We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Source of the smile”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Source of the Smile Hotel & Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 36 Jinja B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2014

What a wonderful get away place after a full day's work in the field! It truly is a lovely guesthouse with comfortable rooms, pleasant and caring staff but above all so relaxing in the beautiful outside spaces of the property. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. The Source of the Smile is a must if you are in Jinja!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia1663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 294 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

If ever there was a case of finding the best place on the last day of your holiday, this was it.
Ellert and his wife made me feel so welcome, one day just wasn't enough. Wonderful rooms, set in a beautiful walled garden, it really was a delight to spend time there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gden57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We spent the Xmas break!! Ellert & Carl plus the staff really made it worth the stay... I can't help but recommend it whether for business or pleasure... Book in advance just to make sure you don't miss out... Splendid job!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Musigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Ive just spent 3 days in this lovely guesthouse where the service is impeccable and staff cover every need. A gated yard means you can relax quietly by the pristine pool or the sofa's surrounding the main building.
A great place to relax and get away from it all
My room had a quirky decor, but very spacious, and a large bathroom with warm shower was very welcome. A great place all round, the only downside is no restaurant but its very easy to order in and the large buffet breakfast and super juice is delicious!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CourtznMufa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

First of all, the staff and their customer orientation is absolutely awesome. Management's, Ellert, Carl and especially Maria's personal engagement in their guests is extraordinary. The environmental awareness and consideration also adds to the beauty of a very well apppointed Guest House. We are coming back. V & I.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IngemarBj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We loved our stay at Source of the Smile. We came for Valentines Day weekend and had a very nice time. The pool is gorgeous and very relaxing. Our room was spacious and beautiful. There is cool art and woodwork. The place is quiet and safe because only residents are allowed to stay.

We love the lounge area and we were able to order food in from different restaurants (Chinese, Indian, pizza). Breakfast was very nice and had a lot of options.

As people who work and live in Uganda we were especially impressed with the shower! It had great pressure and was hot. We also appreciated good wi-fi and consistent power as we were also working a bit.

We would absolutely recommend this place to other people, it's amazing and we will definitely be back!! The owners are super friendly and accommodating which makes it that much better. Nice staff and they were very flexible.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 6 which was great but when the poolside rooms are ready we would stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SophiaMaria89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Me and the Mrs are still amazed at the beautiful setting at the source of the smile. Customer service is out of this world.The calm ambience just humbled me.The rooms are fantastic .The owner is wonderful person.

Room Tip: Rroom 6 corner suites are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deno k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jinja hotels
2.2 mi away
Jinja Nile Resort
Jinja Nile Resort
#2 of 10 in Jinja
153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nile Village Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Brisk Hotel Triangle
Brisk Hotel Triangle
#5 of 10 in Jinja
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15 mi away
Wildwaters Lodge
Wildwaters Lodge
#2 of 31 in Jinja
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
2 Friends Guest House
1.3 mi away
Surjio's Guest House
Surjio's Guest House
#4 of 36 in Jinja
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Source of the Smile Hotel & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Source of the Smile Hotel & Guesthouse

Address: Plot 39 Kiira Road, Jinja, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Eastern Region > Jinja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Jinja
Price Range: $86 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Source of the Smile Hotel & Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is run by Icelandic & Swedish people in a safe residential area in Jinja, only 5 minutes from The source of the river Nile & 5 minutes from Jinja town. The Hotel is almost fully organic and built with pure art & design, great breakfast & free fast WIFI! Relaxing swimming-pool area, self-contained rooms & suites! Almost all rooms have their own relaxing terrace/lounge. Food from the most popular restaurants in Jinja(management is in the family) Our Hotel & Guest House accommodation varies from $65-110 with breakfast included. Some of the Hotels amenities: • Free fast WiFi • Free breakfast • Swimming pool • Rooms with terrace • Bar & Lounge • Food delivery service(from the most popular restaurants in Jinja) • All rooms self-contained with hot-shower • Laundry-service • Room service •24 hours open reception • Free parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Source of the Smile Hotel & Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing