We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic find!”
Review of Portofino Ristorante - CLOSED

Portofino Ristorante
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Come visit us at Portofino,located adjacent to Travelodge Hotel. Fine dining atmosphere, affordable dining and great ambience. Live music on weekends and happy hour 4 to 7 monday thru Friday! Award winning chef.....find out why we are becoming Latham's newest favorite!
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic find!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Because I do a lot of business travel, I rely on Trip Advisor to help me find good healthy food at a reasonable price. Did it deliver a gem with Portofinos! Fantastic food at real value pricing. (I've paid twice their price for food of lesser quality at chic restaurants.) Wonderful, helpful service, a fresh delicious salad with their own special dressing, homemade pasta that was excellent and chicken marsala that was flavorful and tender enough to cut with a fork, homemade bread and large portions. What more could you want? I'll be back for sure.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BShockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    21
    5
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Came on the recommendation of our hotel's desk clerk....dinner was wonderful, staff was attentive...great experience. Wish we lived closer!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susielyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“homemade pasta!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Yes, it is attached to a Travelodge, don't let that stop you. Staff is wonderful. The food, starting with the fresh herb bread, the house salad, and right on through your meal. My only disappointment (hence the four stars) was the crust fell off the Chicken Parmesan.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cathsalzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Very nice eatery.

Sandwich Section on Lunch menu will surprise you.

Prices are very appropriate.

Pasta (numerous) are HOME MADE.

"Chips" are HOME MADE ~ but not advertised as such.

Soups and salads are very good.

Wine list is nicely priced and has some fine budget selections.

Highly recommended !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZenMaster_Flash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were in the area to visit Saratoga Racecourse and decided to stop here for dinner based on Trip Advisor reviews. We were not disappointed as we found the establishment serves outstanding Italian cuisine in a pleasant setting. Service was attentive and quick to respond to our wants and needs.

The only bad part of the experience was reaching the restaurant due to the road configuration and construction. However, there is little the restaurant can do about this.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NWOhioGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing