We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for one night.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Latham
Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fine for one night.”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This hotel was clean, quiet & well-situated to the airport & area businesses. It has got to be the nicest hotel for the price range. The room was moderately-sized - not uncomfortably small, in my opinion, as some reviewers have suggested, & had a cool window seat bench. Wifi was available in my room at no additional cost, but it was very, very slow. If you are arriving before 6 PM, I might recommend the Holiday Inn Express right down the road as it has an indoor pool & fitness center & is only about $40 more per night. (There is absolutely nothing to do at the Microtel except check your e-mail, watch TV on a small screen, or go to bed. However, if you are arriving after 6 PM, it is just fine for a good night's sleep. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom large for the size of the room, & the air conditioner worked well.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HugADog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    313
    198
    60
    48
See reviews for
299
186
86
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We were in the area for one night and decided we needed something inexpensive, just a place to rest after a big night out, and after reading the reviews on TA we settled on the Microtel. The location is excellent, right off highway 87 and across the street from a Target and up the street from many restaurants and a Starbucks. The hotel staff are pleasant but the hotel is just okay. We had two single-bed rooms, one was about the size of a cruise ship cabin and the other was a handicap room. One of the rooms smelled too much of smoke although it was a non-smoking room. The ACs worked well, at least. There were no amenities in the bathrooms other than a few bars of soap and hairdryers (so no shampoo). The bathroom was not as clean as I'd like (stains on the toilet and hairs on the sink and in the shower). But the beds were clean. The handicap room shower had very low water pressure but the regular room shower was okay. There is a computer in the lobby you can use and there is a small area for coffee/tea and in the morning there were bagels and pastries. There were also vending machines with water, coke, and snacks. Check-in and check-out were effortless. It was fine for a night but I wouldn't want to stay for an extended period of time because it had no extras, no coziness, nothing other than the basics. But the price was right: $77 including taxes.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayJunkieNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2011

This hotel is very conveniently located right by I-87, making it easy to get to surrounding areas. We went to Lake George, Albany malls, and Troy very easily from our location. The hotel was easy to find, clean, and comfortable. A great deal for the price. The free breakfast was rather limited to carbs (fruit, yogurt, and pastries) but was adequate. The wireless internet did not work well in our room and there is no fitness facility or laundry, but overall we would stay there again. Before the trip I had read many reviews in the area and so many said the hotels were dirty, moldy, or had other problems--we did not have any of that here and the staff is friendly and helpful. The beds were comfortable, the bathrooms clean, the room was quiet. We are going back next month and will stay here again--for a budget hotel it was great.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlb5170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Like being in a spa. Great room and the mattress was the most comfortable ever!
Over all a 10

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Medaya21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buzzards Bay, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Skip this place, spend a little more, and go to a real hotel. Room is really small, tv is 30 years old, and breakfast bar is smaller than the room. My wife and I were really disappointed. Rating should be "fair", somewhere between poor and average but Tripadvisor made me choose, so I have to go with "poor".

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richaaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mic28255, Director of Sales at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
Hello , I am Chris the DOS, First, I want to thank you for taking your time in providing us feedback and your scores for the sleep quality and service. Microtel Inns as a Brand is known for very efficient use of space but in turn provide a quiet stay and respectable value. The brand Microtel is in its Ninth year of winning the JD Powers Award for Budget Economy Hotels, we are very proud it this.

As far as your observations of the size of the rooms , I must admit that the word Micro is well earned but 5 years ago we renovated two wings of the hotel to allow Double queen size bed , which allows for the space you may have become accustomed to in more expensive hotels. I invited you to call me directly for a discounted opportunity to try one of these rooms ,most of which have Flat screen TV as we are on an ongoing schedule in replacing our older sets. We also must concede that a breakfast area is quite small but in future plans later this year , we will be consuming one of our rooms to expand the area.

Once again , thanks and do call to take us up on our offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Latham hotels

New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Only stayed for one night and this was just what I needed. The room was much bigger than I expected. Also, exceptionally clean. The breakfast was only so-so, but it was your typical motel fare. Overall, great value and great stay

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BunRab11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2010

Was here numerous times while child attended RPI. This time we traveled to a concert at the Times-Union Center and stayed again. Was the night of the Northeast blizzard. Got here around 11pm and lot was just finished being plowed the first time.
Nice, comfortable, clean room. Breakfast was basic, enough to get you going.
Has public computer available as well as wireless.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yastillgotit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Latham
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Latham
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Latham Albany Airport
1.6 mi away
The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Best Western Albany Airport Inn
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Airport
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Latham Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport

Property: Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport
Address: 7 Rensselaer Ave, Latham, NY 12110-2702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Latham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Latham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn Albany Airport Hotel Latham
Microtel Albany Airport
Microtel Hotel Latham
Microtel Latham
Latham Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing