We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Latham
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We were looking for a decent place to stay near Waterford, NY. This was located about 10-15 minutes away. Check in was easy, staff was polite. We brought our dog and they provided us a room right next to the stairs and access to outside. On our second day, we found ticks in the room and requested a room change. They moved us to the room right next to our previous room. Room was basic and pretty clean. Not really anything to complain about.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMo2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mic28255, Director of Sales at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2012

Hello , Chris The DOS Here. Thank you for review. With the strange warm up this late winter and Our property surrounded by woods on our dead end street , Yes, you get some quiet but unfortunately The ticks may also had an earlier start from our next store wilderness. Being a Pet Friendly hotel , your request to changes rooms for such a reason will always be politely and swiftly complied to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (897)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

821 - 827 of 897 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2012

I checked in late in the evening because of a late arriving flight at the Albany airport. Looked like all of the motels are pretty close. I was redeeming reward points for this one. Despite my late arrival, the front desk staff was cheerful and attentive although busy (basketball teams arriving). My room was pretty basic, but all I needed for a night. Everything was clean and I like the idea of replacing those heavy comforters with clean sheets and a blanket. My room was compact, but as I was alone, that was fine. WiFi worked well (important for me!) and the room had a little desk that was comfortable and easy to use. Don't expect fancy bath amenities nor a huge breakfast. When my wife and I travel, we need a refrigerator and microwave and these rooms don't have them. Not needed on this trip. There was an iron, which I did need. Very easy access to the freeway. Overall, for my needs on this trip, a good choice.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mic28255, Director of Sales at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2012

Chris the DOS here, First not only do i want to thank this guest for the Review but also thank him for redeeming his Wyndam Rewards points with us. Just to let the guest and all know that a Refrigerator and Microwave are available in some of our Single queen bedrooms and all of our Double Queen Bedrooms. We are over joyed to be able to provide the necessary amenities that allow this guest a successful stay! Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed one evening here, this past saturday night. We were visiting a friend in Albany, and the Latham area is a very reasonable 6-7 miles away, right off #87N. The hotel is clean and comfortable. We had asked for a room in a "quiet" location, and we received just that (away from the highway noise and vending machines, etc.). Our room was a one queen bedroom, small but clean. The bed and pillows were comfortable, and there was a nice sized window with a padded "windon seat". Bathroom towels were clean and white. Bathroom fixtures were clean. WiFi worked (slow, but it worked, and I found the entire Albany area's WiFi to be overwhelmed and slow), and nice flat screen t.v. with cable/HBO. They serve a continental breakfast which included milk, coffee, teas, OJ, cereals, apples, yogurt and an assortment of muffins/bagels. For the price we paid (which was a discounted rate) this place was great and I would definitely stay here again. The hotel staff is friendly, accommodating and helpful. Overall, a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: If rood noise is a concern, ask for a room opposite Rte. #87.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nittfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mic28255, Director of Sales at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Hello, Chris the DoS here,
We want to thank the guest for their review and pointing out our desire to meet any requests as far as room selection is concerned. Feel free to call us directly when reserving so we can personally handle your requests as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

I stayed at this hotel 2-3 nights each week over the course of 5 months while I completed an internship. It was always affordable, and the staff were always helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fellicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mic28255, Director of Sales at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2012

Chris Your Dos here . We appreciate the comments of yet another wonderful long term guest as they were able to complete their work-study objectives. We strive to provide affordable rates for this guest whose need was ongoing but not everyday as well as a 7 day a week -weekly rate for those who need temporary residence to do their jobs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We have been very satisfied each time we stay - using this hotel on our yearly drive to Florida - as our first stop out of Montreal - and last before getting back home . Will conitnue to use ... Friendly efficient check in and check out, Clean comfortable rooms, altho quuen bed room a bit small, great continental breakfast. Walking distance to restauarants. Easy on/ off highway.
The previous year, we stayed on for 3 nights due to a snowstorm and car repairs - and staff kindly brought us a second chair for the room to make stay more comfortable during the day.

Room Tip: Perhaps worth having larger room with two beds rather than one with just a Queen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mic28255, Director of Sales at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2012

Hello , Chris the DOS here.
We have enjoyed the recent group of Montreal Snowbird travelers that use our hotel on a yearly basis on their way south for the winter and look forward to their springtime return on their way back home.
Thank you Guest for the kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

I have been staying at this Microtel long term (last 3 months) on company assignment (go home at the end of each month for a long weekend). With the long term rates, this is an exceptional place to stay. Recommend getting a double sized room for the extra space. The staff goes out of their way to be helpful. Even with the interstate being close by the noise level is not too bad; get a room on the north or south side awy from the interstate. For long term stay, the lack of a laundry facility and exercise room could be an issue (but that's suppose to change with the up coming modifications in winter 2012). For long term stay give this place a try, you'll be pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor to prevent noise coming through the ceiling. Ask for a double for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mic28255, Director of Sales at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2012

Chris the DOS here. Its tough enough being away from home long term. We thank the Guest replying and as he stated, we will be doing an in house renovation that will include a guest laundry and a fitness room to start at the end of January.
For our long term guests, we supply an upgrade to a microwave and fridge in a single Queen room but we would recommend going to a Double queen Bedroom that is already equipped will a Microwave and fridge for the extra space. Companies can call for weekly rates as well as corporate rates for ongoing business lodging needs. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

I stay in the the microtel a few times a month for business. It is by far the cleanest hotel in the area. The staff is always friendly and the check-in is always fast. The rooms are a bit small but as expected with the name microtel. The bed is comfortable and the hallways quiet. Other reviews on here say the breakfast is small but they have everything other comparable hotels have with the exception of waffles. Another plus is that for the early riser the breakfast is out at 5am.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mic28255, Director of Sales at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2011

Chris your DOS Here. We have to thank our full time Night auditor for having breakfast ready an hour earlier then schedule but he realizes that we have many guest that need an early start.
Funny that you mentioned Waffles, in our renovation plans for early next year, our newly expanded Breakfast area will include a Waffle maker. Thanks for the kind review and look forward in seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Latham
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Latham Albany Airport
1.6 mi away
The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Latham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Airport
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Albany Airport
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany - Wolf Road (Airport)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport

Address: 7 Rensselaer Ave, Latham, NY 12110-2702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Latham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Latham
Price Range: $80 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn Albany Airport Hotel Latham
Microtel Albany Airport
Microtel Hotel Latham
Microtel Latham
Latham Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing