We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brookside Inn at Laurens
Ranked #1 of 1 Laurens B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

At the end of a weeklong jaunt where we had stayed in a number of places, we arrived at the Brookside Inn at Laurens, and were warmly welcomed by Dave and Lori. The rooms were charmingly decorated and our bedroom was large and comfortable. There was a wonderful great room chock full of tasty treats; Ken took advantage of the available cookies and milk several times. Our first morning, Lori treated us to our own breakfast, in front of the fireplace. We were immediately sold on the Inn and got so relaxed, we asked about staying another night. As luck would have it, they still had a room available and we grabbed it. We also booked three nights in the Spring!! For our trip home, Lori packaged a few of the cookies Ken liked...what a sweetie. Looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Each room is tastefully decorated; the yellow room was our favorite, on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 133 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

We spent two nights at The Brookside Inn At Laurens, and felt as if we were staying with family. Lori and Dave were WONDERFUL hosts. The rooms were charming, clean, delightfully decorated, and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious. We really wanted to stay a third morning to see what new culinary delights Lori would create for us. Snacks were ALWAYS available and chocolates right next to your bed--yum.
As we were tourists, it was a great location, close to Cooperstown and Oneonta. We would stay at Brookside again and we WILL recommend it to all our friends

Room Tip: We were given a tour of the Inn, and I believe every room is a good room All have fireplaces, good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed at the Brookside Inn for two nights to visit the attractions in Cooperstown. This was also our first stay at a Bed and Breakfast. We enjoyed every part of our experience here. The owners, Lori and Dave, were warm, welcoming and very accommodating and made some great recommendations of places to see in the area. The Inn was very clean and comfortable - we loved all the homey, personal touches - and breakfast both mornings was a real treat! It was also an easy driving distance from everything we wanted to see while in the area while enjoying being in the outskirts of town.
Whenever we are back in the area, we will definitely be booking a second stay here.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank TGrimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here with friends for a long weekend get away. Very comfortable--Food was great
Charmingly decorated. The hosts were great and knowledgable of area. Would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed at Brookside Inn for two nights on a work trip in the region. It is a meticulously refurbished, beautifully maintained (clean, clean!) Victorian house converted into a B&B. The amenities are perfect (loads of towels, extra blankets, a hair-drier in the bathroom, chocolates awaiting you by your bedside, complimentary wine. And the breakfast! Lori will give you any kind of eggs you want, bacon, sausages; I imagine she'd have made pancakes; oatmeal, whatever. A class act. She did everything she could to make me comfortable. -- One thing I would suggest to the good Lori and David: a desk for those who want to work in their rooms (I had to work on my computer on the bed, which was OK, but still. I myself don't like to work in a dining room w/ other guests around.) ,. -- One problem: I could not get cell-phone service there. But there are many "dead zones" in rural New York State. I still give Brookside Inn a 5. So much can go wrong, and nothing did, save for the cell phone issue. (There's no fitness center, no pool, so these items are N/A).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We decided to go to Cooperstown on a whim because our cousin was filming a movie in Oneonta for the month. We researched a bunch of hotels and ended up choosing this one because it had great reviews and the pictures were nice. They were right! Lori was an absolute sweetheart and pleasure to be around...she opened the door and knew who we were right away, and showed us around and made us feel right at home. In the morning, they offer a great breakfast buffet and let you make a plate with coffee or tea. The rooms and bathrooms are very clean and well kept. We would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a great warm place to stay for a weekend getaway!!!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've been wanting to visit the MLB Hall of Fame in Cooperstown for as long as I can remember, and this summer I finally got around to it. While shopping around for a motel, I spotted Brookside Inn at Laurens. I'd never stayed at a bed and breakfast before,but the price was reasonable so I thought, what the hey? It turned out to exceed my expectations! Lori greeted me by name when I arrived, and showed me around the house, and where I would be staying. There was candy by the bed (they know my weakness!) along with bottled water and a complimentary bottle of wine. There were all sorts of snacks in the dining room, available any time. Brookside Inn is beautifully decorated. You can tell a lot of thought goes into picking out the many decorations. And it's clean and neat. The inn is in a small town setting. Very peaceful. I went out for a couple of late night walks, and just sat on the porch and listened to the brook that runs alongside the inn. Breakfast was exquisite. So much variety, and so much tastier than anything the big name hotels dish out! I love bacon and eat a lot of it, and I gotta tell ya' this was some of the best tasting bacon I've ever had!
I had never traveled through the state of New York prior to this, and I was impressed. The countryside is breathtaking. I would recommend it to anyone. And if you do travel to the area, do yourself a favour and treat yourself to a stay at the Brookside Inn at Laurens. It's an experience you'll never forget.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dgilligan60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laurens
5.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#6 of 9 in Oneonta
210 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Oneonta
Hampton Inn Oneonta
#1 of 9 in Oneonta
955 reviews
14.3 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#3 of 16 in Cooperstown
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
The Inn at Cooperstown
The Inn at Cooperstown
#1 of 16 in Cooperstown
897 reviews
10.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
6.4 mi away
Kountry Living Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookside Inn at Laurens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Inn at Laurens

Address: 99 Main St., Laurens, NY 13796
Location: United States > New York > Laurens
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Laurens
Price Range: $83 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brookside Inn at Laurens 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn offers five spacious, beautifully decorated guest rooms with a babbling brook along side, and a charming gazebo overlooking Knapp Park. Each guest room is fully furnished with a comfortable king or queen-size bed, except for the Lavender Room which has two comfortable twin beds or one king. Each has a gas fireplace, cable TV with DVD player, pillows, clock, and ceiling fan, A/C, wireless Internet, ironing board, robes, and towels.A scrumptious, bountiful buffet breakfast is available each morning between the hours of 8-10:30am; indulge where ever the mood takes you...in the Great Room which is magnificently decorated with 10 ft. ceilings, two huge ceiling fans with decorated glass and cherry wood, huge white fireplace decorated with fluted molding, and marble surround. You can sit in cafe section, and enjoy your breakfast along with piped in music such as jazz, soft rock or many other melodies to choose from, or you may prefer to watch TV on our 30-inch screen TV while you dine, or you may dine outdoors at our brook-side cafe, or in your very own personal guest room. Come join us for our Upstate New York Hospitality with a little bit of City flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Brookside Inn at Laurens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing