We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place and worth it”
Review of Panorama Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Panorama Cottages
Halle, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice place and worth it”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Very nice place and warm welcoming by Arnold, the hotel manager. We have been well received, the room are large and cleaned up everyday as well as very delicious food, choose for sure the curry tilapia.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aurelie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
9
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
U.K
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I was at Panorama lodges this year December 2012 and I have some positives things to say about the place. The journey is about 4 hours from Port Entebbe.

As I was a sole traveller for the first time,I have to say I was generally feeling safe enough on the Island and the lodges. The staff are friendly,courteous and will take care of all your needs.

The rooms are clean and you get mosquito nets,towels,soap,bible and storage for your clothes. For viewing there is DSTV with local programmes and news.The only thing is it run on generator and will be off for part of the afternoon and morning.This is of course fine as you dont want to stay indoors!. The cottages are near the lake and a very near walking distance to other lodges.You could cool off in the lake if you so wish.

The food is good and the breakfast local like chappattis, omeletes, sweet potatoes,cassava,tea,passion,bread, juice,fresh fruit and Katogo a local dish made of matoke - green bananas and a mixture of vegetables. You can get rice,chicken,fish and more just ask!.

Lunch and dinner are made to order with such generous portions you may only eat once!.

Hot water was available but may fluctuate and be coloured for sometime that is normal I guess due to the channelling system.

Overall,I was impressed but if you are looking for activity,night life and busy streets this in not the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blessed Jackque... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed in Panorama for three nights, renting a tent (the cottages were full).

The place is some 500m from the jetty and from the lakeshore, a little bit separate from the other accommodation facilities there are on the island, which is nice (unless you want to stay on the beach, of course). On quite large grounds, mainly covered by grass and with a few trees, there are come cottages - all located quite close to each other - and a campground.

We rented a tent which they prepared for us: two mattrasses with bedsheets, which really was quite comfortable to sleep in. However, our tent was pitched just next to other two tents (separated barely 50cm from each other), which wasn't all that nice - on one hand you hardly have any privacy, and of course you can hear the people "next door" (and in our case they decided to talk loudly early in the morning). The main trouble with the tent came on the first and the third nights, when it rained, and we woke up to a pool of water inside the tent. They dried the mattrasses and gave us new bedsheets, put a big tarpaulin above the tent, gave us some rope so that we can hang and dry our clothes, and in general they were helpful in trying to solve the situation, but the next time it rained, water came in again.

There are basic toilets and very basic showers with only cold water, though they gave us hot water in a jerrycan to shower.

Overall it's an ok place to stay, with some touches of the local folklore (you get a fizzy "soda" - as they call here Fanta&co - when you arrive as a welcome, and for a major part of the day they play rather loud music, which may be annoying if you came to look for peace and quiet); but for the price you pay it's ok. The management is quite helpful and seems to be trying hard to make your stay pleasant.

The main problem during our stay wan't associated with Panorama as such, but rather with that part of Bugala Island. We stayed over a long weekend, and every single night there was very (very) loud local music from the local bars and "resorts" until early morning hours, which made any nocturnal rest on that part of the island an impossible nightmare. I'm not sure if this is the rule every day, but if you're looking for peace&quiet, definitely avoid that part of Bugala Island over the weekend, and double-check if the same thing is going on during weekdays.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank catenaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

It is a nice place and I think it is worth it the money you pay for what you get (apart from the small problem we had).

The place is clean and the food is fine, although we only had breakfast there, which had fruits, cereals, tea, coffee, some cakes and several options of local food.

We spent three nights there renting one of their tents. I think it is a good option, they are placed in a nice garden, the tents are big enough for two people and they are equipped with mattresses and lining. In my opinion you are a bit too close to your "neighbour" tent, but it is OK if your neighbour is quiet (or maybe you can ask them to move the tent a bit farther). The shared toilets are quite basic but good enough, and we only had to wait once for hot water.

The problem with a tent comes if it rains, the first night it rained and the tent got full of water. We told to the manager and I have to say that the staff did all they could to solve it, but the fact is that the third night it rained again, it started to rain about one hour before we left and the tent was starting to have water again. This problem can be solved if the management places the tents over wooden platforms or if they find another solution, which I think they will, since I saw they really tried to solve any problem.

There is another thing we didn't like, but this is not a problem from this place. Local bars and other hotels really like playing loud music at night, so if you like to go to bed earlier than they like you will have to listen to the loud music for a while. But I guess you will get this in many other places around, maybe inside the cottages you don't hear the music so loud.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wfogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Although set a little way from the beach these cottages are an excellent place to say. Set around some tranquil gardens the cottages are basic but clean and those without running hot water are provided with an enormous jerry can of hot water each morning/evening as you desire. It’s only a 3 minute walk to the beaches of Kalangala bay and the staff are very helpful in giving information such as ferry times back to the mainland etc.

Stayed January 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank travellybugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

We spent 2 days and one night at Panorama Cottages while on a "working retreat." It was a perfect spot for our purposes. The cottages are very nice and spacious. The more expensive ones are beautifully furnished and the less expensive ones are still furnished better than the typical Ugandan hotel room with comfortable chairs and tables. The staff were all very pleasant and accommodating. The food was very well prepared and plentiful. Although limited in variety it was not only the typical "local food." We had fish, pork, vegetarian curry for lunch and dinner and a good selection of breakfast foods from a buffet including very nice fresh fruit. The location was a bit hard to find--up the hill from several of the beachfront resorts. Cottages are from $30 to $50 (equivalent) and include breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mimiinnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malveira, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2010

The rooms are good size, very clean and the staff is extremely professional, besides being very friendly and helpful, including the manager (and owner, I think). One of the best that we found in Uganda.
Even though it is not located on the beach, it's a 5 min walk to it and really is worth the money you are saving by staying here. And the surroundings are nice, a lot of monkeys around... Also, the food is very good - although it takes much time on request... but worth the wait!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NaterciaSimoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ssese Islands
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe
0.0 mi away
Lake Heights Hotel
Lake Heights Hotel
#6 of 30 in Entebbe
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mirembe Resort Beach
Mirembe Resort Beach
#5 of 10 in Ssese Islands
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ssese Habitat Resort
Ssese Habitat Resort
#6 of 10 in Ssese Islands
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Philo Leisure Gardens
Philo Leisure Gardens
#9 of 10 in Ssese Islands
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pearl Gardens Beach Resort Kalangala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Cottages

Property: Panorama Cottages
Address: Kalangala Ferry Road, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Ssese Islands
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Ssese Islands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Panorama Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Jovago.com so you can book your Panorama Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing