We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Manta Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pemba Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Manta Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pemba Island
Certificate of Excellence
Arusha
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Excellent place to stay. Very nice with a pool and good food. The all-inclusive package is good, but do know that you won't get any fancy alcohol on it. They didn't even have gin when we were there, but it was end of season! None the less, AWESOME place. Beautiful diving and snorkeling. Excellent dive equipment and staff. Would definitely go back again. Watch out for the bushbabies!

Room Tip: Swamp rooms if the bush babies are coming in too much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraBorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    49
    17
    9
    3
See reviews for
56
239
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

The resort and our stay was very relaxing. The sea front villas in my opinion are well worth the extra money. We had travelled to Pemba for the diving and were not terribky impressed given the distance and effort to get there. We dove only in the mornings, and saw mostly small stuff. Perhaps we have been spoiled by the GBR and Sipadan adventures. The staff was remarkably friendly.

Food could be improved but good standard.
The transit car from the airport to the resort was not aligned with my expecation for a 5star resort- I would hope that this detail will be adressed given the 1.5hr journey.

overall a beautful stay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JP-Josianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We will be coming back to Manta. Five days was definitely not enough.

What I like most about Manta is that it is not a luxury resort plunked down on a beautiful tropical island. It is a luxury resort that grew out of a beautiful tropical island. Everything...from the lodge, to the villas, to the beach bar and the umbrellas...was built by people from the surrounding villages. The staff are local, the food is sourced from the fishermen whose local harbor happens to be 200 metres up the beach. As a result, the local community seems to respect and value the resort and its guests, and I did not sense any of the animosity felt by locals near other resorts I've been to.

Highlights
- Snorkling right off the beach, or via a short sea-kayak paddle; we saw hundreds of crazy fish, morey eels, and giant starfish (we didn't dive, but hear it's fantastic)
- The ginger lemongrass sling...quite possibly the best cocktail I've ever had
- Getting to know Selle (or any of the other 'butlers' for lack of a better word, who are matched up one-to-one to take care of you throughout your visit)
- Incredibly fresh seafood and high quality cooking
- Big bed, nice open room, with gorgeous sea views (in seaside villa)

Tips
- Be careful not to lock your partner in your villa...it's very easy to accidentally slide the bolt on the outside while leaving. Trust me, I know.
- Take advantage of the daily massages
- Bring your own suncream, and lots of it...it's a bit hard to come by locally
- Don't stress about flight connections etc...these are small planes, and we were told they would wait if we were a bit late

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LetsGoRedSox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a wonderful stay after a pretty full-on three weeks in Tanzania. We had just come from a research centre in the Usambara Mountains, so what we really needed was some relaxation, luxury and some great food. We got all that and more, everything was taken care of with the staff all incredibly friendly.
The snorkelling from the beach was great and I'm sure when they have the under-water room available that will provide a really unique experience.
We were really pleased and surprised that all inclusive was including all cockails and wines as well as local drinks, and we were also able to have a joint massage each day.

We also went out birdwatching one afternoon with one of the staff and we were able see all the Pemba endemic birds (three of them actually occur in the grounds).
Meal on the last night was a great experience.

Room Tip: Cottages with beach view and bed on the veranda are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have just returned from a week in paradise and found that we didn't want to leave. Manta is not the slickest or most luxurious place to stay (in fact the term 'Resort' could be a bit misleading) but it's one of the most authentic, welcoming and naturally beautiful places I have ever had the pleasure of staying.

When you arrive you are welcomed into the Manta family which to the more cynical would appear to be a clever marketing ploy....

Let me reassure you that this is not the case.

The warmth and hospitality of this place really sets it apart and the staff, from the guys who rake the beach to your personal service fundi, are from the local village. This is genuine Tanzanian hospitality and your service fundi will even take you to his village and introduce you to his family if you like!

Manta sources its supplies locally, shares its water with the local village and is actively involved in improving the lives of the local community through a philosophy of ethical tourism.

This is a place to truly relax and unwind, gradually reconnecting with nature and what's truly important in life. The beach is perfect powdery white sand and you can enjoy good snorkeling from the water line. The scuba diving around Pemba is also spectacular with a variety of wonderful dive sites nearby. We saw a pod of dolphins from our veranda and the sunsets were simply stunning. All our alcohol was included and we especially enjoyed making our way through the variety of rum cocktails on offer (which are something of a specialty here).

This is nature at its best and at night you can see the milky way so clearly the amount of stars are almost like a cloud across the nights sky. If you want an authentic experience of real Tanzanian hospitality in a remote location of unspoilt natural beauty, you can't do much better than Manta. It'll take you a couple of days to really relax into the vibe of the place so you really need to spend a week here at the very least.

We're already looking forward to our return and next time we'll make sure we stay for longer.

Room Tip: Stay in a Sea View Villa to make the most of the light, space and beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrucePZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We spent 8 days here in February and we could have stayed here for 2 months and still not have had enough.

I couldn't agree more with the previous posts, this is a four star hotel in a five star experience. The staff are extremely friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The food is amazing with freshly caught seafood everyday. The beach is hands down the best beach i have been too in terms of the colour, clarity and beauty (the colours are like the professional photos). Doing the honeymoon package we had a dinner on the beach which included fresh lobster, snapper fillets, calamari and salad. We regularly could not eat dessert as we had so much for entree / mains. The entire vibe at the hotel is relax and enjoy yourself and that is exactly what we wanted. Though that said, there was always something to do, from the sandbank, to sunset fishing boat cruises to diving / snorkeling on one of the perimeter islands.

We were talking to the managers about their proposed underwater room which is due to be complted this year and we cant wait to be back in a few years to see it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smarchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattManta, Manager at The Manta Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear guests,
It was a pleasure meeting you and thank you so much for your review. We are really looking forward to checking you into our new underwater room ?
Thanks again for sharing your honeymoon with us.
Warm regards,
The Manta Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had a wonderful week at the Manta resort.
Everything was perfect!

The staff were very nice and helpful, our beachfront villa a dream and the food was really delicious!

My husband did a lot of diving and he said that the dive center was very good too, nice and competent staff and good equipment.

I am sure we will be back!

Room Tip: Beach front villas are islands of tranquility and comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattManta, Manager at The Manta Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear guests,
We are all very grateful for your review and happy to have been able to share this unique part of the world with you both.
We are really looking forward to welcoming you back soonest.
Kindest regards,
The Manta Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pemba Island
39.7 mi away
Pemba Lodge
Pemba Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kiweni (Shamiani)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pemba Crown Hotel
Pemba Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Retreat Selous
The Retreat Selous
#3 of 3 in Selous Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Aiyana
The Aiyana
#1 of 9 in Pemba Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
24.2 mi away
Hifadhi Hotel
Hifadhi Hotel
#3 of 9 in Pemba Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kervan Saray Beach Lodge
Kervan Saray Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Pemba Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manta Resort

Property: The Manta Resort
Address: Box 32, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Pemba Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pemba Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Manta Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elevated and crafted along an idyllic island beach, The Manta Resort offers privacy, romance, adventure, and diving on East Africa's finest island sanctuary. Pemba Island for real. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Manta Hotel Pemba Island
Manta Hotel Pemba Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing