We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Gecko Nature Lodge(Pemba Island)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Archipelago(Pemba Island)
Free cancellation until 08/02
Book now, pay at stay
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 08/05
Book now, pay at stay
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 08/01
Book now, pay at stay
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Verani Beach Hotel(Pemba Island)
Free cancellation until 07/28
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 08/01
Book now, pay at stay
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Fundu Lagoon(Pemba Island)
$593
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Emerald Bay Resort(Pemba Island)
$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveler rating
135
5
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
5
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr ashokoutdoor showerprivate poolseafoodsand banklike royaltylocal marketwhite sandy beachgreat cheflandscaped gardensheavenly placepresidential suitespacious bathroomenjoy peaceflower petalspiece of heavenheaven on earth
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 143 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2018

Where to start with describing the Constance Aiyana on Pemba island? It’s a beautiful place, very tranquil as if part of time has stood still. I say part as the Aiyana offers every comfort you can think of when spending a few nights or even, like us lucky ones, 10 nights! The villas are connected to each other, but offer privacy in such a way that you don’t notice this, also because they are set among a very green garden with lots of palm trees. We stayed in an Ambassador Villa/suite which has a ground and 1st floor with two bedrooms and bathrooms. The upstairs bathroom is outside in open air. This particular villa comes with its own private pool. Basically everything is there in the room which you need to enjoy a beach holiday and relax as you hear the waves and see the tides coming in and out. Watching the local fishermen in their traditional boats fishing and as you are laying on your sunbed on the pristine beach or at your own villa you see them bringing in freshly caught fish such as tuna, grouper, dorade, octopus etc. The Constance Aiyana chef then puts this on the menu the same evening! How more fresh can you get it? And food is good, selection is limited, but this is not a negative at all as the Constance Aiyana is located in quite remote part of the island, so bringing in goods/foods is sometimes a challenge. However many of the ingredients grow in the area, so is sourced locally.

If you are looking for something to do next to relaxing and absorbing the terrific sea views there are plenty of activities on the island, such as diving (we haven’t done), snorkeling (directly in front of the resort, but bring some aqua shoes as with low tide its tricky to get into the water), cycling around a part of the island (the reception can lend you bikes), fishing, visiting a sandbank, a native forest etc. etc.
It took us flying from Dar es Salaam via Zanzibar to Pemba 1hour + the journey by car transfer from the local Pemba airport at Chaka Chaka another 1h15min, this drive is terrific, you immediately get a good impression of the island. Very lush green and as you get closer to the Constance Aiyana more and more quiet. The cars used for this trip are mostly Toyota Landcruisers with airconditioning.

There’s so much more to say in a positive way about the Constance Aiyana and the friendly staff, the people from the local village, but I guess you just have to find out yourself!

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank James290774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2017

We had many options for our honeymoon but in the end we decided to go to Zanzibar and chose The Aiyana for our special getaway. And we have no regrets!

At first, we were a bit worried as the forecast for early November was showing rain and thunderstorms. In truth, Pemba island is flat and this property is located in the far north so the clouds just pass by real quick.

We were greeted by Syedi (always smiling) at the airport who drove us to and from the hotel. In my opinion the guy is going to be a future president of Zanzibar. He knows everybody!

Once we got to the hotel there was a welcome party on arrival. Katrina, Kosmos and a few staff members introduced themselves and made us feel at home with the sun setting over the horizon. (nice touch)

Our check-in was swift and we were shown to our villa personally by the GM (Katrina)
Where do I begin with this? Our villa was spectacular! The design, the detail, comfort and the privacy. Even 5 star hotels couldn't offer this not even those in the Maldives. The Villa had a huge lounge area, a massive bed, spacious bathroom (with a bath, a shower and an outdoor shower!!). All villas have access to the beach via their own backyards and all have sea views. Housekeeping visits the villa twice daily and they do everything even folded our clothes! The villas have decent WiFi but don't complain if your videos aren't loading, you are here to relax and disconnect.
The bigger suites have two bedrooms and private pool which is ideal for families.

On our first night we were invited for a cocktail party with the management and to get to now the other couples staying in the resort. Including us there were three other couples so it was a cosy evening. We were then escorted to our candle lit dinner tables on the beach.

Now I'm not big on seafood but this holiday was a perfect chance for me to change my diet (and shed some weight lol). The food here is HEAVENLY! Prepared by Chef Geerish and his band of merry men, all the dishes were prepared fresh. For breakfast everything was standard but still good, however lunch and dinner was a surprise. What they would serve you was what they caught from the sea simple as that. You sit down at your table and you open a rolled up script and you will be amazed by the creativity that comes out from that kitchen!
For me, it was seafood all the way! Calamari, Octopus, Cigale we tried everything! and not a single day was the food or dessert the same. So for me the food was on point!

There isn't much to do around the hotel but you come here really to relax. If you feel a bit adventurous then the hotel provides Bicycles. You can go to the other side of the island and to the lighthouse passing through a bit of forest on the way. Although Pemba is completely safe I'd advise taking a guide who can show you around quickly.
The hotel also provides snorkelling equipment and paddle boats if you want to venture around.

They also had a bunch of cool excursions where you go to the sandbank and snorkelling in deeper waters. You can check out a variety of fish amongst the coral and dolphins (not amongst the coral of course) and if you're real lucky you can see humpback whales!

The Hotel also has an amazing spa called Maji (water in Swahili). We were treated to the signature Maji treatment which is a must try! They also offer a spa treatment on one of their satellite islands which I presume would be even more relaxing.

Please be patient with the staff. They do their utmost to make your stay comfortable. Many of them are young but eager to learn so if they don't understand you the first time please explain to them and you won't have to teach them again. They are bunch of enthusiastic individuals and are always smiling.

The owner Mr. Ashok is such a down to earth person who is always around to make you feel comfortable. A truly great person who adds that extra touch to everything the Aiyana does.

Our only regret is not staying here for longer as we bonded with all the hotel staff and they made us feel like family! Cue emotions!

Will definitely be going back and most definitely recommend this non-touristy, charming property!

Special mention to Katrina, Kosmos, Jean-mari, Geerish and the kitchen staff, the bartenders (David, James and Simon), the restaurant staff (Suleiman, Eli, Bella, Naiomi and Joanna), the spa staff (Elisabeth and Happiness), Captain Makame and his crew, our guides Syedi and Abedi and finally the main man Ashok Sungkur. Without you guys this place would be just another hotel...

Keep up the great work

P.S you are in for a great treat on your last day, I'm not going to spoil it ;)

Hakuna Matata

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Zico Marlon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2017

We have been for 5 days in The Aiyana and have enjoyed every minute in this luxurious retreat at the north-western end of Pemba Island.
A multitude of sculptures fit harmoniously into the garden designed with great empathy.

Our bungalow was generously and tastefully designed.
There have been used local woods and materials to combine modern design with African flair and create maximum privacy with a combined living- and sleeping area, a spacious bathroom with bathtub, separate shower and outside shower.

We had the pleasure to meet Mr. Ashok Sungkur, the owner of the hotel and his brother, Mr. Shailesh Sungkur. Mr. Ashok told us that the "Aiyana" is his life's work and really has a lot of heart and soul in it. What we also found very great and convincing is that Mr. Ashok relies on regionalism. Thus, the villas were built with a lot of materials from Pemba and people from Pemba used for the construction.
The same goes on the menu, there is much from the sea and everything farmers grow in the area.
We have visited a lot of hotels all over the world, but The Aiyana is really something special.
In this hotel we felt we were living in an ever blooming garden away from the hustle and bustle of the world

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank powersensi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2017

The Aiyana is Paradise on Earth - Jewel of Pemba, in Tanzania. A sanctuary where you recharge the mind and body and you are one with nature.

We have just returned from a perfect 5 nights holiday from the Aiyana resort. From the moment we arrived, until the time we left, we were looked after with love, and care and made to feel like royalty, nothing was too much trouble. We booked a suite and to our delight we were upgraded to the Presidential suite with a good size pool with a spectacular view, of pure white sandy beach with a clear blue sea. As you enter the suite it has a good size hallway with high ceiling, the lounge area is absolutely massive with a comfortable sofa and TV and dining table facing a very secluded peaceful garden and view of the pool and the sea. The bedroom is also large with an amazingly comfortable four poster bed and pillows you sink into all white cotton sheets, very beautiful and stylish - your bed is facing the sea as well. It has a large bathroom with a sunken bath if you want to relax, an inside shower and an outside shower in a beautiful garden. The terrace has table and chairs and sun lounges, with a landscaped garden. I watched Kingfisher birds skimming in the water and catching fish. I was also very lucky to watch a sunbird everyday around the garden of the outside shower. It's pure heaven, full of wildlife. It's definitely the best hotel we have ever stayed at and can't wait to book our next holiday here. We are so happy we found this Gem of a place the Aiyana.

We would highly recommend the Aiyana resort to anyone who enjoy being pampered and enjoy peace and tranquility with a beautiful architecture, beautiful garden surrounded by wildlife, great service, delicious foods. Mr Ashok the owner and his team provide very attentive service and attention to detail. The care and love they show to all their guests is exceptional and it exceeded all our expectations.

We arrived at Pemba airport a short 35 minutes flight from Zanzibar and were picked up by Francis - who gave us a very warm welcome. We were given wet towels to freshen up, fresh fruit skewer and drinks which was exactly what we needed as we had a short delay in Zanzibar and we were a little hungry. The one hour drive through the unspoilt villages was very interesting and gave us a glimpse of how the locals live.

Walking around the hotel we were blown away by the beauty of Aiyana, the energy and love of the people, architecture, art, the rooms are stylishly decorated, beautifully designed landscape garden, delicious food and nature all around us and the pure luxury in Africa. It was a contrast from small villages we drove through to this wonderland resort the Aiyana - you enter into Paradise.

Katrina the operation manager was truly amazing she told us to call her, if we needed anything, they did everything to make our stay very special. We had our own butler who was also amazing - our every needs were met without any problem, nothing was too much trouble.

My husband went on an early morning fishing trip - and amazingly they did not only catch fish , which we had for lunch but they also saw a pod of whales with two babies jumping out of the water playfully and also dolphins following their boat. I was told it's the season for whales and some of the guests who were sunbathing on the beach saw whales in front of the Aiyana beach. Aiyana also is a great place to snorkel lots of beautiful tropical fish

The food at the Aiyana is absolute delicious, all fruit and veg are freshly sourced from the local market, also freshly caught local fish - loved the salad dressing, which had a touch of delicate lemongrass. As a full board resort you get a variety of beautifully presented, delicious meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We would like to thank Geerish the chef and his team for preparing all the great food during our stay and for the special Lunch. To top it all up, we had the most memorable meal on the beach, red flower petals strewn pathway, which was painstakingly done for us to walk on to your table, you are made to feel like a prince and princess's. It's perfection and poetry all in one and it's a unique touch of love for their guests. No where in the world to be experienced.

The spa is heavenly, it's set in a beautiful garden with ponds, amazing architecture and it's in harmony with nature, individual separate thatched rooms with white painted walls. They showed me round and it's a great place for weddings as they have a special rooms for the brides to bath. I had a massage on my first day and all the stresses and strain was taken away, thank you for a great experience.

The staffs are so respectful when you walk around they bow and all greet you with a Namaste or Jambo in Swahili.

If you are a wildlife fan and photography then the Aiyana resort is the place to be..I have taken thousands of photographs of the Architecture, amazing garden and the wildlife. I saw Toucans, Sunbirds, Eagles , parrots and many absolutely beautiful birds. I was told they also have velvet monkeys but I did not stay long enough to spot one. I managed to take a bird watching Trip and saw amazing flying foxes hanging upside down on very tall trees, which are covered by these amazing creatures. Their are also lots of other activities available at the resort. The Aiyana is a great place to stay if you want to include a safari holiday as part of your stay.

Finally, in our opinion, the Aiyana's secret ambassador is the never failing Mr Ashok Sungkur. His vision and ethos is always to focus on guests, the integrity of a bound workforce to always do what is right. These values are deep in the heart of Mr Ashok's ethos. We will come back again, until then we hold the memories of the Aiyana family close to our hearts, of happy times spent in a heavenly place. Our thanks goes to all the amazing staffs at the Aiyana.

Room Tip: Presidential suite no 1, secluded garden and terrace with table and chairs, loungers, a large private pool.
Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Prim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2017

This property is pure magic. While it is on the opposite end of the island from the airport, the hour-long drive gives you an amazing feel and perspective on just how unspoiled the island really is.
From the moment you arrive, a parade of staff are on hand with cool towels, tea and snacks ... and they are there at every single other day-part to help your stay be the very best it can be.
The property and rooms are stunning ... massive and every single detail has been thought of wherever you go.
The sand is like powdered icing sugar; so soft, you sink down a fair few inches as you walk along it.
All meals are super delicious with high standards in detail, cuisine and big flavour. Ekaterina is amazing and hooked me up with Luca and Mike from Swahili Divers. Did two dives - Coral Gardens is just that ... beats any of the diving I've done in the Caribbean combined.
They also suggested I take a bike ride over to Vumawimbi Beach - again, stunning, stunning, stunning. It was just me and felt super safe and worth the time for sure.
The last night at The Aiyana is super special - I won't give it away but I was so thrilled with the whole night.
I cannot say enough about The Aiyana; it's a must do if you are contemplating island time after a safari or quite frankly, an alternative to the Maldives with more culture given the local villages.

Room Tip: I've heard the Presidential Suite is spectacular!
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charlene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews