We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is amazing”
Review of The Haven

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jinja
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Haven
Ranked #2 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Jinja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2012

If you have the opportunity to visit the Haven, you must go! It was seriously one of the most beautiful and relaxing places I have ever been. The view of the Nile is amazing and rooms are really nice. In addition, the food is delicious. And you can play ping pong (although the table is a kind of weird concrete, but it works). Like the rest of Africa, the wifi can be a bit spotty, but it did work for us.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jgt12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 194 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2012

We keep coming back to the Haven. Great place for sleeping, eating and reading a book. Totally relaxing and unwinding is possible here!

HOT showers with a view, the very helpful and professional staff and varied food makes this Eco Park one of the best places we have seen in Uganda.

We hired a tent with full board, but the bandas look very good and quality build.

Room Tip: book before hand, we showed up once and they were full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

There's just SOMETHING about the atmosphere at The Haven that makes a guest instantly relax. No hassles, hustle, or bustle. It's a quiet, calm place where people seem to melt away into their own space--whether it's snoozing in a hammock on their cottage's terrace, reading at the river's edge, or enjoying a nice meal in a truly amazing outdoor dining setting. Loved the shower with it's big screened window overlooking the rapids. And to wake up early and see the mist rising from the river below--wow. If you're driving from Kampala, you might like to bring a car fridge with lots of ice. This is an eco lodge which runs on solar power and something like ice could occasionally go missing, although the beer is always cold, and the shower is always hot! And if you enjoy wine with your meals, I would recommend that you also bring it with you since the selection from the bar is limited. We had a good three-course hot lunch (with a choice of three mains) when we arrived on Saturday, a very nice buffet dinner, and a really delicious breakfast Sunday morning. It is a thoughtful touch to have breakfast served at your table rather than negotiating a buffet--and the food just keeps coming and coming! I would liked to have met the manager, but if he was around, he didn't introduce himself. Don't expect five-star luxury at The Haven, but DO expect to totally unwind and thoroughly enjoy yourself.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any cottages, bandas, or tents that don't enjoy a fantastic view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wahzah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Stayed at this lovely place overlooking the Nile. You can either stay in cottage/banda things (didn't see inside but look lovely) with hammocks in front overlooking the river or in tents. We stayed in tents - reasonable size with mattresses and bedding on floor, brilliant position overlooking the river rapids. Very nice ablutions block with hot showers (usually). Adrift rafting company is just down the road so you can either watch the rafts go over the rapids or go and do it! There is a central bar, pool table, TV area that leads on to a veranda where you eat. The meals are included in the price and you will not go hungry!! Lovely food and lots of it! Dinners are very nice with candlelit tables on the veranda. The staff are very friendly and efficient. There is a large grassy area with a badminton net and table tennis table and you can borrow bats from the bar. Also free wifi (wasn't working all the time though). You can swim in the river here but may get Billharzia even if you swim in the bit that the sign says 'low risk'!! A lovely relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

The Haven has beautiful views, good food and a peaceful atmosphere. It is definitely a true getaway place- so be ready for no pool, little activity but beautiful surroundings. I would say it is nicer than Kingfisher but not as nice as Mihingo Lodge (if that helps those within Uganda). We went for one night and I think that was just about right. If you are looking for a retreat, could stay longer.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
Thank AmericanInAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We arrived here after two days of what I (to my more intrepid daughter's amusement) called roughing it (i.e.a lodge with no electricity and a compost loo). I yelped with excitement to see water coming out of the tap - and hot! - though STILL had to hold on the hairwash as the hairdryer they provided was about the size of a water pistol and gave off the heat of a match - the biggest voltage that could run off the solar power which generates their electricity. However the setting is so tranquil - half wide, lazy Nile view, half some rocky rapids - and the atmosphere so relaxing, my appearance ceased to matter - like everywhere in Uganda, after dark you're stumbling around in a headtorch anyway. We ate on the terrace - buffet the night we were there, which was excellent - and afterwards there's a a comfy place to lounge about and read/watch DVDs if you desire. The staff are delightful: I couldn't have enjoyed it more.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silentcharacter75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

An amazing location with stunning views over the Nile rapids, which repay the bumps and dust of the access track that you have to negotiate after leaving the tarmac road. The welcome is warm and the juice that is proffered is refreshingly cool! The bungalows are comfortable and clean and all have views over the river. Worth the cost of the stay just to watch the dawn sun tinging the spray that the rapids generate when the air is still cool , before the heat of the day burns this off. The restaurant is good value and serves nice food, particularly the breakfast which just seems to keep coming as you tackle course after course!
Highly recommended if you want a relaxing break away from the bustle that typifies urban Uganda.

Room Tip: All of the bungalows have great views of the rapids so your only choice is how close you wish to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanHBournemouthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jinja hotels
10.3 mi away
Nile Village Hotel & Spa
8.4 mi away
Jinja Nile Resort
Jinja Nile Resort
#2 of 9 in Jinja
152 reviews
11.8 mi away
Brisk Hotel Triangle
Brisk Hotel Triangle
#5 of 9 in Jinja
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Wildwaters Lodge
Wildwaters Lodge
#1 of 30 in Jinja
227 reviews
10.6 mi away
Source of the Smile Hotel & Guesthouse
11.8 mi away
Gately on Nile
Gately on Nile
#6 of 37 in Jinja
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven

Address: PO Box 1713, Jinja, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Eastern Region > Jinja
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Jinja
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
The Haven Hotel Jinja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing