We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meeting facility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Latham
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
“Great meeting facility”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Recently my company held a meeting for 60 people at this hotel. We utilized sleeping rooms in addition to the meeting rooms and banquet facility. The staff was very helpful and accommodating for the times on our meeting. The members raved about the food and accommodations. It was a great experience being there, and the staff in planning the event was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Manager at The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your great review! I am so happy to know that our meeting rooms, banquet facility, and restaurant services helped influence your positive experience. We are pleased to hear that planning your event went smoothly, and look forward to hosting you and your company again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    124
    54
    10
    6
See reviews for
149
104
17
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The room was OK. The food was OK. The staff was very nice I have to say. For a historic hotel, I think I would have expected that it was a bit nicer and better put together.

What I hated was the parking situation. The night I was there, there were multiple events happening at the hotel. The lot is small with alot of islands that you have to drive around. This lot in no way can handle that much parking. Cars were all over the place in the isles, on the road. Luckily I checked in early and no problem, but when I had to go out later, I had to wiggle my car out slowly, run my errands. And guess upon my return? After driving around for 30 minutes, including the lot of the hotel next door and the restaurant, I sat in my car for another 15 min until someone left and I wiggled back in. I realize this was probably unusual for the middle of the week but before I stay there again my first question would always be to ask if there are any events happening when I'm suppose to be there. If there are, I will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctcarlabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I've been coming here annually on business for almost 10 years and we get buffets for lunch and predetermined dinners. The food was way below par. The ham at lunch was certainly not deli ham (cooked ham and then sliced?). The chicken both nights was ok, but served with watery mashed potatoes. What prompted me to write this review was the "Coke" served at lunch in pitchers. It was so diluted that nobody (30 people) touched it. They used to have a waitress for breakfast, and that was cut out.

Room Tip: skip the food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ira D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Manager at The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Our team would like to sincerely thank you and your company for your faith in our services these past ten years. We appreciate your comments and plan to utilize them as a tool to improve future events and guest experiences. Our management team is currently looking into why our cuisine was not properly prepared, and is determined to make sure that all beverages are refreshed throughout events. We have a commitment to providing quality foods and accommodations, whether you are attending a luncheon, or enjoying our freshly served breakfast after a nights stay. We hope that you will give us the chance to regain your confidence, thank you for the opportunity to improve our business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed here on a Sunday night and I had a top notch experience. First of all I got a really good rate - probably because it was Sunday night. But the staff was extremely polite and friendly; very accommodating. The room was clean, nicely decorated. Bed was very comfortable. The hotel was extremely quiet and the wifi operated with no problems. I will definitely stay here again when I'm in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OtterTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Manager at The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found that our hotel was not only affordable, but quiet and comfortable as well. We look forward to your next visit, and assure that we will continue to provide the quality services that you expect and deserve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRONX
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is my third time staying in this hotel. Friendly staff, very nice clean rooms. Excellent restaurant right next door. There are also additional very nice places to eat in close proximity.
I have finished shopping around. If I am near Albany, this is where I stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I was impressed with the presentation and staff at the Clarion Hotel. I was staying their for a business trip and they made me feel right at home. The breakfast was a good qaulity, got to enjoy Starbucks coffee but the wait staff really made it a great experience. The room was a business suite so it was above my expectations. The bed a more importantly the pillows were very comfortable, got a great night sleep.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are in a good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brossard, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Very comfortable beds and good quality linen help rest after long drive. Rooms are clean and well maintained despite obvious signs of age of the hotel. Front desk staff friendly and helpful. If there is one thing to improve it is the unpleasant smell in the passage from the hotel to the restaurant. We returned through outside.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adam-ski-1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Latham
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Latham
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Latham Albany Airport
1.6 mi away
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Latham/Albany North
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Airport
3.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo Albany-Latham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 997 New Loudon Road, (Route 9), Latham, NY 12110 (Formerly Clarion Hotel at the Century House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Latham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Latham
#4 Business Hotel in Latham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Latham
Clarion Hotel The Century
Latham Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing