We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will not stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Latham
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Latham
Elmira, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Will not stay again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have stayed at a lot of Holiday Inn Express, but we will never stay at this one again. We stayed (2) nights and the Breakfast did not change and because we were on our Motorcycle and it was pouring rain, we ate at the reastaurant, On Tap, because of all the functions they had going on, the main dining, was closed to patrons, we and other patrons complained about the service. It took us 25 Minutes to get service, after asking for it twice. The people on the side of us, had waited over an hour for their food and there was so much confusion, we ended up with (2) servers who were arguing over who had our table. I finally stated that we DID NOT CARE WHO SERVED US, we just wanted to make the POOL before closing @ 11pm, and it was approximately (1) hour and (3/4) before we got out of a reastaurant that was not busy, with (3) waiters(waitresses) and a Bartender. It also took approximately 20 min. and a walk to the server to get our drink order, of just (2) coke.

Room Tip: Eat somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThatSpecialPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Latham, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear ThatSpecialPlace,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the restaurant service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    102
    39
    26
    34
See reviews for
107
51
18
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel which is conveniently located near routes 9 and 90 after having spent the day at Saratoga Racetrack . We enjoyed and appreciated the friendly and helpful staff as well as the clean and comfortable suite that we were given. The restaurant/bar served very good entrees at reasonable prices. The room came with free breakfast and had indoor or outdoor patio seating. All in all this Holiday Inn Express was one of the best that we have stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dodger16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
87 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed here earlier this month before a flight to Greenville, SC, and it served that purpose perfectly. About ten minutes to Albany Airport, and an easy drive. Not much around the hotel, but room was free for me using a PointBreak award. Room was clean, and staff were friendly. Would easily stay here again to make an early morning flight.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank boddicker52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Clean, quiet, spacious. Like the addition of bar and restaurant. Only drawback is pool is over chlorinated. Will definitely stay again, asked for and was able to get a room in the back area
The shower area needs updating but was clean.

Room Tip: ask to be in back area, much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

The beds, noise level, room size were comfortable. Dirty towels, not enough towels, hair in shower and bathroom. Pool was dirty. Some equipment in excercise room was broken. Breakfast was fine. Looking for something cleaner for next trip. Pricey for what you get.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Latham, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Jennifer S,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are glad you were able to enjoy our comfortable rooms and breakfast. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations on this day, and I apologize you were not satisfied with the bathroom amenities, housekeeping services received and hotel facilities. I have taken note of your comments and we will address these points to improve upon our service. We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. This helps in becoming a better hotel.

We would hope that you would give us another chance to meet your expectations next time and to provide you with a wonderful experience.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at this particular Holiday Inn Express on two occassions this month consisting of one 3 night stay and one 4 night stay while I was on business. The hotel and rooms are generally clean although our shower curtain did show signs of mold at the bottom edge as did the tiles in the shower. The location is good and relatively close to shopping, restaurants and local transportation routes. The desk staff is generally friendly and helpful but not overwhelmingly outgoing. The room can be noisy from guests coming and going and local highway traffic. Currently there is no functioning business center for printing your boarding pass or other documents. The free breakfast is adequate with limited choices. The rooms do not have a microwave or refrigerator. The room attendant on our floor had a terrible case of body odor that lingered in the hallway. There is a restaurant next door but we did not eat there. Overall, I would say this particular Holiday Inn Express is not as good as others I have stayed in but it is adequate for short stays.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank GD M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

This is a pleasantly updated and clean mid-budget hotel. Our room was spacious, clean, comfortable and attractive with good temperature control. The only odd omission is an exhaust fan in an otherwise pretty nice bathroom. The pillows were disappointing - this and the complementary breakfast are the reasons I gave it a 4. The breakfast is adequate if you want efficient fueling and a quick getaway, but if you're a breakfast lover this will not satisfy. No fresh fruit! Another strange omission... long story short, I'd stay here again when visiting family in the area, as there is a shortage of decent hotels that offer queen beds instead of double.

Room Tip: We were pretty far down the hall from elevators on the 5th floor - very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Latham
0.6 mi away
The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Latham Albany Airport
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
1.0 mi away
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport
3.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Albany-Latham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Latham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Latham

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Latham
Address: 400 Old Loudon Rd, Latham, NY 12110-2908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Latham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Latham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Latham 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Latham, NY near Albany International Airport! Our choice Latham, NY accommodations are ideally located off I-87, just ten miles from downtown Albany and near many businesses and government offices. Travelers looking for lodging in Latham can enjoy a stay at our smoke free hotel near the Albany Airport, four universities and the famous Saratoga Race Course. Families will love our Latham hotel's close proximity to area attractions like the Empire State Plaza, Aqua Duck Tours, NY State Museum and Hoffman's Playland, a family-friendly theme park located two miles from our accommodations in Latham. If shopping is your pleasure, check out the Colonie Center Mall or the huge Crossgate Mall in Albany near our hotel in Latham, New York. There are many companies near our hotel in Latham, like Century Hill, SUNY Albany, Siena College and the New York State government offices. Business travelers can also appreciate the hotel's free airport shuttle to nearby ALB Airport. Our Latham, New York hotel also offers many hotel services, including a 24-hour business center, free high-speed, Wi-Fi Internet access and flexible meeting spaces with seating for 150. While lodging in Latham, you can take a dip in the indoor pool and whirlpool or take advantage of the 24-hour fitness center and complimentary hot breakfast bar. Check out our great Latham hotel room deals and start planning your trip today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Latham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Latham
Latham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing