We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once in a Life Time!”
Review of The Manta Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pemba Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Manta Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pemba Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2013

After much consideration we chose The Manta Resort. We are avid divers and wanted a place to unwind after 10 days in the bush. It was also our 25th wedding anniversary! Upon our arrival the tropical breezes, baby powder sand, and the rhythm of solitude entered our souls. Truly paradise found. It is a small resort with big appeal. The stretch of beach is truly one of the prettiest we have seen. It was almost secluded with very few guests. The rooms are tucked up on a slight hillside which gives the ultimate in privacy. The rooms are very spacious. Your balcony overlooks onto the sea. The dive operator on premise, David, introduce himself to us on arrival to inquire about our diving preferences. He accommodated all our needs in a professional manner. He was incredibly knowledgeable and would go out of his way to make the experience special to your needs. Well, the crowning touch had to do with the most spectacular part of Manta Resort...THE UNDERWATER ROOM! Matthew (designer, owner, overall guru) answered our questions about this fabulous opportunity and we decided to stay the night in this once in a life time opportunity. Needless to say...AWESOME! The room is situated for the ultimate in privacy. The upper deck for star gazing will knock your socks off! A perfectly clear night to lay up and ponder the universe. A special dinner was brought out to have by boat in the main lounge area with Swahili wraps provided for each of us. Upon retiring....if you can sleep....a 360 degree show awaits. An amazing array of fish wander through entertaining you at every turn. Squid by the hundreds were feeding on smaller schools of fish...flashing their silvery coats. There were so many fish that continually changed throughout the night. The experience was beyond words....In the morning we awakened to an incredible sun rise. Breakfast again arriving by boat. We snorkeled right off the deck, dozed, read, and RELAXED. I now know the seven deadly sin of SLOTH does exist! Do not miss this opportunity...! Have to include that the spa treatments (included) were also incredible. After diving in the afternoon we would indulge in a couples massage. I can't say enough about Manta and everything that they provided. Top notch, family owned, Eco friendly, ....offers employment to all the local community residents...a very special place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 410 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

I don't use the title of the review lightly... I searched for almost 5 months for the perfect honeymoon destination and finally found Manta... And I made the perfect choice.

I wanted a destination that was not a busy hotel, one that had nice rooms and a perfect beach and found this and soooo much more at Manta.

Everything was just absolutely perfect. The "safari" from the airport to the resort, the warm welcome, the daily treatments at the spa, the food, the drinks, the service, the hospitality, the rooms and the absolutely ridiculously perfect beach with the softest sand you could EVER imagine, everything was just absolutely perfect. We could not have asked for more.

Unfortunately we visited before the underwater room was finished, but judging from my experience, this will probably also be awesome.

We were treated exceptionally well. We enjoyed two amazingly romantic candlelit dinners on the beach, lazy days on the beach, relaxing times in the spa and just great all-round service. From the moment you arrive, you are treated as family, which makes leaving really, really hard, so be warned!

Go for the sea front villas, remember your sunscreen and mosquito spray (just in case), don't be surprised by the tides (we spent our mornings in the spa and the rest of the day, after lunch, on the beach) and get ready to enjoy an amazing, relaxing holiday.

Thank you so much to everyone at the Manta Resort for an unforgettable honeymoon. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank charles_brittz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Unforgettable ‘Smile Wide’ Manta Resort, Pemba.

From the moment you touch down in Pemba (30 minute flight from Zanzibar), you are collected by your Manta Resort driver and transported on a mini ‘safari’ to the northern tip of the island through many bustling small villages, past Coconut Groves, Banana plantations, Clove plantations and picturesque Tropical surroundings. The locals playing football, cows and chickens everywhere… The final stretch before you reach Manta Resort as the sun begins to set, leads through the Ngezi Vumawimbi Nature Reserve Forest, everything shiny and green.

From the moment you arrive at Manta, you are taken care of. Your bags are taken to your room as you are invited to the terrace to take in the amazing view and enjoy a fresh local cold fruity iced tea. Your 'service fundi' is introduced to you and takes care of you from that moment on. (Enough time to freshen up before returning to the communal eating area where you get to choose your table and the relaxing holiday begins… taking in the environment and sounds (DON'T FORGET MOSQUITO SPRAY!!).

The food is incredible! It was great to taste local flavours from exotic spices to tropical fruits! Each meal is three course and FRESH! Service is always with a genuine smile!

The views are breathtaking, the beach is dotted with sun beds under palm-frond umbrella’s. The bar on the beach is a great place to chill and read your book while enjoying one of the famous cocktails (Also a great place to hide when the clouds burst and the short rains fall in November). The water is warm and perfect for snorkelling through the coral reef. DON’T FORGET FACTOR 50 SUNSCREEN, Sunnies and a cap/hat. - Did I mention the daily massage included!

There is enough to do, with optional extra’s which include the Ngezi Rain Forest Tour, Local Village Tour, Diving with the dive centre, Sunset cruise in an Ngalawa traditional sailing vessel (MUST EXPERIENCE THIS), Pemba Spice Farm and Lighthouse walk to name a few. Snorkelling around the new Underwater Room was fun and kayaking was a good way to see the island coastline with unlimited opportunities for the perfect photo!

I envy the management and locals who get to experience this type of paradise everyday! You can never take enough photos of the perfect ‘African Sunset’. Just after the sun goes down, the laughing Bushbabies and flying foxes appear. Keep your camera handy as you stake-out the sugar bowl that the Bushbabies raid religiously at 7pm (cheeky!).

This is a hidden gem that you will return to annually if you have the ways and means! Truly unforgettable… that Smile Wide Pemba Holiday! Hakuna Matata (“no worries”).

THANK YOU TO EVERYONE AT MANTA RESORT, PEMBA ISLAND, TANZANIA

Room Tip: Seafront Villa's with incredible ocean views, sun sets, sun rises and the sound of waves to rela...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Rogelio76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

It is the best place I've been so far in my life. Thank you Micael and Tina for such a perfect hospitality making heaven on earth! I will definitely come back with my girlfriend some day... Thank you thank you! The rooms, the food, the service, the scuba, the hospitality, the signature drinks, all! Perfect!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
6  Thank Arnoldtowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I've lived in Tanzania for a long time and been to many beach resorts, but this was one of my best experiences yet. Manta has a lovely beach, good service, really nice food and excellent snorkeling and diving right near by and a nice dive shop with good dive leaders - especially for we less and moderately experienced divers. Each group is assigned a personal service "fundi" and ours was great. The resort package comes all inclusive with food, drinks (including alcohol) and daily spa treatments for each person! We were three families with kids, and although they don't normally have many young children there - they welcomed us with open arms and made accomodations for food and time of dinner. None of us wanted to leave and I imagine that we'll be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Hally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Loved this place! Not too fancy, but perfect. Beach is gorgeous, with super soft sand, ocean a thousand shade of turquoise. Beach chairs and hammocks for all. Lovely little pool. Good service and delicious food (including freshly baked bread at all meals). On-site dive/snorkel shop with knowledgeable and friendly staff, and good equipment. Drinks and daily spa treatment included. Good day-trip options around the island. What else could you want?

We had 3 families with 6 kids aged 5 to 10. The staff were very accomodating on food and meal times. Everyone loved it.

Room Tip: Be sure to request AC for the hot season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rayjah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

When planning our holiday this year we were split between booking a diving holiday or a relaxing beach holiday. With Manta Resort we got the best of both. The resort makes no claims to be a five star resort and it isn't but this said what it lacks in amenities it more than makes up for with its friendly, relaxed atmosphere where nothing is too much trouble and you are made to feel special - there may not be tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms but this is always available in the lodge and if you just can't face the day without that kick start you only have to ask and someone will bring it to your room for you.

Travelling as three adults we had adjoining garden rooms , these are the more basic of the rooms on offer but are very comfortable with en-suite facilities, the showers were lovely and warm and much appreciated after a morning diving. The food is well cooked and delicious - the bread is amazing.

The diving is superb, now if you are expecting whale sharks and Mantas at every turn then you may be disappointed, they do get them around Pemba but wildlife is notoriously unreliable, but if you are prepared to just enjoy what is there, and there is so much to find, then you will enjoy the diving as much as we did, and we like to dive a lot. The coral is pristine and covered in myriads of colourful reef fish; leaf fish, scorpion fish and nudibranch are plentiful and even the octopus and mantis shrimp are visibly evident rather than hidden in dark holes. The whole place seems almost untouched and is a joy to explore. David and the team in the dive centre really looked after us and much of the time it was like having our own private dive holiday.

After a morning diving there were the afternoons enjoying the spa, the pool and relaxing in the hammocks on the beach watching the world go by. You can swim in the sea or if this is not for you, or the tide is out then the pool is the place to go. Then the evening meal watching the stars and listening to the Bushbabies laugh. All in all a perfect day every day. The team at Manta make you feel very welcome and do everything to ensure that you get the relaxed, luxury holiday you deserve - five star treatment all the way in a tranquil corner of paradise.

Room Tip: Seafront rooms have a fabulous view and benefit from the sea breezes. We would definitely upgrade to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hazel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pemba Island hotels
40.0 mi away
Pemba Lodge
Pemba Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kiweni (Shamiani)
93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pemba Crown Hotel
Pemba Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wete
7 reviews
25.7 mi away
Hotel Archipelago
Hotel Archipelago
#4 of 6 in Pemba Island
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Aiyana
The Aiyana
#1 of 7 in Pemba Island
123 reviews
38.2 mi away
Emerald Bay Resort
Emerald Bay Resort
#2 of 7 in Pemba Island
56 reviews
2.7 mi away
Gecko Nature Lodge
Gecko Nature Lodge
#1 of 4 in Pemba Island
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manta Resort

Address: Box 32, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Pemba Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pemba Island
Price Range: $212 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Manta Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elevated and crafted along an idyllic island beach, The Manta Resort offers privacy, romance, adventure, and diving on East Africa's finest island sanctuary. Pemba Island for real. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Manta Hotel Pemba Island
Manta Hotel Pemba Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing