We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best indian lunch at best price”
Review of Shalimar

Shalimar
Ranked #32 of 145 Restaurants in Latham
Cuisines: Indian
Description: Located in Peter Harris Plaza
Restaurant details
Description: Located in Peter Harris Plaza
japiur
2 reviews
“Best indian lunch at best price”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is the place to get good indian food.you dont need to wait or place order.super fast service.lunch will cost$7.55 per person

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saurabhmaurya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“I love these guys!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

I have been eating at all the locations for years and I have always enjoyed their food. Their buffet is an amazing value. And yes they do take a few minutes sometimes to get out the food and I can see how that could be an issue but they are full every time I go in. Go where us locals go for good grub!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“No longer the great buffet it once was!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

They open at 11:30 for the lunch buffet, but for the last few months the food is not ready, or at best, only some of it is. If you are on your lunch hour, you may have to wait 10/15 min before the food is put out. You are now lucky if you are asked what you would like to drink. This place was a work place favorite until something within management changes. Then it went down hill. Perhaps they need to change their start time to 12:00, this allowing them time to get their food out on a timely basis. I miss the old Shalimar, and hope it will not continue the way it's heading .

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 48035Ladybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
2 reviews
“Not a great place”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have visited 2 times. Sunday buffet and dinner or other day. Both are nightmare experienceses...I feel like food is cooked for americans...raisin's in Biryani....and not a great food to eat....

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ramesh U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Indian Food”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I am originally Egyptian and spicy food is a favorite, Shalimar offered a good combination of price andqualityfor my taste. I lived in cosmopolitan cities before and experienced top notch Indian cuisine; Shalimar is not the best in terms of variety, but is really good for what they offer (about 6-7 items for a lunch buffer on a week day, cannot complain, especially with an $8 price tag). The staff is friendly and probably they can spend some money upgrading their washrooms ! Will go there again.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mohammad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shalimar also viewed

 

Been to Shalimar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing