We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunset International Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Jinja
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Arrived here around 9pm so could not see much but everything was great. Very nice air conditioned room ..nice service and breakfast was interesting and filling. Nothing to complain about....Overall a great place and great value for money too.

Room Tip: No complaints at all. Much better value than other hotels or guest houses around Jinja...Also has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    18
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
6
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
KISUMU
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We found the Sunset beyond our expectations and the family has insisted on return visit so as to be pampered again.
The place is welcoming, the rooms are kept clean and breakfast is fabulous. The surrounding is quite good and the hotel is within walking distance to Jinja town and the source of lake Victoria which makes it easier for sightseeing tours.
We found the staff available to attend to the needs of visitors.
The hotel however need to inform visitors in advance that swimming pools is only available for paying visitors at the adjacent Paradise Hotel.
During our stay the internet connectivity was poor and this can inconvenience visitors who want to catch up with work.
Otherwise I give a thumbs up to the management.

Room Tip: The room with the jacuzzi is quite good although after booking it I found it had been allocated to o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GORDON O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanger, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The general manager was not helpful in resolving my stolen blouse issue and didn't address it until the last morning as we were trying to check out, even though we reported it missing the morning of the day before. Her reasoning was that she couldn't check my bags to be sure I didn't have it packed!!! Stating that 'many people claim to have lost items, then find them later'. I informed her that I would write a review here, for others to see. The room was 'adequate' and compares to a US 3 star, probably. The staff was very friendly, and the location is great, for our purpose. The food was tasty, but not consistent...huge menu, but many items were 'not here today'. The waitstaff was very helpful, and after having the Wellington Steak the first night, which was like leather wrapped in a not-quite-done doughy bisquit, from then on I ordered ''poached fish fillet in a bowl' every night, it was different every night, but quite good...much like a fish stew.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeresawCareMministri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

This hotel is comfortable, clean, safe. Nothing fancy but the food is decent, the price is good and the location is excellent for Jinja. It overlooks the Nile River from the top of the hill. Friendly staff. Fifteen minute walk to the centre of the city. Ten minute walk to the Source of the Nile.
A strange little collection of hallways and stairs to the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Nile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jinja hotels
0.3 mi away
Nile Village Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Brisk Hotel Triangle
Brisk Hotel Triangle
#5 of 8 in Jinja
41 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jinja Nile Resort
Jinja Nile Resort
#3 of 8 in Jinja
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Source Of The Smile Hotel & Guesthouse
1.1 mi away
Al-Nisaa Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
2 Friends Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset International Hotel

Property: Sunset International Hotel
Address: 17 Kira Road, Jinja, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Eastern Region > Jinja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Jinja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Sunset International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing