We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good food found on the way to Lake Placid” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tala an American Bistro

Tala an American Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Tala an American Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 142 Restaurants in Latham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $40
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tala is a modern American bistro serving Lunch and Dinner Monday thru Saturday and Brunch on Saturday and Sunday. Stop in for lunch or dinner or a late night snack. In addition to our menu we feature daily specials and Happy Hour. In the warmer months we have outdoor dining and fire pits on the patio. Stop in or call ahead.
Sayreville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
133 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very good food found on the way to Lake Placid”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Ate here with 2 kids and the kids loved the food. This is an upscale, but relaxed restaurant with complex dinners. I ordered a Sausage and pasta dish which was fantastic, everyone else ordered seafood dishes (it was lent). Special requests were handled without a problem and the food was perfect. Very good restaurant. Be prepared to spend some time here though. We spent a little over 2 hours from the time we sat down to the time we left. Everything is made to order and they do not rush you at all. Service was fantastic and they must have filled our water glasses 15 times before the end of the night. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a very good, very unique dinner.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DonWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    35
    13
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Latham, New York
1 review
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Five star dining and atmosphere! Consistently delicious, terrific service! Looking forward to our next date night at Tala!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfectly Seasoned….”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

We rolled into Tala on lazy President's Day Monday holiday around 3:30 just for a bite to eat and to relax! We sat at the bar and we were greeted with a warm welcome by Heather. We looked at the menu and there were so many tempting items that it was hard to choose. We were also given a Nosh menu which are small plates that you can enjoy with your wine or cocktails from 4pm to 7pm. We settled on sharing the Kettle Chips, Philly Sliders, Crispy Thai Calamari, Jane and Neil's Szechuan Chicken Wings and the Sausage Broccoli Rabe Pizza. From start to finish every dish was not only beautifully presented, but delicious. The pizza was one of the best I have had, thin crust, crispy and perfectly seasoned. The Calamari was mouthwatering with just the right amount sauce enrobing the crispy lightly fried rings and tentacles. The Chips were addicting with warm Gorgonzola Sauce. The decor was day spa casual elegance, comfortable and relaxing. Heather is a treasure and made our experience there so enjoyable! She was gracious and attentive without being obtrusive. All in all it was the perfect choice for a enjoyable holiday Monday or for that matter anytime! If the wonderful experience I had at the bar is an indication, I can't wait to go back for the full dinner experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cmcdlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, ME
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food! Interesting atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

I ate here with co workers. We started at the bar and selected a few items from the happy hour menu (sliders and potato chips), both of which were excellent. We moved to a table and had three different dinners (fish, pasta and pizza) and were all very happy with our choices. We finished with an ice cream sundae that was perfect! I would go back here if I were in town again!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lidco6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food, uncomfortable chairs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

For as long as I can remember Huck Finn's Warehouse in Albany has had a Subway inside. It used to be that neighborhood was a food dessert -- if you were worked near there, you have few if any options for lunch -- so people going to Subway might shop for furniture or knick knacks and people who shopped for such things at lunch could grab a sub to take back to the office. That made sense to me. However, Tala is attached to a salon and without bothering to think what the other 49 might be, I can say with confidence this is on my list of the Top 50 Dumbest Restaurant Concepts of all time.

That said, I'm a somewhat picky eater and though the menu has some unusual choices and some interesting twists on standard fare, the twists are relatively small and there are enough "normal" choices that I had some trouble deciding what to have. Everyone at the table had similar difficulty; it all sounded so good. And it was!

The decor is attractive and the table beautiful with unusual sugar and cream service, and salt and pepper shakers. Many of the chairs, however, are horrible. The 2- and 4-person tables have nice big cushioned chairs with firm back. The larger tables have small bent wood chairs that most adults have to basically balance on top of. By the end of a nearly-two hour brunch, my back was killing me.

The moral of the story is: come with 4 or fewer in your party and enjoy the eclectic variations on brunch favorites.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisN438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tala an American Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Tala an American Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing