We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spent our Honeymoon here, Fantastic.”
Review of Beach Side Brela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beach Side Brela
Ranked #16 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Brela
New Zealand
2 reviews
“Spent our Honeymoon here, Fantastic.”
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Spent our honeymoon here in June and loved it. Anette's mum met us and over a few drinks filled us in on everything there was to do in the area. If you walk from the main road it is about 20min but all down hill or you can get a taxi. This was our 2nd visit here and again we were not disappointed, with great views over the Adriatic amazing beaches and crystal clear water. The room is not large but is comfortable and has a kitchenette out on the balcony and of course with the great weather your never in the room for long. There are steep steps down to the beach which is very common in a lot of accommodation in the area but you do not get great views without being up high. Plenty of cafes and restaurants in the area, one of the best is Sirena with great food and very friendly service. The walk to the centre of Brela is about 40min and is a very nice walk. There is a shop nearby where you can get most of what you need if you dont feel like the long walk. Being at the far end of Brela the beaches are a lot quieter here than in the centre. Looking forward to going back:)

Room Tip: When booking ask for a room with views of the Adriatic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mucka95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    19
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
18
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

This location is beautiful. The beach at the bottom of the hill is not too busy, compared to closer to town centre. There is a nice open bar at the beach at the end of the stairs where you can get an ice cream, cold beer, or coffee.
Yes, there are stairs to climb, and yes it is a bit tiring, but this is how you get the beautiful view, as the entire area of Croatia is built on a cliff. As with all things good, there is also bad. You get to stay in a lovely location, but there is a a bit of work in (Danish and Canadian). Both families enjoyed the location, understood there would be some climbing, and took it into consideration when planning the day. We climbed the stairs three to five times per day, depending how often we wanted to head back up for something to eat or a rest.
We came with no car. We walked with our packs from the bus that dropped us off at the road. It was about a 20 minute walk, but it was down hill. The up will be more difficult, obviously. You can take a taxi for $10 CN, but that is quite expensive for the short distance.
Without a car groceries are more difficult. The prices for food are quite high in this tourist area, and they are hard to acquire. We walked into Brela town to the Konsum twice in our week stay, and loaded up the backpack. In between we got a lot of bread and other things from the small market about ten minutes' walk back towards the road.
All in all, with realistic expectations, we quite enjoyed our stay.

A couple of things that I suggest could help to improve the stay: In many of the apartments we have stayed in this holiday across Eastern Europe, we have found staples in the apartment so that we did not have to start from scratch. There were coffee and filters and tea, sugar, salt, pepper, simple spices, and cooking oil. Here we only found a small amount of sugar and salt and pepper. It would be good to know this ahead of time so that when you arrive you can have purchased all that you need before hand. Since many people come with no car and there is very limited opportunity to purchase these things, and the price is quite high here locally, it would be very good to provide these as a courtesy.
A large bowl would be good to have in each room, to mix pasta in or use as a salad bowl.
An emergency number and information in case of need for a doctor or ambulance would be good to have in each room. We had a sick child that we feared may need medical services, and it was not posted anywhere how to make contact.
All in all, we were pleased with Beach Side Brela.

Room Tip: If you want a view, as for one of the front apartments that overlooks the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadamzungu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

I was suprised to explore this pearl of the hotel in Brela! The hotel is great and non forgetable! I was celebrating a birthday in the hotel, it was amazing here.. Will return here in 2 mounths..

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katebocina666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Beach Side Brela is a nice place to spend your holiday at one of the most beautiful parts of the Croatian coast. However, you have to take quiet a few steps down to reach the beach and it's also a 45 minutes walk to the town of Brela for us this wasn't a big problem. The location is very quiet and views from the balcony are amazing. The only negative things we could find was that the bathroom was too small. If you are more than 1,75 m you can't stand straight in the shower, the toilet just fits between the wall and the shower and there is only a small mirror. I guess the total size of the bathroom is just a little more than 1 sqm! We had a studio, the rooms look smaller with only a very small balcony without nice seaview. Go for a studio, they have beautiful panoramic views of the Adriatic and the islands and fantastic sunsets. It should be better if there was more privacy on the balconies, now everything is open and you are sitting just next to your neighbours watching them doing their dishes...
Information from Annette is very accurate and helpful. Her parents are very friendly people too, and it's just a relaxing place to stay.
Besides the beaches which are stunningly beautiful with cristal clear water, there are many things to do in the vicinity. You are close to the mountains with lots of outdoor activities like hiking and rafting and there are 2 small cities which can be reached in less than half hour, Makarska and Omis. We liked Omis much more, it's very nice with it's old centre and narrow streets. Also there are many small towns to visit along the coast. The best is Pisak, only 5 km north of Brela. It's a small picture postcard fishing village with some old houses and a church dating from the 13th century overlooking the harbour with a few typical restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurens27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Our week long stay at Beach side Brela was amazing. The first time I stepped on to the balcony was extra special of course because the view was wonderful but mostly because we saw dolphins! Next morning the dolphings were there again and we decited to rent a waterscooter and went to see them. There were 4 dolphins and they were so beautiful! The water is so clear so you could see them diving underneath us. We were so lucky! So if you go to beach side Brela, remember to look at the sea in the mornings and you may see them too!

We also visited Montenegro by car which had beautiful views with all the mountains. I highly recommend it. You dont have to drive a long way after the border to see some great places.

I also recommend river rafting. Just ask more from Beach side Brela they can make the reservations but you can also go with your own car. It was a fun trip with many new experience. You don't have to be very "sporty" to handle it. Another wonderful place is Krka natural park which has a big waterfall and beautiful nature. We also saw watersnakes there.

Anettes mother Mary was taking care of the apartments at the time and she was very nice and helpful with everything. The room was very clean and we don't have anything bad to say about it. Also the kitchenette in the balcony was clean (no bugs) and it is easy to cook in there with all the pots and pans. Thank you again for everything, we had a great time!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaijaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

We came back this year and we're glad that we did :-)
They expanded the parking-space and installed brand new air-conditions in all of the rooms.
The service was excellent - we even got a complimentary cake and fruit from Sima and Anette's mom :-) :-) Thank you!
The Wi-fi was fast and reliable, satellite-tv came in handy one rainy afternoon and the rooms were very clean (as we expected from last year). And the VIEW was still there! :-) :-)
If you decide to have a vacation in Brela (and you should because it's really beautiful there), don't hesitate to stay at Beachside. It's easy to book, easy to get there, the owners are friendly honest people and you'll stay at the best location possible in regard to the beach.
Thank you again, we had a wonderful stay!!!!!
All the best from Norway

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaJeNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Great location at the quiet end of Brela, just 5 mins down the steps to the beach and about 20/25 mins to 'Punta Rata'. Our room was clean and well appointed, a little on the small side- but we hardly spent anytime in it anyway, also I think the apartments are much bigger. The proprietor was very helpful (before and during our stay) and let us leave our bags until our afternoon bus. The beach and coastal walk are stunning. Also it was easy to get to from Dubrovnik and to go on to Split.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosats148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brela
0.9 mi away
Sunceva Postelja
Sunceva Postelja
#7 of 10 in Brela
35 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bluesun Hotel Soline
Bluesun Hotel Soline
#1 of 10 in Brela
342 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bluesun Hotel Marina
Bluesun Hotel Marina
#2 of 10 in Brela
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bluesun Hotel Maestral
2.7 mi away
Hotel Croatia
Hotel Croatia
#2 of 12 in Baska Voda
166 reviews
2.2 mi away
SENTIDO Bluesun Berulia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Side Brela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Side Brela

Property: Beach Side Brela
Address: Jardula 18, Brela 21320, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Brela
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Brela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Accommodations with private balconies and spectacular views of the Adriatic Sea. Only 80m from the beach! Overlooking the famous Brela beaches and in-between all the pine trees you will find views of the islands of Brac and Hvar. Within walking distance are great restaurants, cafes, mini market and hours of walking pleasure along the Makarska Riviera coastline. Weather your looking for great swimming, tanning, hiking, paddle boating, or any variety of water sports, it can all be found in Brela. Great place to relax and unwind, amongst such beautiful scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Beach Side Brela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing