We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fun day out rafting the Nile, recommended!”

Nile River Explorers
Ranked #2 of 11 Tours in Jinja
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Staffed with a team of highly experienced travel and activity professionals with strong affiliations across the industry, Nile River Explorers offers the largest range of river and riverbank activities in Jinja catering for individual travelers, groups and businesses alike. The White Nile offers possibly the best grade 5 white water rafting in the world, but we offer experiences on the Nile that allow every level of thrill seeker and every age group a chance to enjoy this beautiful river. You will discover that our warm friendly service begins with your first contact with Nile River Explorers.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great fun day out rafting the Nile, recommended!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Great day out with NRE - from the pick up to the end of day BBQ, the whole experience is great fun (and a good work out!) and caters to your individual levels of adrenaline-seeking.
The journey from the NRE centre to the Nile is beautiful, passing through some stunning tropical scenery and very traditional villages - great way to see some of the Ugandan countryside and get chatting to your fellow rafters.
Feels very safe and well organised and the American guide who runs it along with help from some Jinjan guys is absolutely lovely and she really knows what she's doing. The guys who help (raft with you to keep you safe etc) are absolutely lovely and they're good fun as well, great to get chatting to them and get to know them.
The whole thing is good value for money as well, as you're really looking at a whole day out (8am-5pm), all your gear, your breakfast lunch and dinner and the inclusion of a night at the NRE hostel, which has phenomenal views over the Nile from an incredible look out podium.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Meg074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NREManagement, Front Office Manager at Nile River Explorers, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Hi Meg)74,

Thanks for the review and we are really pleased you enjoyed your time with us. I will make sure your comments are passed on to our river crew - it is always nice to know that their hard work, professionalism and dedication is appreciated.

Cheers
Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    70
    8
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Thrills all over the place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Nile River Explorers Camp is a great base for some thrill adventure on the base of the Nile. White Water Rafting, Jet Boating, Quadbiking, Bungee jumping, you name it and they offer it. Very nice campsite, very nice and clean shower facilities, friendly staff and great atmosphere!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AniqueJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NREManagement, General Manager at Nile River Explorers, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Hi AniqueJ,

Great - glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Cheers
Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
180 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“White water rafting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We were a school group of 17 who spent 2 days rafting on the Nile. It was an awesome experience, the students really enjoyed it and the more confident ones got a chance to some boogie boarding on day 2. Staff were excellent, humorous, professional and safety conscious. Jumja was our trip leader and my own personal life saver, think I took in too much water when we flipped so he was aware of the fright I had experienced and kept a closer eye on me. There were lots of support staff with a safety boat as well as 2/3 individual kayaking staff who rescued those who went in if and when we flipped. Our student group really enjoyed the whole experience, eating pineapples while rafting down The Nile is a unique memory. Food and drink was included in the cost of the rafting, breakfast was fresh fruit and egg chapattis and lunch after rafting was baked potato, rice bean and veg curries, meat and salad as well as lots of soft drinks and water. The safety boat was equipped with the First Aid Kit and also carried our own First Aid Kit as well as sunscreen in the water proof bags. Be warned you can get badly burnt so wear long sleeved rash vests as well as board shorts as no matter how often you apply sunscreen you can get burnt!! All in all we had a great trip with these guys, Thanks to all the guides, you were stars, Mark from NRE who helped us pull together our whole trip was invaluable. The white water rafting real highlight on our awesome trip to Uganda.Thanks

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank providence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NREManagement, General Manager at Nile River Explorers, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Providence,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we are very pleased you and your students enjoyed experiencing the Nile at its source.

I have passed on your appreciative comments to all the team and especially Juma and Mark.

We do hope to see you again sometime with another group of students.

Cheers
Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“What can I say - AWESOME”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

I've been rafting before in the rapids of north Georgia near the Tennessee border. Those were level 3 rapids for the most part. That was nothing compared to the thrills of rafting on the Nile.

This was a totally awesome experience that can't compare. It is a bit pricey - $125. But my gosh - these type of thrills can't be found often.

Level 5 rapids (even a level 6 that we were not allowed to go through because it was too dangerous).

Nile River Explorers does a great job. We spend 30 minutes practicing safety maneuvers and learning how to handle the rapids. The fresh pineapple in the middle of the trip was super refreshing and a great touch.

Our guide, John (Yo), added so much to our trip. He had such a fantastic personality. Always cracking jokes and making us feel that he was in control.

The beer and meal at the end of the trip never tasted so good!!

I highly recommend this experience. It is in my top ten for life thrilling experiences.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NREManagement, General Manager at Nile River Explorers, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Hi Joel G,

What can I say - thank you.

John (yo) Juma is certainly a great asset to our company are we are proud to have been associated with his progression over the years to become one of our star tour leaders.

I will ensure your praise for him is passed on.

Cheers
Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

I spent 2 days rafting with Nile River Explorers and it was absolutely amazing. The grade 5 rapids were definitely the highlight and the guides were outstanding - always helpful and humourous. It felt safe the whole time I was rafting and I hope to be coming back on day in the near future! I will comment on the accommodation, the explorers river camp, in a seperate review.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank zamalek123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NREManagement, General Manager at Nile River Explorers, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Zamalek123,

Thanks for the review - we are glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again.

Cheers
Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nile River Explorers also viewed

 
Jinja, Eastern Region
 

Been to Nile River Explorers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing