We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exhilarating showering never mind rafting!”

Nile River Explorers
Ranked #3 of 13 Tours in Jinja
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Staffed with a team of highly experienced travel and activity professionals with strong affiliations across the industry, Nile River Explorers offers the largest range of river and riverbank activities in Jinja catering for individual travelers, groups and businesses alike. The White Nile offers possibly the best grade 5 white water rafting in the world, but we offer experiences on the Nile that allow every level of thrill seeker and every age group a chance to enjoy this beautiful river. You will discover that our warm friendly service begins with your first contact with Nile River Explorers.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here on 2 occasions during a 4 month trip to Uganda. Staff friendly, sleeping/washing facilities are what you expect from a fairly rural hostel in Africa. Though the advantages of actually hairdryers was a nice bonus.

Fab food, good craic at the bar, friendly staff and good general buss.

Rafting instructors competent, fun but highly skilled and proficient. Unbelievable experience. Exhilarating but felt as 'safe' as possible given the grade 5 rapids.

Location is second to none. Great for soaking up the sun on outdoor patio with fantastic views of the Nile... even better is taking a shower to cool off where you still have incredible views .... as there is a giant window with no glass in the showers on the river side.

Will definitely go back the next time i'm in the area.

3  Thank Annelie406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie C, General Manager at Nile River Explorers, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Hi Annelie406,

Yes the showers at Explorers River Camp are pretty unique !!

We are glad you enjoyed your time with Nile River Explorers and hope that many more people will be able to do the same. Unfortunately the GoU is planning to construct a hydro dam on the Nile at Isimba Falls, around 50km downstream from Jinja. As a result of this dam, a large reservoir of around 28km will be created, and the white water rapids on this section of the Nile will be submerged, affectively ceasing operation of all adventure activity companies in Jinja.

We are not opposed to the construction of Isimba Dam per se and recognise the importance of sufficient power supply in Uganda, but there are alternatives. A smaller dam would still create electricity, have a negligible impact on tourism, save hundreds of jobs and the displacement of 2000 resident farmers.

If you would like to learn more please visit our dedicated facebook page:

'Save Adventure Tourism in Uganda'

Cheers
Leslie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"white water rafting"
in 40 reviews
"nile river"
in 39 reviews
"pineapple"
in 19 reviews
"sunset cruise"
in 14 reviews
"grade rapids"
in 24 reviews
"guide paulo"
in 7 reviews
"biscuits"
in 12 reviews
"safari tent"
in 6 reviews
"late lunch"
in 5 reviews
"full day rafting"
in 21 reviews
"rafting trip"
in 23 reviews
"safety kayaks"
in 15 reviews
"extreme rafting"
in 7 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 16 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 14 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 10 reviews
"felt safe"
in 13 reviews
Filter

350 - 354 of 453 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

Easy reservation. Pick up and return to Kampala prompt and convenient. Service and knowledge on arrival excellent. Professional and personable river guide outstanding. White water rafting an exceptional experience!

3  Thank Pineneedle2160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie C, General Manager at Nile River Explorers, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Hi Pineneedle2160,

Thanks for the review, we greatly appreciated.

We are glad you enjoyed your time on the Nile and hope that many more people will be able to do the same. Unfortunately the GoU is planning to construct a hydro dam on the Nile at Isimba Falls, around 50km downstream from Jinja. As a result of this dam, a large reservoir of around 28km will be created, and the white water rapids on this section of the Nile will be submerged, affectively ceasing operation of all adventure activity companies in Jinja.

We are not opposed to the construction of Isimba Dam per se and recognise the importance of sufficient power supply in Uganda, but there are alternatives. A smaller dam would still create electricity, have a negligible impact on tourism, save hundreds of jobs and the displacement of 2000 resident farmers.

If you would like to learn more please visit our dedicated facebook page:

'Save Adventure Tourism in Uganda'

Cheers
Leslie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

For people (like me) who thought the Nile was only exiting in Egypt, I have now a good reason to change my mind! I went on the full day rafting trip and had a blast! Our guide, Peter, was really capable and really knew how to make the boat laugh. The rapids were so much fun and the whole day was well organized with three meals and one night included in the price as well as a shuttle service to and from Kampala, even if you stay the night!

3  Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NREManagement, General Manager at Nile River Explorers, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Hi Anne S,

We are pleased you enjoyed your rafting experience on the Nile. I will make sure your comments are passed on to Peter - it is always nice for our crew to know that they are appreciated.

Cheers
Leslie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I had an awesome adventure biking through Mbira Forest just outside of Jinja. It was 3 intense hours, but with plenty of breaks to rest, watch monkeys, and eat fresh pineapple that our guide brought for us. My friends and I did this a couple weeks after we did a self-guided route from Jinja out to Bujagali. It was shorter and less intense, but awesome because we were able to go through the villages, and take a lunch break at the NRE campsite overlooking the Nile before making the trip back. I've rented bikes one other time before in Jinja, but these bikes were such good quality and able to handle the mud, rocks, bumps, and pot holes. Definitely worth it! Both excursions were organized really well by nice staff who were genuinely passionate about biking, which made it exciting for us. I will definitely do it all again the next time I come to Uganda.

2  Thank Samera E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NREManagement, General Manager at Nile River Explorers, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Hi SameraE,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review, I will ensure your compliments are passed on the our mountain biking guides.

Cheers
Leslie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Nile River Explorers truly think through every single step of the process when planning your trip down the river. They provide a hearty breakfast, fresh fruit and some biscuits while out on the water, and an absolutely delicious meal after the day's work. The guide we had, Nathan, couldn't have been more entertaining and on point throughout the course of the day. He ensured everyone's safety and that we all had an awesome time. Our raft was a bit split between those of us who wanted to get wet at every opportunity and those who would have preferred if we stayed right side up for the duration. Nathan was great at mixing it up and both he and the safety kayaks were always there to ensure the highest level of safety.

I will also say that I HIGHLY recommend the two day rafting option. Though you don't get to raft down new rapids on the second day, we went on other boats and got to do some river boarding as well. Accommodation is provided over night at the Hairy Lemon and I simply can't speak highly enough about this place. We wanted to sleep by the riverside so we took some blankets out and slept under the stars. When we awoke the sun was rising over the Nile and there were monkeys swinging through the trees overhead. The food was spectacular and our overall experience so nice that we decided to stay an extra night.

Again, can't recommend this highly enough. If you are in the area, it is a MUST!

3  Thank LFiliatreau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NREManagement, General Manager at Nile River Explorers, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Hi LFiliatreau,

Thanks for reviewing our two day rafting trip. We agree this is a great trip offering a good balance of adventure, relaxation & fun, suitable for not only adults but also families with older kids. Camping at the Hairy Lemon is an experience all on its own, a little island paradise in the middle of the Nile.

Cheers
Leslie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nile River Explorers also viewed

Jinja, Eastern Region
Jinja, Eastern Region
 

Been to Nile River Explorers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing