We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on the Nile”
Review of Gately on Nile

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gately on Nile
Ranked #6 of 34 Jinja B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise on the Nile”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Wow, I also stayed at Gately on Nile last month and I am amazed to see the previous reviews where guests relate such extreme experiences at somewhere I found completely unique and more than lived up to any expectation I had for the money paid.

Thankyou Brenda and Edwin who took such good care of me, even rescuing Smokey ( the resident cat) from following my heels into the conveniently located, comfortable room of the main house after a relaxing afternoon in the thatched garden banda.

My budget did not allow for the decadence of style found across the road but I overheard the adjoining breakfast table raving about their serene cottage and views so I really hope to upgrade my stay next time I return.

I just loved all the attentive touches found in this unique premise and would highly recommend a little bartering on arrival if you need to help the hip pocket.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    30
    4
    2
    8
See reviews for
12
25
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

When you pay 100 $ for a room in a bed&breakfast you expect an excellent service, but not in this place. It's noisy, i found several hairs in my bed, restaurant takes ages to serve, the views are poor, the staff is ineficient. Considering the so many hostles in the area i strongly don't recommend Gately on Nile.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank teseum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatelyUganda, Manager at Gately on Nile, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Teseum,
We would like to apologise for what seems a string of events that did not act in your favour on this occassion ie. fewer staff due to annual leave and illness with those that covered being less experienced/trained on a busy night with a full house and restaurant.

Should you wish to reconsider we will ensure you receive a complimentary night in our most sought after lakeside lodge accommodation (very impressive water views and comfort) and offer the best service of our usual standards for you to be suitably impressed.

We greatly appreciate your patronage as with all of our valued clientele and am sorry we were not advised at the time for us to have acted accordingly to your concerns immediately.

Thank you.
Gately Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My wife and I had looked forward to visit Gately on the Nile again. We had been there some 12 years ago and remembered the beautiful old villa and the park, which stretched down to the Nile But what a disappointment! The charming villa had been abandoned and the hotel had been moved to a less than average standard lodge near by. We had reserved one of the small huts and yes, it had a nice view of the Nile. But it also had two roads, one of each side of the house, where big lorries moved constantly (starting from 8.00 in the morning - even on Sundays).

Worse, I got a terrible food poisening, for which the manager arrogantly refused to take any responsibility.

Having talked to several people in Kampala, I understand that I am certainly not the first one, who has got this experience. Gately on the Nile has in fact got a reputation of inflicting this on its costumers.

For sure we shall never come back

E. Rasmussen
Denmark

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rasmussen8666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatelyUganda, Manager at Gately on Nile, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing Gately on Nile and we appreciate the fact you were looking forward to your stay. we are however disappointed that you feel we did not measure up to your expected 'standards'.

Yes it has been 12 years (very successfully ongoing) and I feel that your statement 'the charming villa had been abandoned and the hotel had been moved to a less than average standard lodge', when you do not understand any of the circumstances surrounding the necessary relocation is completely judgmental and contrary to everything we strive to achieve and maintain for our very valued clientele.

Sorry you classify our most unique and reputable lakeside cottages as 'huts' and perhaps this was the reason you rudely hijacked the balcony on the adjoining main lodge house from our other appreciative incoming guests whilst telling the staff they were lying about any such expected arrival! Roads, we do live in Africa and so it comes with a varied road system, which unfortunately we have no control over in these towns.

Incredibly you feel Gately was responsible for your legated 'food poisoning' however this is unlikely as you shared one of our food platters with your wife who was not affected. The obvious problem may of been with one of the many bottles of wine you brought on to the property and consumed copius amounts from as early as 3pm then proceeded to buy and consume more alcohol from our bar. I am relieved though that you seemed to have made a remarkable recovery the next morning at breakfast yet tried to renege on paying the entire Restaurant Bill.

Kindly be advised that Gately on Nile has always delivered consistently great food as we maintain our solid and well respected reputation. We however (regardless of such random difficult guests & inflated allegations) will continue to deliver the best in all situations challenged in the face of others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is quite a luxurious guesthouse, in comparison to what I saw in the area, on the edge of the Nile (but no access to the river). While there are no water views from the actual guestrooms, a walk along the road gives you a chance to see the beauty of the river.

The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated, and the service is impeccable. Water pressure and WiFi connectivity can be on the low side but better than what you'd find in most places in Uganda.

The attached restaurant serves traditional food, and also features tilapia dishes and decent thai food (though service is quite slow, so if you have any time constraints it's best to state that when ordering.) The outdoor seating area is beautiful with lush green surroundings punctuated by the sound of various birds.

A few tips: they have a great little 'library' of books to swap or purchase for 1000 shillings - also bring your own toiletries as only soap is provided.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marichan623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch. There are no water views from the main restaurant, which was a disappointment, but the main house and surrounding gardens are beautifully done, with comfy sofa areas and seating tastefully laid out. Free wifi worked as well as you can expect over here. Comprehensive Western-style menu. Good burger, and their juices are fresh and delicious, but be careful if you add ginger to a juice - they don't hold back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bazyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is a neat place, the rooms sit up high and you look out at sunrise on the Nile, the food is yummy (but service is very slow), there is free wifi, staff is very friendly. Only negative are the barking dogs at night, they are loud and woke us up more than once. Also bring your own shampoo, only soap in the room!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juba, South Sudan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The service was top-notch with the receptionsit offering to allow me to use their computer and my every request being catered for.

The room was also wonderful with a great view and high quality furnishings.

The food was good though the Tilapia I had was over-cooked and somewhat of a disappointment.

Definitely recommended

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jinja hotels
3.6 mi away
Jinja Nile Resort
Jinja Nile Resort
#2 of 7 in Jinja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
1.8 mi away
Nile Village Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Brisk Hotel Triangle
Brisk Hotel Triangle
#4 of 7 in Jinja
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Source Of The Smile Hotel - Luxury Guesthouse
1.4 mi away
2 Friends Guest House
0.2 mi away
Surjio's Guest House
Surjio's Guest House
#3 of 34 in Jinja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gately on Nile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gately on Nile

Property: Gately on Nile
Address: 47 Nile Crescent, Jinja, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Eastern Region > Jinja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Jinja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gately on Nile offers Luxurious Accommodation on two separate properties by the lake side in Jinja town. The British built bungalow home houses the Reception, Restaurant and five well appointed en-suite bedrooms finished to the usual warm yet rustic, elegant Gately standard. Across the road is a new property offering a main house (of 2 en-suite bedrooms) uniquely built from local rock, large glass windows with high raked ceilings giving a huge sense of space and shingle tile roof keeping all so cool sitting opposite the lake. Accompanied on this site are two double storied cottages offering a quaint living area downstairs and a log cabin bedroom, balcony accommodation upstairs including Gately's renowned classic pebble shower room. This property offers the most expansive water views and constant lake breeze in Jinja town. Relax in the thatched bandas of tranquil grounds surrounded by exotic fauna and flora all absorbed adjacent the waters of Lake Victoria. Gately houses a stunning Continental Restaurant with an additional authentic Thai menu not found elsewhere in Uganda. This plus great internet, office and laundry services, warm and friendly staff all make you feel completely at home in such creative, casual and rustic elegance with Gately celebrating 13 successful years of business in Uganda 2013. 'Relax, you're at Home!'.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Jovago.com so you can book your Gately on Nile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing