We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Goes out of their way to help!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Latham
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo
Level Contributor
110 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Goes out of their way to help!”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Courteous staffer picked me up at (late-arriving) train for free trip to the hotel. Excellent dinner in quaint associated restaurant. Clean, comfortable room. Unique and wonderful 1/2 mile nature trail, on which I worked up an appetite for a good breakfast. The manager honored a (mistaken) commitment made to transport me gratis from hotel to my Albany mtg. Nancy arranged to pay for a cab, but due to a sudden snowstorm, it never came. So she drove me herself through a declared Albany snow emergency!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skiergirlBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy M, Manager at The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
What a great review, we really appreciate you taking the time to write it! Our goal is to create a memorable experience, and offer a clean, safe, and friendly environment to all of our guests. I was happy you were able to take advantage of all our property has to offer, restaurant and our 1/2 mile nature trail.We know you have many choices and we appreciate you choosing us, Thank you again for your review, please visit us again soon!
Kind Regards
Nancy Martori-Cole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    122
    52
    10
    6
See reviews for
147
98
16
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Regular Clarion that is "dressed up" as it's connected to a nice restaurant.

Antiques in the lobby that is in back and turn of the century prints throughout. Hotel staff was a bit goofy, but generally nice. Had to physically check to see if room had been cleaned. No bell service/help with bags which is difficult getting them up the stairs to the entrance. Coffee and cookies available all day in the lobby. Breakfast is very good, waitstaff is outstanding.

Rooms are nice, pillow top mattress, big screen tv with comfortable easy chair. Cable tv service was a little spotty and wifi was a little slow. Bed has square, not standard pillows. Hairs on one of the pillows and sheets were wrinkled. Nice desk and spacious room.

Overall a pretty nice stay expect for the shower head that is "Seinfeld" low-flow. Would not stay here again solely because of this. I could not shave my legs during my stay because there was simply was not enough water, could barely rinse my hair. Towels were on the small side and the only toiletries are generic shampoo, conditioner and lotion. Had to make a run for body wash. Stayed on the first floor and could hear people walking upstairs.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor! Ask about your shower head!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yyyzzz111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy M, Manager at The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us.
I am sorry for the experience you had with the water pressure in the shower. We very much appreciate and value your feedback. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Kind Regards
Nancy Martori-Cole
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The room was clean and tasteful. The breakfast buffet is outstanding. We dined one evening at the restaurant and were very impressed - food very nicely prepared, servers were attentive and professional. There's a 1/2-mile walking trail behind the parking lot for joggers, as well as a fitness room with weights and treadmills. The Tues/Thurs free wine and cheese "happy hour" was a nice and classy touch. Overall, we found this an excellent place to stay in the Albany area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highland210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy M, Manager at The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are also pleased you were able to explore our entire property and to take part in our Manager's reception which takes place every Tuesday and Thursday in our Lobby. This is one of the ways we thank our guests for staying with us and helping give back to the community thru our Enjoy One Share One Program which provides a meal for someone in need, as we partner with The Northeast Regional Food Bank.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Kind Regards
Nancy Martori-Cole
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Easy to get to. Nice rooms and amenities. Wifi was adequate and free. Complimentary breakfast was adequate. My only gripe was the lack of outlets in the room to plug in the laptops, cell phones and other gadgets. Had to use the bathroom for some extra outlets. Otherwise recommend for a good night's sleep for very reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon772009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy M, Manager at The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank your for your review of your recent stay. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Best Regards
Nancy Martori-Cole
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Maine
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Just stayed three days at and attended a conference held at the Century House. Every aspect of our visit was enhanced by the friendly and highly professional service provided. Since I was somewhat involved in the planning for this conference, I was able to get a glimpse of some behind the scenes activity and I was thoroughly impressed with the effort expended to make sure that we got the support we needed for meeting space, meals, audio-visual, conference registration, and even public events held on the property. And, the ambience of this place adds a degree of elegance to the proceedings.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy M, Manager at The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank for taking tome to review your stay with us. It was a pleasure to have your conference. We strive to make everyones stay and time with us comfortable and stress free. So I was pleased to hear you recieved the support you needed during your conference. I will be sure to share with all the staff in both hotel and banquet department of your experience as I know they als enjoy hearing such positve feedback.
We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.
Sincerely
Nancy Martori-Cole
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I'm fussy. If you're a traveler in need of comfort, don't hesitate to stay here. Rooms are updated and very comfortable. When was the last time you stayed at a $100 a night hotel with a very good, affortable fireside restaurant with old world charm? Complementary drink at a small, but nice bar along with a complementary breakfast that is homemade and fresh. I've stayed here twice and will never stay anyplace else around Albany.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy M, Manager at The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us, The Clarion at The Century House. Your review will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I was pleased to hear you will be a repeat guest when staying in the Albany area. When you do stay with us you help in our effort to give back to the community thru our Enjoy One Share One Program which provides a meal for each hotel guest as well as each meal that is served in our Restaurant and Banquet Facility as we partner with the Northeast Regional Food Bank.
We look forware to your future visits.
Kind Regards
Nancy Martori-Cole
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The food was really good.The food was really good.The food was really good.The food was really good.The food was really good.The food was really good.The food was really good.The food was really good.The food was really good.The food was really good.The food was really good.The food was really good.The food was really good.The food was really good.The food was really good.The food was really good.The food was really good.The food was really good.The food was really good.The food was really good.The food was really good.The food was really good.The food was really good.The food was really good.The food was really good.The food was really good.The food was really good.The food was really good.The food was really good.The food was really good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy M, Manager at The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us you feedback on your stay and dining experience. I will be sure to share your comments with the culinary team at The Century House Restaurant. They are always inspired by such positvie comments. We look forward to having you as a guest in the future and provide a great stay and meal with us.
Best Regards
Nancy Martori-Cole
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Latham
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Latham
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Airport
5.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Latham Albany Airport
3.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo Albany-Latham
1.6 mi away
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 997 New Loudon Road, (Route 9), Latham, NY 12110 (Formerly Clarion Hotel at the Century House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Latham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Latham
#4 Business Hotel in Latham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Latham
Clarion Hotel The Century
Latham Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing