We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The one place I always stop at when I'm home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olive Tree

Olive Tree
Ranked #3 of 38 Restaurants in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The one place I always stop at when I'm home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

This is a great family-friendly neighborhood place. They have great greek food and awesome greek potatoes. They also have a huge menu with lots of other options besides greek food. The family that owns the Olive Tree is extremely accommodating. Their employees always have a smile on their faces and they have excellent customer service. Probably some of the best in the area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyssa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    15
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A great Family Owned Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Whether you come here for lunch or dinner, the food is always great. A family run business with the patriarch usually overseeing the operation. The prices are reasonable and there is never a long wait for a table.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Large Portions, Great Food, Small Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Every time I visit Lancaster, NY I visit Olive Tree at least once. The title above is reason enough but even beyond those reasons you should also know that this is a family establishment that treats everyone as if we're family too.

The owner is from Greece. He actually knows my parents by name and his son remembers my name and the city I live in now. It's this kind attention to the people that raises this restaurant from a surviving restaurant (in a challenging economy) to a THRIVING one.
In 5 years this restaurant has done so well it's doubled in size.

The staff is young and eager to please with big smiles & quick feet.
On one hand they zip away to bring you what you need, on the other hand they know to NOT rush you. Someone has taught them well.

The food is both Greek and American and EVERYTHING is good!
I have a passion for their sweet potato fries (Which come with a special dipping sauce that contains maple syrup and secret ingredients which I still can't figure out.)

You will see lots of seniors. They have a popular senior menu which is very reasonably priced and portioned for older patrons.

The restaurant can seat about 200 but even so I've never had a long wait for food or service.

This restaurant rates a big 10!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien Centwe
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“price rise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

Kind of pricey now that the redid the place they seem to have raised the prices

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive Tree also viewed

 

Been to Olive Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing