We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveler rating
395
57
19
9
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
395
57
19
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews underwater room service fundi manta family fish seafront villa beach bar our honeymoon garden room once in a lifetime daily spa treatment top deck sea front spice farm iced tea local community scuba dive superior garden
Filter
Updating list...
220 - 225 of 483 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2014

My wife and I spent a unbelievable 10 days on Pemba island. The resort is well situated with helpful and attentive staff and a excellent kitchen service with very good meals,especially considering their difficult and sometimes erratic supply chain.The scuba diving was top end and the Dive master very professional and friendly.
On the down side,the accommodation insofar as the bath rooms are concerned was more what you would expect from a 1 star establishment; the shower looked as if it was a pre 2nd world war design ,the drain was blocked on numerous occasions,the water pressure was not always up to standard,at times there was no hot water and the basins did not have proper sealing wastes.
We were moved from our original chalet because the air conditioning did not work.
The peace was disturbed by building renovations in the chalet next door(the 1 we had just vacated) chopping up the floor screed with jack hammers.
The couple running the Resort are very nice and friendly,but with all due respect they have no experience in running a resort, as admitted by themselves. I think it's unfair of the owners to put them in this position without at least the proper guidance and training.One of the owners was there for the first 3 days of our visit and he showed no interest in our well being or the feedback of the guests.
The potential of the resort is fantastic but without the proper training of staff and much needed professional interior design they are not going to get anywhere

Room tip: Front sea view chalets as long as their not building
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank 510629jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2014

My family and I stayed at the Manta resort in mid-July for a week. Manta is fantastically well located at the northern tip of Pemba. The reef off of the beach is excellent for snorkeling, diving and tide-pooling during low tide. The beach itself is quite large for most of the day, and wonderfully deep during high tide. It is cleaned every morning. Only 8 of the 18 rooms were occupied when we were there, and it felt as if we had the beach to ourselves. I imagine even when the hotel is full, the beach will feel like a secluded getaway. Manta is worth it just for the beach and reef.

In addition, I found the other guests to be of the more adventurous, off-the-beaten path type. These guests, even the honeymooners, and the staff were very welcoming of our kids. Thus, although secluded, the ambiance in the common spaces was very casual and familial. An unusual and wonderful combination that I would say is a great destination for the adventurous honeymooners as well as families. Not a usual mix, but one that works very well at Manta.

The beach bar, pool area and dining/common areas are very nice, and what I would expect for a very nice resort, while still being true to an authentic African experience. The food was excellent in spite of the difficulty of getting supplies from Zanzibar and the mainland. The rooms are comfortable, clean and perfect for a beach environment, but are missing a level of charm or up-to-date design. I certainly do not advocate for boutique-efying them, but it seems a missed opportunity given all the other great aspects of the resort.

Speaking of which, one of the greatest assets of the resort is Stacey and Mike, and the staff. As mentioned, we felt completely at home and our needs very much accommodated. Mike is an extraordinarily attentive and patient dive master. He taught our kids (11, 11 and 12 years old) to dive, adjusting his manner with each kid’s personality to make them comfortable. The diving on the reef in front of the hotel as well as within minutes by boat is worth the stay at Manta alone. Stacey and the staff have a very symbiotic relationship with the local village. They go out of their way to hire and source items from the village, extending the atmosphere of welcome when you step out of the resort. Manta has genuinely contributed to the village’s prosperity and has avoided what could have been (and is in some other resort environments) a more resentful and hostile surrounding.

Tips. The sunset sail is absolutely worth it. Extremely authentic ride in a small sailboat whose design is centuries old. The sailing takes you from the local village to a very nice sandy beach for a change of scenery.
The spice farm tour is interesting, but not worth a half-day’s excursion in and of itself. We combined it with our airport drop off, and even then felt it was not entirely worth the detour.

All in all, Manta is off-the-beaten path, a wonderful experience and well worth the effort.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PierreTrapanese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Me and my boyfriend had the chance to visit Manta Resort in the end of April. After a lot of work we needed to relax.
We were tired and needed a rest- and we got SO SO well taken care off from the arrival until the departure! We stayed in a beautiful room in the back, very nice materials in the rooms, great shower and bathroom. I loved the simplicity- with beautiful details!

The first day we just chilled in the pool, by the beach in the bar with a beautiful view over the sea. I went snorkeling just off the beach and I was astounded over how much fish you saw, just in the shallow water. In the evening we had a nice candle light dinner up on the terrace- great food and great service. Very polite staff who gave you space but being very attentive.

The next day we had the opportunity for diving- this was amazing. We had the chance to go diving with David, an instructor from the in house dive center. He took us to a site who was suitable for us. That was truly special! Pemba is the place to dive, I can't wait to get back for more!

All in all we were so pampered and Manta Resort is so far away from anything else- you really feel like you have your private paradise! If you have the chance go, go ,go!!

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank karinkarinkarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

The location is excellent, the service great, the staff very friendly, the activities (snorkelling, swimming, diving, sailing, walks, spa) amazing, and the value good. It is just let down by the very basic rooms (applies to garden room, not sure about the others). They are badly needing an update. They don't have mosquito netting or glass windows you can close (some big bugs came in) and the toilet is a bit grim. Luckily we did not expend that much time in the room as there is plenty to do around. A lovely place all together.

Room tip: Garden rooms are poor.
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank igpz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2014

I was part of a film crew that did some filming at The Manta Resort this year. From early on, speaking with Mike and Stacey, we felt very comfortable about using the Underwater room as one of the locations. They were easy to communicate with, very reliable and they helped us a lot with ground logistics on the day of filming. Without Mikes knowledge and connections, we might not have been able to film some of the scenes we wanted to!

Even though it was peak season, and we had a lot to accomplish on the day, the team at Manta were very accommodating. We had lunch and dinner at the resort and the food was fantastic (The best fish i have had in Tanzania). They even prepared a breakfast early in the morning, even though we gave them late notice. They really did go above and beyond to make sure we were looked after. My guests that stayed in the Underwater room said it was the best room they have ever stayed in, and fell asleep watching the stars.

Thank you all for a great experience, i will be back,

Eric

Room tip: The underwater room was fantastic! Everyone loved being able to jump off the roof into the ocean, and being able to look out of the bedroom below to see people snorkelling. A great experience.
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Eric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews