We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic View”
Review of The Nile Porch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jinja
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Nile Porch
Ranked #6 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Jinja
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We arrived at the Nile Porch on our first night in Africa. It is so cool, you have a site looking out over the Nile River. You have a cement wall in the back and half walls around the side and the rest of you is incased in canvas. Our porch had a hammock and 2 chairs and our inner room had a loveseat and table, etc. Then there was mosquito netting and 2 beds, a flush toilet and a shower overlooking the Nile. There was no sounds from the Nile, though the first night we were here it was the opening ceremony of the Olympics and the celebration went on for hours...until about 4 am, which the hotel had no control over. There are backpacker hostels on both sides of the hotel, so you have to be flexible. We didn't eat breakfast the first morning because we were rafting, but on Sunday we had a great breakfast on the porch, even though a monkey peed on our waiter. On Monday our breakfast was different.....there was a short supply of yogurt and our pineapple juice was watered down. Nobody from the Nile Porch gave reasons for the lack of food. That was a big disappointment. We had a delicious dinner there on Friday night, talipia wrapped in banana leaves, melt in your mouth!! Also, they were great about having us play cribbage on the porch enjoyng just a few beers. A fun place to stay!!

Room Tip: Don't do tent one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 80 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

A recent stay at the Nile Porch brought the changes to the forefront, which the area has undergone since November last year. At that time, the view from the Nile Porch tented bandas or the Black Lantern restaurant showed the white waters of the upper Nile fly over the rocks of the falls and rapids below, and day and night that was the sound to be heard, overshadowing all else and blanking out most of the bird song..
Now, that the new hydro electric plant is in full operation, the falls and rapids are submerged and there is suddenly a Bujagali Lake visible, and the noise of the waters gave way to an almost erie silence for those who were used to the sound of the falls, but also now permits to hear the bird song, in the early hours as dawn breaks and throughout the day.
The tented bandas are very much upgraded now compared to a few years ago and offer all creature comfort one needs, hot showers too, weather permitting as the solar heating elements do need some sun to warm up.
The place is ideal for birdwatching now, or simply listening to them from the secluded porch in front of each tented banda, and few other noises intrude.
The poolside is popular on sunny days and the crystal clear water invites for a cooling dive, and the Black Lantern, reviewed here separately recently, offers breakfast, lunch, snacks and supper, large portions, a wide range of culinary choices, vegetarian included, and of good quality.
Though there is now no more rafting visible as it used to be, boating is now available and the Nile Porch offers guided birding trips by boat in the early morning and the late afternoon.
Great value for money and for sure a place to relax and enjoy a few days away from the hustle and bustle of Kampala, which is just under 100 kilometres away.
Comes highly recommended!

Room Tip: All the tents offer a great view over 'Bujagali Lake', and while those nearer to the restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Safariafficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I stayed at the Nile Porch with part of a mission team for two nights in June. It was such a great place to call home while working on our projects. Rebecca was such a pleasure to deal with when making our reservations. We booked four of the Bandas and everyone was thrilled! Every Banda is situated to be very private, with a beautiful view of the Nile River. We had a hammock on our private porch, couches to relax, comfortable beds and hot water for a great shower over looking the river. The entire place was very clean and the staff was wonderful! I really know of nothing they could have added to make it more special. They also have a beautiful swimming pool, we didn't go in but is was so relaxing just laying around in the lounge chairs around the pool. We had "sundowners", ( love that name for happy hour!) and a fabulous dinner at the Black Lantern. I will write a review on the Black Lantern next!
I am already finding work to do in Jinja to have a great excuse to head back!

Room Tip: You will be thrilled with any of the Bandas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charleneturner4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Stayed here again (previous visit over last Christmas) and still love it. Stayed in tents overlooking River Nile: beautiful, peaceful setting. Restaurant food fantastic, adjacent to relaxing pool.

If you want somewhere peaceful and quiet, with good food and service, away from the TV, then here is your ticket! Rebecca and Damien run a lovely establishment here. All the staff are friendly, helpful and honest; and we loved all the animals and birds there too.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the permanently located tents which overlook the River Nile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markthriscutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Arriving in the dark was intriguing and fun because waking up in the morning to the splendor of the Nile at your feet, the scent of lillies wafting through your tent flaps and monkeys swinging from the trees cannot be topped. You feel like you are on a safari but have the comfort of a 5 star hotel. The free insect repellant was welcome and appreciated. Stunning views! Because we arrived in the dark, the signage could have been a little better, but we phoned ahead and got instructions and they waited up for us. The accomodations were clean, beautiful and scenic. The beds comfy, the towels were adequate and the mosquito netting plentiful. I would return again a million times over!!!

Room Tip: All tents have killer views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcisobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Booked in for 5 days over Christmas, 2011. Service and staff were fantastic. Food was also very good (especially on Christmas day). (Damian's Yorkshire puddlings were a hit!)

Lovely to have the pool, which was very clean with plenty of seating around it; and views over River Nile. Added benefit was the River Spa next door, which was also very good and reasonably priced. We will definitely return.

If you like animals, then you will appreciate the pet dogs and wild moneys and lizards all around!

We had a family room (as opposed to the tents, which looked great): fantastic layout and space. Everything was great, although it would benefit from updating (e.g. new mozzie nets), especially the bathroom, which was functional but had no mirror or cupboards and could do with a repaint. It could also benefit from additional lighting (e.g. lamps) as the room was quite dark.

The resort does have a power generator (currently important in Uganda)!

Room Tip: If you want the views over the River Nile, choose the tents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markthriscutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Stayed here in February 2011. Everything was fantastic. The tents (which are really more like cabins and are permanent) sit high up right on the bank of the Nile; the views, especially the sunsets, are spectacular. As other reviewers have mentioned, it's very easy to lose track of time while laying in your hammock overlooking the river. The rafting group Nile River Explorers (which I would also highly recommend) operates out of a building steps away from the hotel, making arranging a rafting trip very convenient. We also arranged a bungee jumping excursion at Nile High Bungee. We had several meals at the restaurant, The Black Lantern which was really very good. If you're a meat eater, the ribs are not to be missed. All in all, this is a great hotel in an amazing location - I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelDr6182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jinja hotels
4.1 mi away
Source of the Smile Hotel & Guesthouse
11.0 mi away
Wildwaters Lodge
Wildwaters Lodge
#1 of 30 in Jinja
225 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holland Park
Holland Park
#7 of 30 in Jinja
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Brisk Hotel Triangle
Brisk Hotel Triangle
#5 of 9 in Jinja
42 reviews
3.7 mi away
Nile Village Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Jinja Nile Resort
Jinja Nile Resort
#2 of 9 in Jinja
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nile Porch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nile Porch

Address: Bujagali, Jinja, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Eastern Region > Jinja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Jinja
Also Known As:
The Nile Porch Hotel Jinja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing