We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Educational”

Jell-O Gallery Museum
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Le Roy
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Educational”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I took 2 of our grand kids to learn about Jello, they loved it. There is a very detailed video and live person inter action. There is also hands on activities for the kids.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Arson91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    62
    13
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
200 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“Always Rooms for Jell-O”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Also known as the Jell-O Museum, the Jell-O Gallery in Le Roy, New York is dedicated to exhibits about Jell-O. Jell-O was invented in Le Roy by Pearle Bixby Wait, a carpenter, in 1897 when he and his wife, May, added strawberry, raspberry, orange, and lemon flavoring to the powder and gave the product its present name. The quaint, little museum is operated by the Le Roy Historical Society. It is packed full of photographs and memorabilia. Did you know the Jell-O girl's real name was Elizabeth King? Did you know Wait sold the Jell-O formula for $450, the cost of a new house at the time? It is all in the museum. The museum even has a room devoted to Bill Cosby commercials. The staff are very friendly and very knowledgable. It takes about an hour to get through all the exhibits. Admission is $4.50 for adults and $1.50 for children. Note that admission also includes access to the Transportation Exhibit, a collection of items highlighting the evolution of transportation in the 20th century, in the basement. You will see lots of antique sleighs and wagons. It is definitely worth a visit if you are in the area.


Helpful?
3 Thank burr6013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Jello! Jello! Jello!”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Everything you ever wanted to know about Jello. This isn't a hands-on museum, mostly photographs to look at and exhibits to read about. Great gift shop with lots of jello and Leroy memorabilia

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barolo_Backroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Surprisingly wonderful”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

DO stop in to see the Jello Museum. In addition to lots of Jello trivia and advertising they have a transportation museum on the first floor. The exhibits are all well done and I do hope you can get Ruth as a docent. She was beyond delightful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Consultantgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Neat little museum!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We made a little detour when we saw a sign from the road saying Jello museum, a last moment stop to stretch our legs from driving all day. Cute little museum along with the transportation museum and the Leroy House all in one. The staff was very knowledgeable and friendly. The museum took less than an hour and was a nice little break from driving. I am not sure if I would go out of my way to see it, buts it's worth a stop if you are in the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Smilefrogs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jell-O Gallery Museum also viewed

 

Been to Jell-O Gallery Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing