We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, well fed and good accommodation .”
Review of The Haven

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jinja
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Haven
Ranked #2 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Jinja
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great location, well fed and good accommodation .”
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel for a two night inclusive stay and were welcomed with a cooked lunch of with a main course of fresh talapia. The food was of a good standard throughout and the breakfasts on the terrace overlooking the Nile were especially memorable. We had a cottage overlooking the rapids and were sent to sleep with the thundering of the rapids. The staff are superb and well trained and made the stay exceptional. Overall well wrth a visit. For the ore adventurous ther are nearby rafting trips to take you down the rapids and canoe trips.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pedro00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    48
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
51
65
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
newtownards
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at Haven for two nights in March 13. We had the most amazing experiences and scenery all at this hotel - no need to leave as it s all right here at the hotel. Very well priced for very clean, fabulous food, excellent service and staff in general and the scenery is totally amazing as you view fabulous rapids on the river Nile from the door step of your fabulous room! A very romantic location. Well thought out too as you can bike ride, kayak, take a nice nature boat tour ( excellent and inexpensive) walk or swim all at this fabulous hotel. Please visit this wonderful place - it is well worth it!!!

Room Tip: Best view of the Nile and fab sun rise and nature experience - everything was first class and a Buck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maddy3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Spent a weekend with friends and i am not sure that i would rush back.
Set up is good, views are very good too BUT the food leaves a lot to be desired... n no, you won't be able to get whole tilapia!!!!
Gotta commend the staff though, they did their best to make us comfy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We spent two fantastic nights here. From the moment we arrived we couldn',t wipe the smiles off our faces. The location and views are just stunning. We were meet by staff at the car who walked us in and served us a welcome passion fruit juice and this was the start of the 1st class service we recieved. The food was fabulous, the accomodation cute and romantic. The sound of the rushing rapids and birds singing just makes this such a special place to rest and restore. There is even a baby deer roaming the grounds, I recommend the boat cruise they offer, just a small speed boat but you get up close to the birds and villagers as they go about their daily tasks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avril R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kisumu
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Lovely place for peace and quiet. Situated by the River Nile. The only noise is birds. The Bandas and Cottages are well kept, clean and private. No credit cards , so carry enough US $. At night the sound of water gives you a good nights sleep. excellent. Service is great. The air is fresh.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chotu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

If you need a couple of days away from the madness of Kampala this is your place. It is in a stunning setting overlooking the Nile, the Bandas and cottages are well thought out with clever hedging etc to give privacy. The staff could not be more helpful and always have a smile. My one problem was they dont take cards (although I believe this is being set up soon) which means you have to go to Jinja itself to find the nearest ATM and transport isnt cheap unless you have your own. I spent 4 nights in a cottage and really didnt want to leave.

Room Tip: All of them are as good as each other due to clever siting and design. Even the ones closest to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nettem2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Kampala, Uganda
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2013

On a hunch we went to The Haven for a meal completely undeterred by the several reminders about 'booking' :-). It was easily one of my best experiences this year. Great place. Scenic atmosphere.Right by the lake. Tranquil. Lovely lovely lovely.
Perhaps the only downside was the extremely lethargic staff. We were constantly abandoned by the staff and wound up being served by no less than 4 staff members for a simple dinner for 2.
The low light was after placing our order we proceeded to drink in the sights and sounds of this truly tranquil place and then to our surprise the waitress came an hour later asking us when we wanted to eat??

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraNaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jinja hotels
8.4 mi away
Jinja Nile Resort
Jinja Nile Resort
#3 of 8 in Jinja
148 reviews
10.3 mi away
Nile Village Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
Wildwaters Lodge
Wildwaters Lodge
#1 of 28 in Jinja
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Holland Park
Holland Park
#6 of 28 in Jinja
148 reviews
10.6 mi away
Source Of The Smile Hotel & Guesthouse
12.0 mi away
Gately on Nile
Gately on Nile
#6 of 37 in Jinja
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven

Property: The Haven
Address: PO Box 1713, Jinja, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Eastern Region > Jinja
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Jinja
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
The Haven Hotel Jinja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing