We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic Experience

I absolutely loved my day out with KTN. We spent the morning paddling around Lake Victoria, before... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Sarah M
Fantastic Experience

KTN manages to be laid back and casual while providing world class instruction on world class... read more

Reviewed October 27, 2018
Brentbout
,
Portland, Oregon
Read all 201 reviews
  
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveler rating
193
7
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
7
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews world class white water the river signed up dry bags learning how guide david special beer awesome trip life jackets making sure super fun end of the day beautiful scenery these guys once in a lifetime fantastic experience
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 201 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I have had 3 lessons with Kayak the Nile and they have all been amazing. I was very nervous before I started but their instructors have been fantastic.I have now been down grade 3 rapids, can do T rescues and am almost able to roll. I even attempted the legendary superhole this weekend! The quality of the instructors is outstanding and I am not only learning what to do in a kayak, but why I need to do it. I can't recommend Kayak the Nile enough - if you haven't had a lesson yet then what are you waiting for?

Date of experience: June 2014
1  Thank Anya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily W, Owner at Kayak the Nile, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us, Anya W! It's great to hear about your experience so far. Well done for overcoming your nerves and challenging yourself!


Thanks again for the recommendation,

Emily Ward
Co-owner/operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Our first trip to Uganda, was a experience of a life time. I had in my mind what to expect but it was that and so much more. Kayak the Nile are a amazing company to go with if you are a first timer like me or one of the more experienced kayakers. NRE was just a perfect place to stay, basic but all you ever need in a beautiful setting, everyone was just so friendly and helpful….. Nile special beer was great too. I rafted down to the Hairy Lemon island and stayed there for 2 days just a wonderful setting. If you are considering a trip to Uganda and to Jinja and are slightly nervous about arranging it ….. I would say just do it, Kayak the Nile made the whole experience so much smoother than i could of ever done on my own. Now suffering the Nile blues….. looking forward to going back there.

Date of experience: May 2014
Thank rhonademps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily W, Owner at Kayak the Nile, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Thank you rhonademps! We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We were happy to help with the planning and organising of your trip to the Nile and we're glad you had such a good time!

We look forward to welcoming you back on the river again soon,

Thanks again,

Emily Ward (née Wall)
Co-owner/operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

I was very scared at the idea of kayaking down the grade 3 rapids but was determined to face my fear! We went with a guide called Colin and spent the morning learning techniques and getting a feel for the kayaks. After a nice lunch we went out to the rapids and i was definitely more nervous, but the guides were great. We capsized on our first rapid, but got back in and with some encouragement carried on! We did better with the next few, and thoroughly enjoyed our time. Would do it again if i was ever back in Jinja, and our guide Colin was very encouraging and supportive! thanks for a great day.

Thank hannahceridwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily W, Owner at Kayak the Nile, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Thank you for the review Hannah! It's great to hear about your experience and I'll be sure to pass your compliments on to Colin.

As you say, white water kayaking can be nerve-racking but one of the great things about learning here on the Nile is that the rapids are very safe and friendly and no previous experience is required! The river is deep so there's no rocks to worry about and despite the equatorial climate there's no crocodiles or hippos in our section of Nile either.

Hope to see you on the water again soon,

Emily Ward (née Wall)
Co-owner/operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Kayaking with Kayak the Nile is well worth the time and money. I had two amazing days on the river with highly skilled instructors, great challenges and safe environment. I have not done riverkayaking before, but I will definitly do it again! If you have the opportunity to go riverkayaking on the Nile with KTN, do it!

Date of experience: April 2014
Thank Bjørnar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily W, Owner at Kayak the Nile, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Thank you for the recommendation, Bjornar! It's great to hear about your experience and we're happy you're inspired to continue kayaking!

Hope to see you on the river again soon,


Emily Wall
Co-owner/operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I would strongly recommend visiting Kayaking the Nile and getting on the water. I had not paddled for 3 years and was a little rusty but the river is an awesome place for intermediate paddlers to improve (if you can run a grade 3 you will love it). The rapids are big, varied and relatively safe. Kayak the nile instruction is fantastic, I spent the 3 days with Jamie who was ace and enabled me to run the whole river. The team are very friendly, they have a wide range of kit (I’m 6’4” so sometimes struggle getting into boats) and they are very welcoming at the bar!

Date of experience: March 2014
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily W, Owner at Kayak the Nile, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Hi Tom H - thank you very much for the review and recommendation! I'll be sure to pass your compliments on to your instructor, Jamie.

We appreciate you taking the time to tell others about your experience, it's great to hear about it and we think the Nile's awesome too! Thanks for joining us and we hope to see you on the river again soon,


Emily Wall
Co-owner/operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews