We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Great People”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jinja
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Busoga Trust Guest House
Ranked #7 of 34 Jinja B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Value, Great People”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I spent two nights at the Busoga Trust Guesthouse in March 2014. The price and location could not be beat, and the atmosphere was great. Very hospitable people and nice community of travelers and volunteers living there. Great place to stay whether you are in Jinja for one night or one year!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
busogatrust, Guest Relations Manager at Busoga Trust Guest House, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review our Guest House, we're delighted to hear you appreciating the price and also the atmosphere that we have; like you said when you stayed..sometimes it's like being in an episode of The Real World.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
6
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Busoga guest house in the guy's dorm for 8 weeks between Janurary and March.

When you first step into Busoga Trust, you feel like you have walked into somebody's home. Soon after you realize that it isn't just because it looks like a home, but it feels like one as well. The rooms are always clean, the kitchen is always clean, the price is great... But what really makes it worth it is the people. Everyone is so nice to you, while keeping enough space for you to still feel privacy. It's like somehow, no matter how many guest that week, everyone just lives together perfectly. That is what I miss most about Busoga guest house.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
busogatrust, Guest Relations Manager at Busoga Trust Guest House, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thanks for such a great review, we're glad that we've succeeded in providing you with a homely environment for your 8 week stay. Hopefully we'll meet again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosenheim
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This nice place is a 5 minutes boda-boda ride away from the "mainstreet". The rooms are big enough to stay there for some nights, just the bed was a bit small. We also got a roof terrace where you can sit and relax. The People are friendly and you can use the kitchen, the fridge and the livingroom.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
busogatrust, Guest Relations Manager at Busoga Trust Guest House, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thanks for the nice review, I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
223 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We paid 80k per night for the double room, which is pretty good value overall I'd say. There are a few small things to be aware of when paying peanuts. The bed is a bit squeeky if you are moving around in it, the walls are quite thin (though others staying here seemed to make very little noise, I was definitely the noisiest!). Breakfast is quite simple, there's a cat around that can open kitchen cupboards and seems to fancy bread, and most annoyingly the nearby mosque noises start very early and are very loud (I guess many other lodges in the area suffer the same early alarm clock). The room has a lovely balcony and bathroom was good (although we only got 1 roll of loo paper for our 4 night stay). WiFi isn't too bad (average for Uganda) and there's mozzie netting. Laundry is dirt cheap, though they don't do underwear (as expected) nor socks (unexpected), the latter which wasn't well communicated to us. Room has a good quality fan too, which we found useful. Fridge space was limited due to the guest fridge not working so bear that in mind. Snackwich machine is a great asset!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bamboozla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
busogatrust, Guest Relations Manager at Busoga Trust Guest House, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Hi and thanks for the taking the time to review our Guest House.
We are happy to hear that you thought the guest house was good value and that you enjoyed the balcony, bathroom, laundry service and sandwich toaster. We are sorry about the cat, but since he does a great work with keeping pests away we are keeping him, but we have put up an instruction with directions on how to keep him away from your food. Sorry about the toilet roll, but we do provide an endless supply of toilet rolls in a drawer in the kitchen (you must have missed the sign in the room that explains this). We thought of socks as underwear, but we will make the signs clearer in the future. The fridge has now been repaired which means we are back to 2 functional fridges with plenty of space for guests. The mosque is beyond our control I’m afraid…but I can assure you the walls are solid brick 25cm (10inch) thick, both external and internal walls.
Thanks for staying with us and for your honest review that will help us improve for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The accommodation is very affordable, clean and like a large house. It has a family type atmosphere and it was nice to chat with the other guests. The room I stayed in was tiny, with a huge bathroom, but had access to a rooftop terrace so I didn't feel claustrophobic. There was hot water and power every day. The wifi was slow and sporatic, but otherwise everything about the guesthouse was delightful. It was nice to be able to cook in the common kitchen and the free breakfast in the morning was the usual Ugandan fare. The location seems a bit distant from town, but the boda stage is a minute's walk away. All boda drivers in town knew the place and how to get back. Laundry and ironing are available for a small cost. I would recommend the guesthouse and definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kweega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
busogatrust, Guest Relations Manager at Busoga Trust Guest House, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Hi, Great to read this review and glad to hear you'd like to come back. The single is a bit small but we're thrilled to hear you say the large bathroom and balcony compensate for it. Hope to see you next time you're in Jinja!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I stayed at Busoga Trust Guesthouse in August 2013 for one week. I was holidaying in Uganda at the time. I would thoroughly recommend this place to other travellers passing through Jinja. It is in a perfect location, about 20 minutes walk or 5 minutes on a Boda Boda from the town centre. The house is kept very well, is very homely, and is very affordable. There are a mixture of double rooms, twin rooms and dorms of varying sizes, so really something for everyone. Breakfast is included and I still miss having gorgeous fresh pineapple for breakfast each morning. Tea/coffee and toast is also served. The staff are very helpful. There are local Ugandan staff and also European staff. This Guesthouse attracts lots of long-term visitors too so there are plenty of people to hang out with, get advice from etc. There's a good-sized kitchen which is kept very clean so you can happily go self-catering or choose to eat from the many delicious restaurants and cafes in Jinja. Also they offer a really cheap and fast laundry service. You can expect to have your clothes returned to you clean and ironed within 24 hours for a couple of dollars. An extra bonus of staying here is that your money goes towards a really purposeful charity who provide water wells, hygiene and sanitation education to rural villages in the Busoga region of Uganda. Thumbs up all round!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
busogatrust, Guest Relations Manager at Busoga Trust Guest House, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hi again, great to hear you enjoyed your stay and particularly happy to hear how you enjoyed getting to know the other guests, it's an aspect of the house that we're very pleased with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed in several tourist hotels all around Uganda which were quite expensive but pleasant and were somewhat apprehensive about staying in budget accommodation in Jinja. We needn't have worried! Busoga Trust Guest House was the friendliest and most relaxed place we stayed in. It is a lovely house with beautiful gardens. The big kitchen, dining room and sitting room areas are the hub of the house. Guests have full use of these areas, which makes it feel like "home from home". The place is really clean and provides a cheap and efficient laundry service. It was great to mix with the other guests and it is definitely a great place for long-stay guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
busogatrust, Guest Relations Manager at Busoga Trust Guest House, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hi, we're so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. It was pleasure to have you and we're delighted to hear your positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jinja hotels
0.6 mi away
Nile Village Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Source Of The Smile Hotel - Luxury Guesthouse
1.1 mi away
Al-Nisaa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
2 Friends Guest House
1.7 mi away
Surjio's Guest House
Surjio's Guest House
#2 of 34 in Jinja
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Signature Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Busoga Trust Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Busoga Trust Guest House

Property: Busoga Trust Guest House
Address: 18 Lubogo Lane Plot | PO Box 1993, Jinja, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Eastern Region > Jinja
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Jinja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Busoga Trust Guest House is your home away from home! This budget yet comfortable B&B guest house is situated 15 minutes easy walk from Jinja town. We offer en-suite rooms to all manner of guests ranging from individuals to couples to large groups i.E. Schools, universities, charities. We are known for our friendly and homely atmosphere resulting in regular long-term guests and repeat visitors. The shared facilities provided are a fully equipped kitchen, a spacious living room with large DVD collection and book exchange, veranda with sofas and hammocks and a beautiful, peaceful landscaped garden. Free Wifi is available and laundry service at small cost. The guest house is run by Busoga Trust, a non-governmental organisation that works with supplying clean water and hygiene and sanitation improvements to the people of Uganda. All of the profits from the guest house are re-invested in the organisation's projects. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing