gracious, restored Victorian house adjacent to the restaurant building. An elegant breakfast is included, served in the dining room or en suite. We are pet friendly, of course. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing