We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Peace” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Haven

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jinja
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Haven
Ranked #2 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Jinja
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Peace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

If you need a couple of days away from the madness of Kampala this is your place. It is in a stunning setting overlooking the Nile, the Bandas and cottages are well thought out with clever hedging etc to give privacy. The staff could not be more helpful and always have a smile. My one problem was they dont take cards (although I believe this is being set up soon) which means you have to go to Jinja itself to find the nearest ATM and transport isnt cheap unless you have your own. I spent 4 nights in a cottage and really didnt want to leave.

Room Tip: All of them are as good as each other due to clever siting and design. Even the ones closest to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nettem2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    47
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
44
62
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Kampala, Uganda
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

On a hunch we went to The Haven for a meal completely undeterred by the several reminders about 'booking' :-). It was easily one of my best experiences this year. Great place. Scenic atmosphere.Right by the lake. Tranquil. Lovely lovely lovely.
Perhaps the only downside was the extremely lethargic staff. We were constantly abandoned by the staff and wound up being served by no less than 4 staff members for a simple dinner for 2.
The low light was after placing our order we proceeded to drink in the sights and sounds of this truly tranquil place and then to our surprise the waitress came an hour later asking us when we wanted to eat??

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraNaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

A couple of days spent at the Haven was very relaxing. The setting is very attractive with detached cottages, flowers growing around the walls, a hammock to relax in with a book, or to just gaze out over the Nile watching and listening to the rapids and the bird life - it was a 'haven' away from the rest of the world. Even the bathroom has a view of the NIle! It's expensive with full board, but a lovely treat for a couple of days, good food, again with a great view from the restaurant, walks around the well cared for property and down to the river, croquet on the lawn, and the occasional animal wandering around, all added to the charm.

The staff were unobtrusive, but friendly and helpful. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyAm50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I spent a weekend at The Haven with my family (husband and young baby) and friends (couple with young baby) and we all really enjoyed it. I had heard lots of good things about the place from friends and therefore came with high expectations. I wouldn't say I was disappointed but at the same time I wasn't really blown away by the place as expected...

We had a warm welcome and were offered a welcome drink at the lodge's terrace overlooking the Nile and some of its rapids - an absolutely gorgeous view! There was a bit of confusion about whether our rooms were ready but after 15 minutes we were taken to our 'luxury bungalows'.

The bungalows were spacious and nicely decorated and had superb views. Each had a small balcony with a hammock and a sofa, a nice bathroom (with lots of hot water in the shower) and a large 'living room' with beds, chairs and a table. The double bed was on the small side (not least because we also had to fit a baby in it) and the bed net of poor quality: It had holes and was quite small making you feel a bit 'trapped' inside of it. I never understand it when lodges - especially in this category - don't provide big, well maintained nets - it seems like such a small thing to provide yet something that always makes a difference to me.

The Haven has a small pool area which is really nice and - I think - quite new. Several of the guest had children with them (including us with our young babies) but the place maintains a quiet and relaxed atmosphere - which is just what we wanted!

The food was ok - lunch was a bit bland but dinner and breakfast were quite nice; though - to my taste - nothing extraordinary. Staff however, were nice and helpful as was the German couple managing the place.

I think we will return to The Haven - if not for the food (and bed nets ;-) then for the relaxed atmosphere and great views of the Nile.

Room Tip: Stayed in no 1 (luxury bungalow) which was close to the restaurant area and had great views of the N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dane-in-Tanzania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Beautiful position with helpful staff, good food and real attention to detail; only blip was no vegetarian option on menu and having to ask about this at each meal.
The luxury Banda was fantastic with fish eating eagles perching on the tree outside- anyone with an birds would truly be in heaven! The icing on the cake was the oh so cute baby bush buck!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dotty531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Haven for just one night while we were volunteering in Jinja for three months. It was such an amazing getaway and I would highly recommend it, especially if you need a getaway! The view of the Nile is just astounding and it is fabulous to hear the sounds of the rapids while you sit out in the hammocks. The food was great too and the staff were wonderful. Love the bathrooms in the bandas too - they also look out over the Nile and it is just perfect to experience such serenity and natural beauty.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AimeeMPearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We arrived at the Haven on our first night of a three week tour of Uganda . We had left Entebbe late after Kenya airways had lost our luggage for 6 hours and arrived after dark in the rain exhausted after our flight from the UK. We had planned on camping but the staff at the Haven took pity on us and allowed us to sleep in one of their bandas for the same price as camping. What a spectacular surprise we had in the morning .The Banda looks out over the most stunning view of the Nile rapids . We moved on the next day but agreed to return to the Haven for our last 2 nights in Uganda which included New year.
The Haven gets just about everything right. The location is stunning ,the facilities for camping and the bandas are first rate . This is the only camp site we found in Uganda that had hot water in the showers . The general atmosphere of the place is very relaxed similar to a well worn pub in England complete with pool table and TV. The food is not brilliant but it is good for Uganda and is served beautifully by the staff. New Year's Eve celebration was great fun ,the staff were very amusing as the evening wore on and they let their hair down!
The new swimming pool looks great and will be a further asset.
A very enjoyable stay and a great end to a wonderful Holliday .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jinja hotels
8.4 mi away
Jinja Nile Resort
Jinja Nile Resort
#1 of 7 in Jinja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
10.3 mi away
Nile Village Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
Wildwaters Lodge
Wildwaters Lodge
#1 of 25 in Jinja
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Source Of The Smile Hotel
6.8 mi away
Holland Park
Holland Park
#6 of 25 in Jinja
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
12.0 mi away
Gately on Nile
Gately on Nile
#5 of 32 in Jinja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven

Property: The Haven
Address: PO Box 1713, Jinja, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Eastern Region > Jinja
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Jinja
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
The Haven Hotel Jinja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing