We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, Stunning Raging Stream Roaring”
Review of Wildwaters Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wildwaters Lodge
Ranked #1 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Jinja
Certificate of Excellence
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing, Stunning Raging Stream Roaring”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The rooms are large and each room has opening on the stream and ones own exclusive deck, with privacy. Open to sky with stream flowing by and amazing al fresco bath tub with hot and cold hand shower towels et all.
Meals included Buffet Breakfast, two course lunch and four course dinner. Good food excellent bar and 'panoramic view of the raging roaring river', The best place to enjoy in whole of Uganda.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the stream excellent, I prefer rooms two and three closer to the main activity center...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Haveep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    23
    4
    0
    5
See reviews for
45
84
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
144 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Wildwaters is an amazing lodge, perhaps the most unique lodging experience I have ever had. The rooms were huge, we stayed in a 2-level family cabin. 3 beds, 2 walk-out patios both literally within a few yards of the raging Nile. Spectacular, really. Comfortable furniture and beds. Large, natural bathroom. Bathtub on the upper patio was a lovely touch. The main lodge includes the restaurant, library, and pool area. The pool area is a little close to the restaurant but this is minor complaint, after all this is an island on a river! The food was excellent, some of the best I've had in Uganda, which an unexpected surprise. Staff were all professional and courteous. This is a place to come and stay and relax, forget activities, just relax and take in the environment. The rush of the surrounding river is relaxing, and the noise level is exaggerated in previous reviews. A great romantic getaway for couples. Totally worth the price, I will be back to this wonderful place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joshua R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Wonderful experience. Room was amazing with breathtaking views of the falls, sea eagles, long tailed monkeys and variety of butterflies as well as lush greenery all around.we stayed 3 nights in room 1 on the wild side and can thoroughly recommend it, room was near the pool and lounge but noise of the rushing water meant you heard no noise at night at all except the water.
While eating the delicious breakfast We watched the sea otters and the diving birds fishing .the food was excellent , well presented and the best we have tasted in a long time, I include the Uk in this.As a vegetarian had loads to choose from.It is worth asking for resident rates if you staying more than one or 2 days, in fact worth contacting direct and negotiating. We also paid in Uk before we went so all arranged before we got there.All meals included but drinks are not , however all at usual prices.try for week days and avoid school and public holidays if you can as many come for the day. however night is all yours, enjoy!

Room Tip: Choose the wild side, better views, more wildlife and less people moving around.room 3 has a sea eag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jed23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This place is so great that despite having a broken toilet the first morning, no running water the second morning, and a HUGE, nearly-tarantula-sized spider INSIDE my bed net, I loved it! It is built on an island, as you know, surrounded by raging rapids. The noise is soothing, nothing like a jet engine (or just a little). Each room is a separate cottage, surrounded by lush vegetation, which shields you from view as you step, naked, into your bathtub-on-the-deck. It's a good place for lovers--the beds are generous and only a little squeaky.

The service is good. When the water pump broke, I was instantly brought TWO buckets of water, one for showering and one for toilet-flushing. In fact, I didn't need to use either--that's how quickly they got it back working!

The night here is blackest black, which scared me, as the electricity is shut off at 11:30. When I saw that spider I freaked mightily, tried to murder it with insecticide, but it would not die. They switched my room to spider-free accommodation. I still thought maybe the spider had family so I dreaded the coming of 11:30. However, a small lantern was provided, which comforted me and I slept soundly, only waking up every so often to check my surroundings for arachnids.

I will tell you--the food is great. They do something here called "Post-Dinner." It is after dessert! So, like, you get two desserts, except your choices are a cheese platter or a shot (of course I chose the shot). However, it might be wise not to throw back the shot as I did, 'cause it was mighty strong, which burned my throat, and filled with pomegranate seeds, which nearly choked me.

If you decide to stay here, stay here--don't head off to Jinja to see the source or go rafting. You will be gone most of the day, when you should be bathing or making love.

One more tip: if you get up very, very early before the maids have had time to clear the walkway, you will see all the giant slugs that have been squished by people walking after dark. A squished slug looks like a twisted mushroom in a pile of snot--check it out!

Room Tip: Chose one without spiders.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Erica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We only stayed the one night at Wild Waters, but could easily have stayed far longer. From what we could gather, Jinja is a magnet for the young - bless 'em - keen on white-water rafting and whatever else appeals to the under-40s. Fortunately, our tour company, Imagine Africa, booked us into Wild Waters which is down river from the man-made mayhem but perfectly situated to experience what nature can do unaided.

Set on an island mid-river, the place is superbly designed. The individual accommodation is secluded - there's an open-air bathtub on the balcony which is quite an experience - and has wonderful views of the Nile rushing through a narrow, rocky gorge.

The food was excellent. On our visit we sat at our table watching the moonlight play on the river as lightning flashed silently in the distance.

Not too far from Kampala and Entebbe, it's a wonderful location to begin a tour of Uganda.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

What a great place!

The lodge has been integrated into nature leaving the beauty of this island almost untouched while at the same time offering luxury and conveniences for the guests that don’t leave anything to ask for. The canoes ride to reach the island is already a great entrée, the welcome by the friendly staff gives you a good feeling for being treated as a welcome guest and Winnie and Riaan, the managers, provide you with all support you need – in a professional, open and unassuming way. The cabins are spacious and beautifully furnished. The bathrooms integrate some rocks to give it a closer feeling to nature. The bath tub on the balcony is great – also for kids who can splish-splash as much as they like as the purified water just flows off back into the Nile. The beds are nice and big. The cabins are out of sight from each other giving you all the privacy you need to feel a bit special. We’ll be back.

Room Tip: We stayed on both sides - wild and mild - and preferred the wild side. You can't talk from the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrasseaterRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Absolutely stunning location. You can literally stare out in awe at the rapids and contemplate the force of nature around you for hours on end. The lodge itself is really charming and the rooms are very spacious. We were 3 but a chalet can easily fit six people and I can imagine it being a fun way to spend a weekend with a group of friends. A great visit for tourists and also a wonderful get-away from Kampala for residents. In case you are a light sleeper ask for a room on the side of the island not facing the rapids. I personally found the view of the rapids worth it for the noise, which does make you feel a bit like you're in an aeroplane. Take insect repellent. Overall a wonderful place. My only recommendations would be perhaps to work a bit on the service, which was slightly awkward at times, e.g. the cleaner entering the bathroom while one of us was using it, and waiters being more attentive to guests sitting around the pool - little touches like that which make all the difference, especially when the price is on the higher end in relation to accommodation in Uganda. It's worth using the tub on your balcony for a relaxing bath - again as you contemplate the force of the water all around you, which is just INCREDIBLE. I would definitely return!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room facing a 'pool' in the Nile, not the rapids as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jinja hotels
14.6 mi away
Nile Village Hotel & Spa
12.8 mi away
Jinja Nile Resort
Jinja Nile Resort
#3 of 8 in Jinja
146 reviews
15.0 mi away
Source Of The Smile Hotel - Luxury Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Holland Park
Holland Park
#6 of 27 in Jinja
146 reviews
16.4 mi away
Gately on Nile
Gately on Nile
#6 of 33 in Jinja
94 reviews
15.0 mi away
2 Friends Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildwaters Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwaters Lodge

Property: Wildwaters Lodge
Address: Kalagala Falls, Jinja, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Eastern Region > Jinja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Jinja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WILD WATERS LODGE is nestled in a luxuriant rainforest on it's own private island, mid-stream in the mighty Nile and is breathtakingly beautiful. The expansive, canvas walled, traditionally thatched rooms each boast private decks with elegant free-standing baths and wash basins carved from the local pink granite. Softly lit with hand-made furniture, you can relax in comfort on this island paradise listening to the thunder of the Nile rapids, and the calls of the many species of bird who call the island home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wildwaters Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildwaters Hotel Jinja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing