We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tandem Kayaking”

Nile River Explorers
Ranked #3 of 16 Tours in Jinja
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Staffed with a team of highly experienced travel and activity professionals with strong affiliations across the industry, Nile River Explorers offers the largest range of river and riverbank activities in Jinja catering for individual travelers, groups and businesses alike. The White Nile offers possibly the best grade 5 white water rafting in the world, but we offer experiences on the Nile that allow every level of thrill seeker and every age group a chance to enjoy this beautiful river. You will discover that our warm friendly service begins with your first contact with Nile River Explorers.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Had such an amazing time Kayaking the rapids. I was in a tandem Kayak with an amazing guide named Hassan. He had me laughing the whole time and kept me safe! Probably one of the best trips down the river I have had, mostly because of Hassan!. This is our third time rafting with river with NRE. Such a great company, very accommodating, and have amazing guides!

Date of experience: June 2014
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie C, General Manager at Nile River Explorers, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Hi Danielle C,

Great to hear that this is your third time on the river, returning clients are always more than welcome and the fact that you keep coming back is a compliment in itself.

Will make sure your comments are also passed on to Hassan - it is always nice for them to hear that their efforts are appreciated.

Cheers
Leslie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"white water rafting"
in 49 reviews
"sunset cruise"
in 17 reviews
"nile river"
in 42 reviews
"pineapple"
in 21 reviews
"guide paulo"
in 8 reviews
"grade rapids"
in 24 reviews
"biscuits"
in 12 reviews
"full day rafting"
in 23 reviews
"rafting trip"
in 23 reviews
"extreme rafting"
in 7 reviews
"great rafting experience"
in 8 reviews
"an amazing guide"
in 5 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 10 reviews
"safety kayaks"
in 15 reviews
"felt safe"
in 14 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 14 reviews
"the entire trip"
in 5 reviews
Filter

346 - 350 of 490 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2014

Just did the full day grade 5 raft ride. What a blast. It was well done and well prepared. Our guide was great, his name is Peter. Ask for him by name.
We stayed at the Explorers Camp the night before the rise and the night after. It was nice, a bit basic but ok. They had a little trouble with our room bookings, booked too many rooms the first night and too few the last night, but they got it all worked out fine. I would bring ear plugs as there is a bar across the road that plays loud music till late in the night. But other then that it was a great time. Nile River Explorers, booked us a 2 hour boat ride on the river and a quad bike ride. That all worked out great.

Date of experience: June 2014
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie C, General Manager at Nile River Explorers, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Hi Mike S,

Glad you enjoyed your experience with Nile River Explorers and thanks for taking the time to write a review. Peter is another great asset to our team - and don't be suprised by his size - he may be little but he's stronger than he looks.

Sorry about the mix up with the rooms - glad to hear it was all sorted.

Cheers
Leslie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Second time rafting in Uganda and was just as fantastic this time as the first! Huge thanks to our amazing guide Josh, who looked after us amazingly well and made the whole experience so much more fun - couldn't have done it without him! The whole team at NRE were so welcoming and we had such a laugh. Only wish I could do it again tomorrow!

Date of experience: June 2014
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie C, General Manager at Nile River Explorers, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Hi Rebecca C,

Glad you enjoyed your experience with NRE and particularly Josh - he is a great guide and I will make sure your compliments are passed on.

Cheers
Leslie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

If you happen to find yourself in Uganda and you happen to be in Jinja and you're the type of person that like to grab life with both hands an experience it then get yourself to Nile River Explorers. They'll take to down the Nile across the rapids and you will love it.

I found myself with a free day and tagged onto a group of American students.

After a safety briefing we all had our life jackets and helmets fitted, then jumped onto truck with a fresh Rolex (omelette and chaipatty role) and fresh fruit.

On arrival Juma our trip leader talked us through some more safety and do's and don'ts. We then got in the boat and on to the Nile.

From that point on the day was simply awesome. We hit 8 rapids and in between gently rafted to the next, taking in the sights and sounds of the river. We we're turned over on 4 of the rapids, but it added to the fun. Juma and his team led us expertly and made the day awesome fun.

They then treated us to a feast and a bucket load of beers. The perfect end to the day.

The sad thing is that the river has already lost some of its best rapids to a dam being built. Another one being planned could spell the end for the Jinja rapids.

I found this interview with our river guide Juma.
http://www.simdavis.com/2013/10/22/uganda-isimba-dam-profiles-juma-kalikwani/

Date of experience: June 2014
Thank JhyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie C, General Manager at Nile River Explorers, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Hi JhyT,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review - appreciated.

Yes, the rapids of the Nile are once again under threat but we won't let them go without a fight !!

Cheers
Leslie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2014

What better way to experience the Nile than by rafting on it, getting thrown into it and involuntarily drinking it! The nature of the deep and rock-free rapids ensures that even the most spectacular wipe-outs never result in anything more than a cough and a splutter once you've been dragged back into your raft. We found that we had more fun when we didn't make it through the rapids still in our raft, but the staff are able to tailor the experience to the needs of each particular group, so for those not as keen to get dunked have no fear!

The staff are supremely professional; the boat-guides are clear and plenty of fun with their instructions throughout the day (shout out to Paulo!) and the safety kayakers are always on hand when you hit the water. The equipment is all good quality and the entire package (full day rafting, breakfast, lunch, post-rafting bbq and drinks, transport and awesome photography) is exceedingly good value.

Without a doubt one of the highlights of my trip so far!

Date of experience: June 2014
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie C, General Manager at Nile River Explorers, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Hi Mathew S,

Thanks for the awesome review, much appreciated by all of us here at Nile River Explorers. Will make sure your praise of Paulo is also passed on - compliments to our staff are always welcome.

Cheers
Leslie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nile River Explorers also viewed

Jinja, Eastern Region
Jinja, Eastern Region
 

Been to Nile River Explorers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing