We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual Poolside Lunch”
Review of Jinja Nile Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jinja Nile Resort
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Jinja
Tyre, Lebanon
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Casual Poolside Lunch”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stopped for lunch on the poolside terrace after a trip to the source of the Nile. Because we weren't taking a room in the hotel, I can only speak to our dining experience. We passed through a rather elegant colonial lobby and found a shady table far enough away from the pool that we wouldn't be bothered by any splashing. We didn't have to worry though, although mostly youthful they were better behaved than I've experienced at many other hotel pools. The grounds and terrace were lovely and lush.The music around the pool was not loud or offensive, and rather suitable for a weekend atmosphere. The service was attentive but relaxed, suitable for a poolside lunch. Our drinks arrived quickly with plenty of ice as requested. Our lunch plates quickly followed. We had fried Tilapia which arrived complete with head and tail. It was expertly prepared, crispy, not greasy the flesh flaky and tender. As a refreshing stop for a casual lunch overlooking the Nile, it was was absolutely first rate.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OneStepCloser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    46
    34
    13
    22
See reviews for
30
23
3
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We ran an international conference at this place. This beautiful venue played a vital part in the success of the conference. The stars of the show were James the manager and Abhishak the front desk manager. James made everything possible and was very pleasant and Abishek was so helpful and extremely effeceint and professional. The conference facilities were excellent, the atmosphere of the cottages, the Nile and the comfortable accommodation was something that each participant at the conference will remember for a very long time (even wrote about)
I highly recommend this place for a conference and also for a restful, peaceful and comfortable stay - so close to the nature and beauty of this area but also in great comfort. The food was good too.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthann f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Lovely old colonial hotel, great pool -- highlight are the rooms, mine closest to the Nile, spacious and wood decoration, separate lounge area, outside veranda, monkeys at dusk. Was here on business with charity so can't comment on value. Food was grim, however -- but if they could get that right, this would be fab location. Attentive staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GustafsonV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

The hotel staff service was good, the views of R. Nile was excellent while the food was standard just like the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisKeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We thought we would save the best and most expensive until last but regrettably this was not the case. I could not open my room door as it was so poorly fitted, the sink was detached and only held in situ by the waste pipe and water inlets, my bathroom window was broken, a ladder was needed to reach the shaver point, lighting was so poor reading and applying make up was impossible and the pool steps were very unstable as they were only attached in one place. In the dining room, the buffet food was cold, over cooked and tasteless. The manager handled the complaints with apathy and had to be prompted to apologise. On the positive side, the hotel was well appointed and I enjoyed my early morning swim.

Room Tip: Dont choose this facility
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sariolgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jinja hotels

1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2012

This hotel is far too expensive. But the location is beautiful, overseeing the Nile. One of the biggest drawbacks is the noisy music they play in this peaceful environment. I stayed on the opposite of the Nile and it was terrible.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YodoNl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Firstly, I can't comment on the accommodation because we only went there for dinner. Having heard this was a luxury resort in Jinja, we thought we'd leave our lovely hotel (The Haven) for one night to have dinner elsewhere for a bit of a change. What a hideous mistake! The restaurant is bright, noisy and lacks character, the staff are on a completely different planet - they don't even know what's on the menu!, and the food the worst we have tasted in years.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jinja hotels
1.9 mi away
Nile Village Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Brisk Hotel Triangle
Brisk Hotel Triangle
#5 of 8 in Jinja
40 reviews
2.2 mi away
Source Of The Smile Hotel - Luxury Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Wildwaters Lodge
Wildwaters Lodge
#2 of 28 in Jinja
210 reviews
2.3 mi away
2 Friends Guest House
2.1 mi away
Signature Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jinja Nile Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinja Nile Resort

Property: Jinja Nile Resort
Address: Jinja, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Eastern Region > Jinja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Jinja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jinja Nile Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Jovago.com so you can book your Jinja Nile Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jinja Nile Hotel Jinja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing