We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning and cosy place”
Review of Wildwaters Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wildwaters Lodge
Ranked #2 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Jinja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful hide away not too far from Jinja! Very nice cottages with outstanding views from huge decks, huge bathrooms. Very good food, although portions are on the smaller side! Very friendly and committed staff and management.

Absolutely recommended!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank ClaudiaH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwaters_L0dge, General Manager at Wildwaters Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Claudia,
Thank you for your positive review. The staff are always pleased to know that their efforts are noticed and we do hope that you will be able to visit us again some day soon.
Kind Regards, Glen Macdonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 231 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed for three relaxing nights! Arrival by boat. Greeting with fresh juice, refreshing towels and a friendly welcome. The lodge was stunning. Very African but with European conveniences. The rooms were unbelievable! Huge comfy beds, beautiful balcony, stunning views of the Nile! The food was super. If I stayed here much longer, I would go up two sizes with the wonderful meals! Some wild life - red tailed monkey, monitor lizard, a hugely vocal massive bull frog, some spiders but nothing frightening. The coffee each morning in our rooms was so nice and the manager Glen was always checking that we were happy! I would highly recommend this place!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwaters_L0dge, General Manager at Wildwaters Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Valerie, Thank you for your lovely review - I am blushing.
I am so glad that we were able to make your stay a memorable one and we hope that you will return in the not too distant future.
Kind regards, Glen Macdonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Recently we have stayed two unforgettable days (19/02 + 20/02/2014) in this extremely beautiful lodge accommodations . We were welcomed by a friendly lady on arrival by boat from the opposite river bank . Our firsts impression after entering our lodge Nyungwe was breath-taking and seeing the various rapids of the Nile in front of us at the balcony . A big surprise to us was the outside bathtub in the corner of the balcony .... even well protected for privacy .
The various surrounded buildings are well designed with special architectural lay-outs and constructed with home made materials ... an outstanding project being completed on site .
Manager Glen is a very friendly and professional one , showing great hospitality towards the visitors and always available to answer some requests , thanks again of helping me sending home some information to the family. Staff members are well trained to service everyone as special guest and very kind .
Lodge Nyungwe is maintained very well and clean , two large beds + mosquito nets, comfortable seats inside the zip up canvas walls , luxurious bathroom and very neat with two saloon type swing doors and lightening spots.
Quite a lot of colourful and different species of birds you can spot with the monocular from the balcony .
Breakfasts + lunches + diners are served at an high standard and really top food quality ,even the best ' cuisine " we have enjoyed at the end of our two weeks journey . Congratulation to the chef and his team , menu cards are showing various suggestions to select of .
We also enjoyed our wild Nile jet boat race up the rapids and breath-taking unforgettable experiences due to the assistance of manager Glen in the afternoon .
By watching the BBC documentary of "Joanna Lumley's looking for the Nile sources " we have discovered this extremely beautiful Wildwaters lodge and taken home lots of wonderful and incredible memories .
We wish Glen and staff a lot of success towards the future and keep up this high standard .
Best regards Gerard & Gaby - Belgium

Room Tip: room nr 1 Nyungwe is close to the main building and has lovely views on the Nile rapids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brusselsairlines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica O, Director of Sales at Wildwaters Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Gerald and Gaby
Thank you so much for your raving review on Wildwaters. It truly is a magical place and I know the team will be delighted with your comments.

I am sure your jet boat race on the Nile amongst others will live in your minds for many years to come.

Warm regards


Veronica Otter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

A terrific relaxing retreat surrounded by rapids on the Nile. We had beautiful accommodation in a huge and well-appointed two-storey thatched lodge of our own, with 'zip-up' canvas walls, one of a dozen or so linked by raised walkways on this rugged island, whose natural environment has been minimally affected by the development; a superb and secluded balcony overlooking the river, complete with bathtub; excellent food & drink, friendly and knowledgeable staff and management, plenty of birds to see, from nameless little things to fish eagles. There is whitewater rafting nearby if you want it, and guided walks ashore can be arranged, but we just enjoyed chilling out and strolling around. There's wi-fi in the lounge/dining area if you need reminding what you have escaped. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DickWynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica O, Director of Sales at Wildwaters Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and I am delighted you had relaxed time with us.

We do look forward to your return where perhaps the rafting and bungee jumps might be on the cards.

Warm regards


Veronica Otter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

My friend and I stayed at Wild Waters over the Dec 2013 to Jan 2014 period. Enjoyed a thrilling white water rafting experience and sat on the original African Queen! Special thanks to all the incredible staff - Glen, Ingrid, Francis, Ajeedha and Juma to name but a few! You were all so kind and attentive and made us feel like princesses! Delicious 5-course meals were served on the beautiful deck overlooking the rapids. Swam in the gorgeous pool and sipped sundowners on the deck. Indescribable natural beauty and the strangely calming roar of the mighty Nile surrounded us. Thank you for an unforgettable holiday!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly-May Macdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica O, Director of Sales at Wildwaters Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I am delighted that you had such a wonderful stay with us and that The African Queen restored to her glory played a part in your stay.

I look forward to your return.

Warm regards


Veronica Otter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We visited Wild waters lodge in December 2013 and simply loved it. The rooms are fabulous - world class accommodation with a great view, courteous staff, great food to mention but a few.

The cottage was very nice and spacious with a luxurious bathroom. The bathtub on the balcony was a major hit for me.

Prices were quite high but it was money well spent. I'd do it again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CNagimesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica O, Director of Sales at Wildwaters Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Wildwaters. I am delighted you had such a wonderful stay and the bathtub on the balcony is such a hit so am glad you had time to enjoy it.

Warm regards

Veronica Otter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

One of if not the best hideaway in Jinja. Amenities are world standard, the nature has been un tampered with and rooms have been constructed around the natural habitat. Lovely and friendly staff. We will definitely return and stay here . A great place to relax and get away from the world. Like my mother said she still hears the relaxing rapids a month after. Could be given a 5 star rating but I will do 4.5 because we did not spend the night. It was truly beautiful Africa.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stend N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmacd, Manager at Wildwaters Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

We are so glad that you enjoyed our little piece of paradise. It was our pleasure to host you and we do hope that you will return to stay with us next time and enjoy our sumptuous 5 course dinner and breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jinja hotels
12.8 mi away
Jinja Nile Resort
Jinja Nile Resort
#2 of 10 in Jinja
153 reviews
14.6 mi away
Nile Village Hotel & Spa
16.1 mi away
Brisk Hotel Triangle
Brisk Hotel Triangle
#5 of 10 in Jinja
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15 mi away
Source of the Smile Hotel & Guesthouse
11.1 mi away
Holland Park
Holland Park
#7 of 31 in Jinja
149 reviews
16.1 mi away
Gately on Nile
Gately on Nile
#7 of 36 in Jinja
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildwaters Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwaters Lodge

Address: Kalagala Falls, Jinja, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Eastern Region > Jinja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Jinja
Price Range: $862 - $873 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WILD WATERS LODGE is nestled in a luxuriant rainforest on it's own private island, mid-stream in the mighty Nile and is breathtakingly beautiful. The expansive, canvas walled, traditionally thatched rooms each boast private decks with elegant free-standing baths and wash basins carved from the local pink granite. Softly lit with hand-made furniture, you can relax in comfort on this island paradise listening to the thunder of the Nile rapids, and the calls of the many species of bird who call the island home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Wildwaters Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildwaters Hotel Jinja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing