We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service that Lacks Honour” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Latham/Albany Troy Area

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Super 8 Latham/Albany Troy Area
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Latham
Singapore
Level Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Service that Lacks Honour”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

I called 24 hours prior to make a reservation and stated that I was going to use a coupon. My details were taken and was even given a reference number.

By 7 pm when I wanted to check in I was told by the receptionist that my details were not in his system and he could not Honour the coupon rate. I was able to quote his colleague's name and ref number. I couldn't be lying. He shrugged and said a few times "it's not in the system".

It's your system, not mine. You messed up, not me. Why was I left stranded and forced to pay a higher rate ?

I went to the opposite side of the road and stayed with Microtel. Newer and cheaper.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HazeSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8LathamNY, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Latham/Albany Troy Area, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
I am so sorry for the experience that you had this weekend at our establishment. We will be working with the employees involved to ensure that this never happens to anyone again. We have several fairly new employees. I am not certain why you were treated this way I can guarantee it will never happen again. Please check your private messages as we hope that we can fins a way for you to come stay with us again.

Stephanie
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    121
    104
    37
    35
See reviews for
126
78
60
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malone, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Room was clean. Great service however when I got there my credit card was declined. The gentleman told me if I was paying cash I would have to give a $50 deposit as well until checkout the next day. I drove 3.5hrs down there and was never informed of this when I made my reservation so needless to say I had no money for food or drink the entire night. Other than that a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8LathamNY, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Latham/Albany Troy Area, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We thank you for your review and are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry that you were not aware that we require a deposit for customers paying cash. We hope that you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

It was clean, staff where all nice,could use a guest laundry though,overall not bad for the price.Denny's next store was a plus.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8LathamNY, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Latham/Albany Troy Area, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have ben looking in to adding a guest laundry and are trying to work out a plan for that. We hope that when you visited the Denny's you let them know you were a guest and took advantage of the discount they offer to the patrons of the hotel. We look forward to you staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
218 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

As usual booked in advance to get the discount for my road trip. I had driven from Hyannis, MA, so a long day's drive through Vermont for the Fall foliage. Very nice young lady on reception, welcoming and check-in only took 5 minutes, credit card, photo ID, job done. Very nice room (315) loads of space, 2 massive double-beds, everything as you would expect, and clean. Wi-Fi was ace, I was getting 20 Meg download onto my laptop.Had a good night's sleep, then went to Denny's next door which has just opened in the old Friendly's building, very nice breakfast, then headed for Niagara Falls. Photos to follow.

Room Tip: Had room 315, very nice large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john461212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8LathamNY, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Latham/Albany Troy Area, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
We thank you for your review and apologize that it took so long for us to respond. A drive through Vermont in October is truly beautiful. When you stay with us again you will be happy to know that if you show your room key at Denny's you receive a discount on your order. We look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Latham
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Albany Airport
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Latham Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Albany-Latham
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport
1.5 mi away
The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Latham/Albany Troy Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Latham/Albany Troy Area

Property: Super 8 Latham/Albany Troy Area
Address: 681 Troy Schenectady Road, I-87 Exit 6, Latham, NY 12110-2501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Latham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Latham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Latham/Albany Troy Area 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly remodeled in 2015, close to I-87 and I-90, near Dennys's Restaurant (24 Hours) and surrounded with many choice of restaurant and Fast food. Our Latham, NY, hotel gives you easy access to New York's capital, Troy, Saratoga Spring, Schenectady and beyond. Plan your busy day with free Wi-Fi. Start your morning energized with free SuperStart continental breakfast. For business class comfort, book one of our king executive suites, equipped with recliner, refrigerator and microwave or Deluxe 2 Doubles equipped refrigerator and microwave . Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our Latham,NY/near Albany & Troy area hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Super 8 Latham/Albany Troy Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Latham/Albany Hotel Latham
Super Eight Latham
Latham Super Eight
Latham Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing