We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, good value”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jinja
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Paradise on the Nile
Ranked #9 of 37 Jinja B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Hotel has a nice location overlooking the Nile and within (long-ish) walking distance of Jinja town. I had both a standard and an exec room during the course of my stay. Both were good size and beds very comfortable. Other reviewers had commented on the good quality of the breakfast. I must say I found breakfast uninspiring but had two or three evening meals in the restaurant which were excellent. Staff friendly and helpful. Had problem with water supply one day and no wifi access for 6 days. I have scored the hotel as average based on European standards but to be fair this is a good hotel for the area.

Room Tip: Go for an executive room and Room 88 is the best of these for the view!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blb30r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Paradise on the Nile
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 44 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2013

It's important to recognise that this is a reasonably priced hotel. It is also showing its age a bit.
Like some other hotels in Jinja (Triangle being the most obvious) it seemed badly designed. If you had the entire site with nothing on it and could start again you could create something quite good. We had a room not far from reception which was rather dark and dingy. There was a shelf to put your case on as you came in the room but if you did you couldn't open it. Next, there was an old style tv on a metal bracket on the wall which made it difficult to get round the bed and looked certain to open you up if you got up in the night to go to the bathroom. Speaking of the bathroom; well it was ok for the two nights we had but really very very tired.
The atmosphere of it being an African style hotel though made it good fun and the bar overlooking the lake was a good place to sit in the afternoon. Snacks like samosas are available and go well with a cold Nile Special. The staff seemed friendly enough.
We had breakfast which was OK but both evenings we went to Two Friends to eat which has long been a favourite of mine and which is just a five minute walk. Take a torch though because there are potholes.
To be fair, there are plenty of places in this mid price bracket in Jinja but I don't know if any of them are better. I quite like 'Sunset' but again it is a bit of a mess in terms of how it is laid out.
In the end then, not too bad and it will do until someone lets me know of somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeGOsterleyMiddx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed for one night in August. I love the location, walking distance to the Source of the Nile. The room was small and very basic but clean. Can't complain as the price was right. I thought the breakfast was great, good variety. This hotel was recommended by a friend and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suehutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The Paradise on the Nile, located as it is, a stone’s throw from both the river itself and the nearby Sunset hotel, is in a great location. Safe and secure in a nice part of Jinja, it’s easy to get in and out of town here and the rooms are reasonable, from 40 to 60$ and they accept local currency and all major credit cards (One of our major reasons for staying here, other local hotels take note) For the most part the reception staff are very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and functional, had hot water, TV with an assortment of bizarre Spanish Soap Operas on offer. Air con is a fan in the standard rooms, but if you pay the higher rate you will get a unit and a larger room, the fan sufficed just fine for us.

The bed was a little on the lumpy side, but we found here we didn’t need to use the mosquito net as much as on some nights there weren’t so many (Rare indeed) and you also get two bottles of water on arrival for your room. So far so good. They layout of the place is unusual consisting of three building, two of which are accommodation and one of these is very circular in design, though the rooms in this building seem to be popular, they corridors and shape reminded me of a hospital back in the UK, so we opted for the rooms next to the reception in the building on the left hand side. The third building is the pool, gym and has a restaurant. We should clarify that there is also a restaurant below one of the main accommodation blocks, we shall call this the upper restaurant, and the pool side one, the lower restaurant – they both however use the same kitchen.

Our problems began when we used the lower restaurant for dinner. They got our order wrong, things were missing, it took an hour to arrive, and was lukewarm. Additionally we asked something about the food we ordered, and asked our waitress to ask the kitchen about it. She said it was no problem only for her to be told by the kitchen they didn’t have it an hour later? Most regrettable for the kitchen and it made our waitress look extremely stupid even though it wasn’t her fault. We complained both before and after we ate the food (We had to eat it, what we’re going to do, wait another hour??) and little in the way of compensation was offered. We were not best pleased. We would avoid eating here when it’s busy and definitely on a Sunday when families tend to congregate to use the pool which they can pay to do even if they are not guests. People who arrived after us, got their food before us, so that didn’t go down well either. The problem is the main restaurant is in a different building from where the pool bar restaurant is. However in the interest of clarity we should add a new restaurant is being built right next to the pool and it should be complete within a year, maybe this will solve the problem. We ate their again the next day and got better service, but their pizza was very average and we’ve had far better in Jinja elsewhere. Local Talapia and chicken dishes however were tasty and good value. So on a slower day we had a better experience. On the plus side their breakfast, though variable, was on the whole pretty decent, with a fresh omelette made every morning at the small buffet if you want it. Other plus points are the room service, which can bring food to your door and can be a more efficient way of getting your meal. Wifi in the rooms is pretty fast for the most part.
The hotel can be odd in other ways too. Cleaning staff sometimes come to your room while you’re at breakfast, remove your previous days towels, but don’t bring the new ones for another couple of hours (As happened to us twice) thus you can be left without a towel at a rather inconvenient moment. I’m not sure if the logical approach of dropping off the clean towels before removing the old ones had escaped them or not, I did point this out to reception.
All gripes aside, this isn’t a bad hotel by any means. Yes it’s Uganda, but this hotel is very modern by Ugandan standards and is having money spent on it, so the poor service we had with our food was promised not to be repeated. The pool is okay but overlooked by the bar and the soon to be built restaurant so you do feel like you’re the fish in the bowl, and on Sunday, if you’re the only Mazungu, even more so. But you do also get great sunset views here from the veranda over the old Jinja railway Bridge.
Staff here though do, do their best and we would stay here again but if they can improve on anything, it’s the communication between the kitchen and the waiters, there are plenty of staff in both, so dealing with problems should not be as hard as it has been. While I do not wish to appear too critical of this otherwise decent hotel, it has to remember that with Ugandan Tourism on the increase, competition is only going to become stronger and everyone, including the Paradise, will need to pull their socks up a little bit but it’s a decent comfortable place to stay.

I should also add our experience was earlier in 2013, but it Tripadvisor wouldn't publish my review at the time because it wasn't coming from my normal terminal (Well of course not, thats what going on a trip is all about!) Hopefully this won't happen again.

Room Tip: The rooms in the right hand side building as opposed to the left, in our view are nicer and don'...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Island H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at the Paradise for two nights in August 2013. We had to move rooms after the first night because a generator kept us awake. The staff accomplished this move with a minimum of fuss. Both rooms we had were fine, comfy beds and plenty of room. But the showers were in need of an update. Breakfast was good but the evening meals were not up to what you would find in the rest of Jinja and were very conservative. The pool was great and the staff were polite, but not as friendly as the publicity had led us to believe, nor as good as other Ugandan hotels we have stayed at. Nothing really wrong, but notlving up to its own billing.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view over The Nile, if this is what you want be specific about it when you book.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The hotel is an Oasis at Jinja.
Although I have not tested many other hotels in the area my experience from many hotels in Uganda, I must say that Hotel Paradise stands out in a positive way. I work with Alpha & Omega Tours and Travel a local tours operator and we have always sent and referred teams from overseas to this hotel....they have all loved and very much recommended the place. I have spent a few nights here as well.

Spending time at all common areas (reception, cafes, and restaurant) is very relaxing and enjoying. The outer areas and the Nile River side of the hotel are also loveable and the rooms are well spaced, comfortable and clean.
Room service fast and pleasant, breakfast served in a pleasant environment with all a person needs in the morning.
Most of all though, I love the attitude of the staff in every department of the hotel. A warm greeting, wonderful smile, great conversation and service to match.

In general I was very satisfied, staying there three days in a business trip.
Naturally this hotel is very expensive for what they offer as all similar hotels in Africa.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jesse T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night. It was a nice enough hotel. The rooms were fine but shower pressure definitely needs some work! The staff were not as friendly as we had expected from the sign regarding the legendary hospitality of the place - should it read 'infamous hospitality'? Probably not, it was one person and we might have caught them on a very bad day. There is a really nice bar area overlooking the Nile and they have a swimming pool. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MillerOBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jinja hotels
0.0 mi away
Nile Village Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Brisk Hotel Triangle
Brisk Hotel Triangle
#5 of 8 in Jinja
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jinja Nile Resort
Jinja Nile Resort
#3 of 8 in Jinja
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Source of the Smile Hotel & Guesthouse
0.0 mi away
Al-Nisaa Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
Wildwaters Lodge
Wildwaters Lodge
#2 of 29 in Jinja
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paradise on the Nile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradise on the Nile

Address: Sunset Hotel Annex | Plot 25 Kiira Lane, Jinja, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Eastern Region > Jinja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Jinja
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing