We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views”

Nile River Explorers
Ranked #2 of 13 Tours in Jinja
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Staffed with a team of highly experienced travel and activity professionals with strong affiliations across the industry, Nile River Explorers offers the largest range of river and riverbank activities in Jinja catering for individual travelers, groups and businesses alike. The White Nile offers possibly the best grade 5 white water rafting in the world, but we offer experiences on the Nile that allow every level of thrill seeker and every age group a chance to enjoy this beautiful river. You will discover that our warm friendly service begins with your first contact with Nile River Explorers.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We hired bikes from the place in town. Real shame that they don't take better care of their bikes - there was a large selection but a couple of us had trouble with the gears jamming. For $30 a head, I would have expected a higher standard, and better maintained, bike. Having said that, the ride was fun - we were out for 3 hours and cycled around the villages, with the great guide pointing out lots of things, eg plants etc, along the way. We stopped at the other NRE site overlooking the Nile for a drink and liked it so much that we decided to come back there for the night.

We stayed in one of their tents overlooking the river - awesome views. The tent was a little musty but fine once we opened up the vents - which meant we awoke to that awesome view. The bar was a little noisy but nothing bad. The showers even have a view too! (No hot water but with that view it didn't seem to matter...) There's electric lights in the tents, and nice chairs to sit and enjoy the view. The pillows were rock solid but otherwise the beds were comfy enough. Would highly recommend!

An aside - why is this place not listed under accommodation?

Thank Fiona E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NREManagement, General Manager at Nile River Explorers, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Hi Fione E,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Firstly our apologies if there was a problem with a couple of the bikes, but having spoken to the relevant persons responsible I was assured that it was sorted before you left the premises and am pleased to hear you enjoyed the guided tour.

The view from our River Camp is certainly something special, particularly at sunset and the showers with a view, definitely a unique experience. Although these ones are cold, solar powered hot showers are available in the main bathrooms.

Explorers River Camp is listed on Trip Adviser under accommodation, as is Explorers Backpackers. Nile River Explorers offers a large range of activities as well as a choice of accommodation and many of our clients do not necessarily take advantage of all the products we offer. We therefore encourage reviews to be posted for the product they are relevant to.

Cheers
Leslie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

371 - 375 of 426 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

I love white Water rafting...........I did not have prior experience but our Instructor was very good and helped me understand the tips.

1  Thank migrationsafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NREManagement, General Manager at Nile River Explorers, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear migrationsafaris,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your rafting experience. The Nile is a fantastic river for first timers, deep warm water with very little chance of being injured - in fact our most common injury is sunburn.

Cheers
Leslie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

7 of us rafted with NRE on Sunday and had a great time! Before arrival, the staff was very efficient in responding to emails and even recommending a perfect place to stay in Kampala. On rafting day, their shuttle picked us up right on time. Upon arrival in Jinja, the staff was very welcoming, and we found them knowledgeable and safety-minded. We had a great day on the river, and the rapids are fantastic, although there was more down time, just floating along, than we expected. The picture CD we were able to purchase was also a bonus--great shots to show everyone at home! I would definitely recommend NRE to anyone who wants to raft the Nile!

2  Thank jenlynn821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NREManagement, General Manager at Nile River Explorers, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Hi Jennifer W,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience with Nile River Explorers and very much appreciate that you will recommend us to fellow traveler's.

Regards
Leslie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed at Nile Rover Explorers for the one night of our two day stay in Jinja. The accomodation is basic but clean and exactly what you'd expect. We stayed in the safari tents with a view of the river, there were twin beds, a working light switch, a safe box chained under the bed, a mosquito candle and some chairs to sit on the mini porch overlooking the lake. For $30 a night it was very good value. Only downsides were the tent had a smell of 'old tent' and the one we were in called 'woodside' the view of the river was blocked by a chalet infront of us. It's the only tent at the camp whose view is blocked and if our friends hadn't been staying next door with a good view, we would probably have asked for the $5 extra you pay for the view back. They have hot showers with good pressure and then also cold running showers with a view of the river. The bar area is ideal with cheap beer, plenty of places to sit and an excellent view. We ate breakfast there and the food was very average but what you'd expect. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. They offer all kinds of activities so it's a perfect place to base yourself. We did the 2 hour horseback safari with them and it was very professional and well organised. If you're looking for a budget place to say in Jinja you can't go far wrong here, and if you're staying elsewhere but want to organise activities, i'd give these guys a call anyway.

1  Thank Stewart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NREManagement, General Manager at Nile River Explorers, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Hi Stewart,

Thanks for the review - always appreciated. And we apologize for the smell of the tents. We do have a refurbishment program that cleans and repairs each tent one by one but the climate here, particularly in rainy season , does mean that occasionally they do have a musty smell.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed the rest of your experience with Nile River Explorers.

Regards
Leslie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Before hitting the Nile for an awesome river rafting adventure, they gave us each a breakfast of a rolex (eggs and chapati- UG local dish) and some fruit. After getting on the Nile, we had an amazing time. Only thing is that the BBQ food after was not that good. But headed back to the camp for a party all night. I'm really glad I went. I paid a little bit extra to have my own room instead of the dormitory and it was nice. Glad I went! But of course it is a bit expensive, especially for UG standards.Though thy give you a card so if you go a secod time, it's half price off.

1  Thank Find Yourself F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NREManagement, General Manager at Nile River Explorers, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Hi Alexia,

Thanks for the review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your time with Nile River Explorers.

With regards to the BBQ food - we would sincerely like to know why 'it was not good' and would appreciate it if you could take the time to elaborate on this matter with us directly.

Every aspect of the package we offer clients is important to us and if one thing deflects on your overall enjoyment then we need to do our best to rectify what you did not enjoy.

Cheers
Leslie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nile River Explorers also viewed

 
Jinja, Eastern Region
 

Been to Nile River Explorers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing