We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pet Friendly Excellent Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Latham
Certificate of Excellence
Nyack, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pet Friendly Excellent Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

After determining we were too tired to drive home, we needed a hotel that would accommodate our dog. The Clarion Century House was a great find. The front desk is toward the back of the building away from the road, as are the rooms so it was very quiet. At $109, it was a great value with a complimentary breakfast of eggs, pancakes, sausage, juices, etc.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lefty12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy M, Manager at The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with such positive feedback!
We do love our pets here at Clarion at The Century House so we were pleased that you found us. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you again soon!
Kind Regards
Nancy Martori-Cole
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    120
    51
    10
    6
See reviews for
146
97
16
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lockport, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

We recently held our Annual Student of the Year Event at the hotel as we have for the last few years and again, outstanding job done by all! Love this hotel. Charming, warm, and comfortable. Beautiful rooms and surrounding area. Restaurant has excellent food. The event itself was held in the White Ballroom and again, everything was arranged per instructions and always giving attention to the smallest detail. Chocolate fountain was awesome and enjoyed by all! Can't wait to go again next year.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, stay on first floor. No elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny_Aikin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy M, Manager at The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank for your such a inspiring review of your recent experience when attending the Annual Student of the Year sponsored by NYACCE. I have shared your comment with Sandy (Sales), Janice, Ben (Banquet Operations) and the entire team. They join me in thanking you for your kind words. Your review will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to providing the same pleasant accommodations and service next year.
Kind Regards
Nancy Martori-Cole
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

just your average hotel nothing really stood out to much. the location is good it is by a lot of shopping centers and places to eat. the hotel staff was very nice and everything is clean enough. i am not sure if it is every shower but mine took forever to heat up and when it finally does its hot. There is a fridge and a microwave that was nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette12322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy M, Manager at The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay. Feedback from our guests is a great way to ensure we continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will stay with us again so that we can have a chance to provide with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Latham.
Kind Regards
Nancy Martori-Cole
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Doing a huge college tour through PA and NY this week and have stayed at many different hotels throughout our trip.
Booked this hotel through Hotwire, and was so, so pleasantly surprised. My husband and I had adjoining rooms with my two teenagers. We had a king, my children had two queens, and we all raved about the beds and how well we slept. Rooms had everything we needed. The included breakfast was Superior to most other hotels. Nicely laid out, real plates and silverware and linen napkins. Eggs were perfect, not too dry and not too runny. Along with sausage, perfect pancakes, bagels, yogurts, fruit, cereal, etc. really nothing missing, and a nice server clearing plates and being very attentive.
We had dinner at the tavern next door, part of the restaurant. What a nice evening. Cozy, warm lighting, wonderful service, fireplace...the food was delicious!!! My husband had just about the best onion soup we have ever tasted. All of our meals were very tasty. Well worth it, and very convenient.
And last but not least.... from check in to check out, every staff member we encountered was just so friendly and nice. Including the manager in the morning whom invited us back if we are in the area again. If my daughter ends up going to college in the area, I would not hesitate for a second staying here again.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank liktrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy M, Manager at The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. I share all reviews and feedback from our guests with the entire staff and they join me in thanking you for your kind words and positive feedback. Our goal is to create a memorable experience, and offer a clean, friendly environment to all our guests. To hear we achieved that goal serves as encouragement to all of our staff. It is my hope that your stay with us has helped in making a decision on a college and upstate New York would be the choice. The team of Clarion at The Century House looks forward to your return visit!
Kind Regards
Nancy Martori-Cole
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Picked up by hotel manager at the airport. Good start. Hotel has old fashioned feel and look, but mostly in a good way. Great king room, with fridge and microwave. Free WiFi. Great furniture and fixtures, very comfortable bed and bedding. TV on the small side but adequate. Limited channel availability. Used room service from the restaurant downstairs. Service was excellent, food was average. Free breakfast was excellent in a classy room. Only down side for the stay was very thin walls in the room which I could hear every word said by my neighbors.

Room Tip: No elevators so stay on ground floor if you can't walk up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZMelzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy M, Manager at The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank your for review of your recent stay with us, we really appreciate you taking the time to write it! It was a pleasure meeting you. I really enjoyed our conversation regarding our participation with the Regional Food Bank of Northeastern NY and how our guests help provide a meal for someone in need by staying or enjoying a meal in our restaurant. We have just surpassed 450,000 meals thru our Enjoy One Share One Program and it is with help..
Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Best Regards
Nancy Martori-Cole
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We were traveling for Thanksgiving and had a reservation at the adjoining Century House restaurant for our Thanksgiving meal. We liked the decor and atmosphere of the hotel. Our room was quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was very good and we greatly appreciated the hotel staff allowing us a late checkout of 3 PM. The only thing that we didn't like was the double bed instead of a queen.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Traveling2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy M, Manager at The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your review of your Thanksgiving stay with us. Our goal is to create a memorable experience. Having a comfortable atmosphere and reliable service is fundamental to our business. I am always happy to hear that someone not only stayed with us but also enjoyed a meal at The Century House Restaurant. By staying and enjoying a meal with us, we have in your honor, provided meals thru the Regional Food Bank of Northeastern NY and our Enjoy One Share One Program to someone in need in our community.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Best Regards,
Nancy Martori-Cole
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Level Contributor
109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Courteous staffer picked me up at (late-arriving) train for free trip to the hotel. Excellent dinner in quaint associated restaurant. Clean, comfortable room. Unique and wonderful 1/2 mile nature trail, on which I worked up an appetite for a good breakfast. The manager honored a (mistaken) commitment made to transport me gratis from hotel to my Albany mtg. Nancy arranged to pay for a cab, but due to a sudden snowstorm, it never came. So she drove me herself through a declared Albany snow emergency!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skiergirlBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy M, Manager at The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
What a great review, we really appreciate you taking the time to write it! Our goal is to create a memorable experience, and offer a clean, safe, and friendly environment to all of our guests. I was happy you were able to take advantage of all our property has to offer, restaurant and our 1/2 mile nature trail.We know you have many choices and we appreciate you choosing us, Thank you again for your review, please visit us again soon!
Kind Regards
Nancy Martori-Cole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Latham
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Latham
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Airport
5.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo Albany-Latham
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Latham Albany Airport
3.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 997 New Loudon Road, (Route 9), Latham, NY 12110 (Formerly Clarion Hotel at the Century House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Latham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Latham
#4 Business Hotel in Latham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Latham
Clarion Hotel The Century
Latham Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing