We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fair”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Surjio's Guest House
Ranked #2 of 33 Jinja B&B and Inns
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fair”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed here in December, it is basically on the budget side and is located close to Lake Victoria, about two streets away, though some rooms do not have a view of the lake at all. The first two nights I hardly slept, noisy motorcycles late at night, and dogs howling. I only slept reasonably after my room was changed. The food did not work for me, it is mostly pizza based, and I am not a great fan of pizza, I can only tolerate it in small doses at a time. Other food options are available but are rather limited and do require some forward planning, i.e. letting the staff know what you want to have for supper in the morning so that they can source the ingredients during the day. Breakfast is rather simple, with little variety. Generally, the rooms are spacious, furnished in a simple but welcoming manner. The first room I stayed in had a problem with the fan, the second one was fine. I also experienced problems with the hand basins in both bathrooms. The basins themselves are reasonably large, and the taps are of good quality. However, the placement of the taps is somehow not right, I could not wash my hands without touching either the tap or the basin, the taps are set too close to the basins. There is no alcohol served at the establishment, making it a favourite for missionaries.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms at the very end of the property, sleep quality is very poor due to dogs barking and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reevutho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    35
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
39
29
14
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wales UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Hello Serjio Its Hayley from Wales!!! as promised here's my review

I didn't actually stay at Serjio's (It was full) however friends did and had nothing but praise for the accomodation service and friendliness of the staff. I did however visit on numerous occasions during our stay in Uganda. The pizza's were gorgeous the service and staff first class, I was even allowed to use the pool although I wasn't officially a guest. Jinja is a beautiful place full of friendly fabulous people I would reccommend it to anyone and hope to return soon and intend to book a room at Sergio's early enough for my next visit.
I can only comment on my own observations and did not see the rooms

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed in one of Surjio's furnished apartments. The apartments are just down the street from the guesthouse and pizzeria. We were able to use all the same amenities of the guest house. The apartment was clean and felt cosy. It was a great home away from home for our 2 week stay. Our apartment had a balcony with a wonderful view of Lake Victoria. We spent many mornings and afternoons sitting on the balcony enjoying the view and reading a book. The food at the guest house was awesome! Never thought we could each such good food in Uganda. The pizzas are really good. The thing that amazed us the most was their tex mex fajitas. Being from Texas we know good Tex Mex. The chicken fajitas were really really yummy! Surj is very hospitable and helpful and made it very easy to book our reservation. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a place to stay in Jinja. Definitely the best guest house and service in Jinja!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Surjio's 2 bedroom/2 bath apartments (2 minute walk to the guest house) for two weeks. The view from the balcony of Lake Victoria is unbelievable. They had free wifi for us to use at the guest house and the apartments. We loved everything about the place and would eat at the guest house most nights. The food (pizza and mexican) at Surjio's is the best in town. We are from Texas and eat good Mexican food all the time and have to admit that Surjio's has really good chicken fajitas. The best part of Surjio's is the service. The staff was excellent and the owner, Surjio, was always checking in on us. If you want to stay at a place that is relaxing, beautiful balcony view, great food and great service then Surjio's is the place.

Room Tip: If you stay at the apartments, try to get a room on the second floor. It has a great view of Lake V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed at Serjios a couple of weeks ago in one of their (I think) pretty new self contained apartments which are about 5 minutes walk from the main guest house and when you're staying at which you can use all the facilities of the guest house.

Really really nice place, lovely big apartment that would suit a family - myself and a friend stayed there and it was huge but really nicely laid out with all the facilities you would want: wonderful showers a fully-equipped kitchen, beautiful balcony and satellite TV.

Serjit himself was really welcoming and very helpful.

All in all - highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We just returned from a multiple night stay at Surjio's with 2 small kids. We could not have asked for anything better. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and the food was amazing. My one son commented to Surjio on 2 occasions that the food was "superstar amazing!" I am already looking at another stay when my parents come to Uganda in a couple weeks. Make sure you check this place out next time in Jinja.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arua, Uganda
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We just stayed for 4 days at Surjio's and it was great. We loved how helpful the staff and management were. They were super-helpful for us, especially with our 3 small kids; very accommodating. The rooms were nice, and the food was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jinja hotels
1.7 mi away
Nile Village Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Jinja Nile Resort
Jinja Nile Resort
#2 of 7 in Jinja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brisk Hotel Triangle
Brisk Hotel Triangle
#4 of 7 in Jinja
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Source Of The Smile Hotel
1.3 mi away
2 Friends Guest House
0.2 mi away
Gately on Nile
Gately on Nile
#6 of 33 in Jinja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surjio's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surjio's Guest House

Property: Surjio's Guest House
Address: Plot 24 Kisinja Road | P.O Box 2026, Jinja, Uganda (Formerly Palm Tree Guest House)
Location: Uganda > Eastern Region > Jinja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Jinja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former Presidential guesthouse, fully renovated and with new tasteful rooms added. Located minutes from quaint Jinja town and over-looking the great Lake Victoria. Set in lush gardens to give you a truly peaceful, well deserved rest in our very comfortable en-suite rooms. The restaurant serves variety of breakfasts, and other meals, including our famous pizzas and tex-mex meals. Note: we do not sell alcoholic beverages, but guests may bring their own (NO corkage charge). We look forward to hosting you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jovago.com so you can book your Surjio's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surjio`s Guest House Hotel Jinja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing