We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“honeymoon heaven”
Review of Fundu Lagoon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fundu Lagoon
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pemba Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Beautiful location, friendly staff and great food. We stayed just after the rainy season in June to start our honeymoon and loved every minute. Yes the tide can go out a bit but you only have to walk out to beautiful seas. We snorkelled and kayaked most days and the sea life even around the hotel was fantastic. We did visit the neighbouring island for diving/snorkelling along the reef which was fantastic.

The food was always good and the staff friendly. There have been some complaints on here about the beech been covered by leaves but thats what you get in this location and its nature at its best.

We stayed in a junior beach suite which was perfect, leading straight onto the beach with a private beach area, alongside a plunge pool, outside lounge and decking area. The superior suites are double in size, but for 2 ours was perfect.

Hannes the manager was amazing and always made you feel at home

I will always recommend fundu to anyone looking for peace, quiet and seclusion

Room Tip: lots of mosquitoes so be prepared
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warrick_alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you for your review of Fundu Lagoon on Trip Advisor. I am so glad that you and your husband enjoyed staying with us at the start of your honeymoon recently. You both certainly seemed to have made the most of the amenities that we have on offer at the resort which is wonderful, and I’m delighted that you also enjoyed your junior suite with its private plunge pool, beach and decking area.

It’s so pleasing to read that you did your research on the area of Africa that you were visiting before you left the UK, and I appreciate your comments in understanding that our tidal location means that our beaches cannot be acres of pristine white sand. Your tip about the mosquitoes is also handy for other travellers to read. Although we are in a low risk malaria area the annoying mosquitoes refuse to move out, so as in most African countries, we all just have to deal with them as best we can.

Thank you for taking the time to write about Fundu – your comments are very much appreciated. Congratulations to you both on your recent marriage – Hannes and all of our staff and myself wish you a long and happy life together.


Ellis Flyte (Creative Director)
c.c. Hannes Wolters (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 328 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

The travel agent described Fundu Lagoon as shabby chic. Shabby yes chic not. The shabbiness begins at Pemba airport where we were picked up by an ancient mini van with a broken air conditioner and windows that would not open. We arrived feeling like baked lobsters. Maybe the hotel once was chic, but now is tired to the point of grotty. The public areas are dark and gloomy, even a bit spooky. There is no real beach. It's a mangrove swamp and the sea hopeless for swimming in. There is a very broad tidal range which means that the water is only a foot deep for several hundred meters when the tide is in, and then brackish and full of debris, when out the water is just too far away across slimy green shoals. The good beach with snorkelling is a 20 minute boat ride away and the hotel will charge a family of four $135 to make the trip. So think of this as a daily surcharge on your room rate. We were promised fishing but the one fishing boat was booked out for the entire week by an Italian. With the tidal situation wind surfing was impossible and if you want to sea kayak they have to take you out in a motor boat again charging heavily. The room, which was a safari tent, was also tired with poor quality towels and very shabby cushions. The mosquitos were horrific. Both my wife and I had to go onto antihistamines. On the small patch of white sand, between the mangroves, that serves as a beach, there are some battered sun loungers with torn and stained fabrics. Beach towels are not provided so you would not want to lie on them. The food and drinks were included in the room rate and though meals simple were surprisingly good and the cocktails and fresh fruit juices were good. The staff were really nice which I think was the big saving grace. We left after four days having booked and paid for seven. It was that bad. Now all the above would be fine in a 2 to 3 star back packer / soft adventure establishment paying say $80 a night. We were paying $870 per room per night. That hurt.

Room Tip: Don't go for the hill rooms, strictly beach only
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

I was disappointed to read your review of your stay at Fundu Lagoon. We are constantly working hard to upgrade the standard of taxi service that we are able to provide, and I have taken on board your comments about this.

With regards to the rest of your review, Fundu is clearly not for everyone, and we are very sad that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We hope that the remainder of your travels was more to your liking.

Ellis Flyte (Creative Director)
c.c. Hannes Wolters (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here for the 5 nights at the end of our honeymoon and it couldn't have been more perfect. The setting is truly amazing and the relaxed atmosphere means you settle in very quickly and start enjoying yourself. The staff are all wonderful, Hannes and Liz make sure that you are well looked after and Kris is a great diving instructor, especially seeing as it was my first ever dive. What is most important about Fundu is that nothing is forced, you do what you want, when you want which was most important. Our evenings at the bar will be remembered with great fondness, just be careful of the Hamaramarulas if Hannes tries to thrust one upon you!! Thank you so much for the most wonderful time and we will definitely be going back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicholson83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review of Fundu Lagoon. I am so pleased to hear that you both enjoyed your stay with us for the last 5 nights of your honeymoon. Your comments will be passed on to all of our staff who will be delighted to hear them.

Well done on completing your first ever dive – Kris is a brilliant instructor and you are in a very safe pair of hands with him by your side. I want all of my guests to feel that nothing is forced on them at Fundu, and it truly wonderful to read reviews where guests feel this and understand that they can just totally relax.

I did laugh out loud when I read the bit about Hannes getting you on the Hamarulas – it is one of his specialities!

Congratulations to you both on your recent marriage – have a long and happy life together, and come back and see us at any time – there’ll be a Hamarula waiting for you at the jetty bar!

Ellis Flyte (Creative Director)
c.c. Hannes Wolters (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Fundu Lagoon was fabulous. Having never been to an all inclusive beach place before, I was slightly nervous about the idea of a week here at the end of our honeymoon & safari, but after day one I couldn’t have wanted anything more than a week of the Lagoon relaxation on offer! The villas, communal areas, bars & restaurants were fantastic, and there were no crowds to avoid – just a small handful of other people. I love food and this place didn’t disappoint – there was always a variety of options and you don’t have to stick to the meal times if you don’t want to (in fact, make sure you miss the lunch in the restaurant at least once and have the burger/fish cakes at the pool bar!) Absolutely fantastic week here and Hannes & the staff were so friendly and the atmosphere so relaxed. You definitely get what you pay for! This is one of the few places in the world that I’d love to return to one day. Just for those Bloody Marys made from fresh tomatos! Lovely lovely place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraonHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you so much for your very kind comments on your recent stay at Fundu Lagoon. I think you should definitely pop back for a fresh tomato Bloody Mary; sounds like a great plan!

Hannes, Liz and all of our staff will be delighted to read your kind comments about them. Many congratulations on your recent marriage – have a long and happy life together and we’d all love to welcome you both back at some time in the future.

Ellis Flyte (Creative Director)
c.c. Hannes Wolters (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Fundu Lagoon strikes the perfect balance between rustic simplicity and indulgent luxury. I didn’t wear a pair of shoes or flip flop from the moment I arrived. The paths around the resort are covered in white sand with little troughs of water to wash your feet when you enter the main areas. The accommodation is beautiful! Yes, they’re tents and fairly simple but it’s the simplicity that makes them so special. You still have all the mod cons you need including fans, mini bar, electric sockets, proper bathroom fittings and toiletries, as well as surprising extras such as insect repellent and sachets of washing powder! If you can, then stay in a superior suite. They are very private, enormous and have the most incredible view. There’s direct access to the beach with your own sun loungers down there, a refreshing plunge pool and so many seating areas you won’t get to use them all. You can also order food and drinks to the room meaning you don’t have to leave all day.

The main restaurant is a little dark but this means it is cooling in the midday heat and atmospheric at night. The main pool is beautiful and on 2 of the few occasions we went up we were the only people there, despite the resort being full. The food is excellent, especially given the very remote location of the resort. They have to contend with late or missing orders but if that happened during our stay then we were totally oblivious. The Swahili dishes are particularly good (as you’d expect) as is everything on the breakfast menu. I have been craving one of the pool bar’s club sandwiches for days!

There is a lot to do (we didn’t do everything and we were there for 9 days). The diving is fantastic and Kris and Filbert are so hospitable and infectiously cheerful! They take very good care of you, whether you’re an experienced diver or a complete newbie. All of the dive sites are off a small local island which is worth visiting for the day even if you don’t dive. It’s a picture post card tropical island – blue sky, blue sea, white sand, very private. If you’re lucky like we were then you can lie in the sun and watch the whales. Very surreal. There’s also access to kayaks and windsurfs from the dive centre (if you know how to windsurf) as well as dolphin safaris, kayak tours, visits to the local village and motor boat sports.

One of the best things about Fundu Lagoon, however, is the staff. Liz and Hannes are exceptional hosts –friendly, considerate and great fun. But all the staff we got to know over our stay were amazing. Dancing on the bar with MT and Nelson is a particular highlight and Ninja’s special cocktail was definitely my favourite.

We had the most romantic, fun and memorable honeymoon at Fundu Lagoon. It exceeded all expectations and we will definitely try to go back for an anniversary!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Archie3813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

How very kind of you to write such a lovely review of your recent stay at Fundu Lagoon. I’m glad that you felt that Fundu is such a special place, it was wonderful to read that you liked the design and overall feel of the resort – that is a very high compliment indeed.

I’ll make sure that you kind comments about our food is passed back to our chefs – they will be particularly amused to hear the bit about you craving one of the pool bar’s Club Sandwiches! Reading your review you both certainly seemed to have done your utmost to do everything during your 9 day stay, and I’m glad that you enjoyed your diving expeditions. We are extremely fortunate in that we are surrounded by the most spectacular underwater wildlife, and Kris and Filbert are indeed very hospitable and permanently cheerful.

Your paragraph about our staff is so, so appreciated. Hannes and Liz will make sure that your kind comments are passed on to them. By the sound of things I clearly just missed out on a good night of dancing on the jetty bar before I flew in on the 29th! I’ve not tried a Ninja special cocktail yet, but there’s always tomorrow …..

We will all look forward to welcoming you back to Fundu on an anniversary at some time in the future. In the meantime, many congratulations on your recent marriage – have a long and happy life together.

Ellis Flyte (Creative Director)
c.c. Hannes Wolters (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Arriving at Fundu Lagoon by the sea is really one of the greatest memories of travel I will keep and cherish. You have a beautiful 30 minutes trip by plane from Zanzibar airport, followed by a one hour tour of the island by car, and a 30 minutes boat ride before you reach the resort. It's all worth the while. The place is so secluded that you feel at the end of the world. It's almost overwhelming.

Fundu Lagoon is an eco-lodge, which means that you sleep in luxury tents (with a wooden structure, well-equipped bathroom with warm water), in the jungle. Really close to nature. You access the rooms through a sandy path. You can walk barefoot all around the resort. There are very few rooms - 18.

If you go to the swimming pool in the afternoon you will cross the path of monkeys, many of them gathering there to play, fight or clean each other. Sometimes, you will wake up in the morning and meet one sitting on your front porch. They are very fun to watch. But you don't want to leave your tent open when you're not there, otherwise as the manager puts it they will go straight into it and you won't have a room anymore.

There are really not much things to do at Fundu Lagoon, although there is an active diving center, that can drive you to the very nice Misali Island for diving or snorkeling. You can also go Dolphin hunting, but frankly I wouldn't recommend it, especially if you are with children and/or a sensitive back. The boat is small, going full speed all the while, with huge bumps and no safety jackets. There is a fishing trip, but it is really expensive - 400 dollars - and you have to be at the right time of the year. We didn't try the kayak in the Mangrove trip, but it should be nice.

This lack of activities is something that really needs to be worked on. A good thing would be to allow clients to go and visit Pemba, by bicycles for instance, visit the cloves plantations, have trips on the island. There are many things to do on the island, especially since tourism is not too developped yet.

Also to be seriously worked on : the decor and the food. The bar is great but the restaurant is really sad, all in dark wood. It would really need to be refreshed, enlighted, modernized.

The food is a real disappointment at Fundu Lagoon. Although Pemba is well-known for its fishing sector, and tanzanian ways of accommodating fish are numerous, we didn't manage to eat a single grilled fish during our stay at Fundu Lagoon. The meals are too complicated, too heavy with sauce, with - strangely enough - a lot of meat. The best cuisine is served by the pool, where you could have a very decent club sandwich with french fries for lunch. It's really not up to the level of a resort of that category.

Open the resort to the outside world (the rest of Pemba) and put a real chef in the kitchen, and you should have a truly unique place to stay in.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Voyageurromantique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you for your review of Fundu Lagoon. I am somewhat puzzled by your comments about there being a lack of activities to do at Fundu Lagoon. In every bungalow there is a brochure put together by myself outlining the large variety of activities that we have on offer at the resort, and most of our guests find it hard to get through the list during their stay with us. We already have village walks, clove plantation visits and trips to other parts of the island available, and even if you didn’t notice the brochure, our reception staff are fully au fait with what is on offer, and could have helped you out had they been asked. I’m afraid that our surrounding terrain is simply not suitable for any bicycling activities.

All fishing expeditions are indeed chargeable – we do our best to keep down our costs as much as possible, but given our location and the costs of fuel and maintaining the boats, it is impossible to bring down those costs any further in the current climate. Life jackets should be on board at all times, and I will look into why this was not the case when you went out. Fundu Lagoon is not a resort that is really suitable for children which is why we have in place a rule that no children under 12 are admitted, so the boating activities are intentionally geared to adults’ tastes. Fish is always available on the menu every day at Fundu, and our chefs are very inventive and are always coming up with new ideas and sauces. If any of our guests don’t want to have sauce with a fish or meat dish, they only have to ask the restaurant staff and their request will be carried out. I am glad that you enjoyed the cuisine on offer up at the pool restaurant though.

The dark wood furnishings of Fundu Lagoon are totally intentional and I feel we are so fortunate to be able to get such beautifully grained hardwood over in Africa that is hard to source in Europe. In the meantime we are waiting for new lighting to arrive which will enhance and brighten up the restaurant area.

Feedback from our clients is important to us, so thank you for taking the time and trouble to write your review.

Ellis Flyte (Creative Director)
c.c. Hannes Wolters (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

1. Booking - When I first made enquiries about Fundu Lagoon I was contacted immediately by Rose and given detailed and concise information about prices, services etc. Rose took care to ensure that all our personal details and dietary requirements were correct and always responded to any questions that I had.

2. Location - As a long term East-Africa resident, I have seen literally dozens of lodges, camps and hotels in Tanzania and Kenya. As far as location is concerned, I find it difficult to imagine anywhere better than Fundu Lagoon. The place was simply stunning. Our initial reaction was that the buildings blended in perfectly with the natural environment. I was greatly impressed to visit a resort where creating harmony between the buildings and the surrounding ecosystem was not simply an afterthought. The designers of Fundu Lagoon should be very proud of what they have created.

3. Facilities - Our room could not have been more perfect. The design of the interior and outdoor areas was excellent and everything felt well laid out and spacious. All the fixtures and fittings worked perfectly and the furniture was functional and stylish. All the small details that often get overlooked in even the best of places were paid attention to at Fundu Lagoon, right down to the quality of the shower gels, shampoo etc. We could not have been happier. All the common areas and bars were as chic and functional as the accommodation. The views of the ocean and the forest were simply stunning.

4. Staff - Over all, the performance of the management and staff at Fundu was exceptional. There was clearly an atmosphere of mutual respect between Hannes and his staff. Immediately upon arriving we felt warmly welcome and comfortable. As a manager and host, Hannes was extremely friendly but not overbearing. We enjoyed his company enormously. All the bar staff, waiters and house keepers that we had contact with were extremely competent and friendly. The kitchen team are clearly talented and well trained and it was very obvious that the behind the scenes operations were functioning very smoothly. It was also a pleasure to meet Chris and chat to him briefly at the bar, he came across as friendly and passionate about his work and had there been time, we definitely would have gone diving with him. The Balinese ladies running the spa were wonderful. The quality of the treatments offered and the oils and product they used during them was excellent. The skill and professionalism of the two ladies was faultless.

5. Food and Drinks - The food was delicious and every meal exceeded our expectation. There was a great variety of dishes on offer and all of them that we tried were very well executed. The seafood in particular was prepared perfectly. The desserts were creative and cleverly prepared and presented. The bar was stocked with premium spirits and the wine was well chosen and matched with the meals.

Room Tip: The Superior Suites are beautiful and great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTanz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

How very kind and thoughtful of you to write such a charming review of Fundu Lagoon. As you are long-term residents of East Africa it means a lot to read that you both understood our commitment to the ecological, environmental and social responsibility that we have towards our surroundings. We do make every effort to work in harmony and tandem with the local villages, jungle landscape and wildlife.

Thank you also for your comments about our menus and the standard of food available at Fundu. It is really helpful to us to hear how much you enjoyed the cuisine on offer at the hotel. I will make sure that your kind comments about our masseuses and staff are passed on to them. Hannes is indeed the perfect manager, and he does have a wonderful rapport with our staff right across the board, and Kris is very passionate about his diving responsibilities. Hopefully you’ll be able to pop back for another visit at some time in the future and go diving then.

I was particularly thrilled to read your review about the design of Fundu Lagoon, as this area is my speciality. It is wonderful that you both noticed the little nuances and details at the hotel.

Feedback from our clients is always important to us, so thank you again for taking the trouble and time to write – it is much appreciated.

Ellis Flyte (Creative Director)
c.c. Hannes Wolters (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pemba Island hotels
12.6 mi away
Pemba Lodge
Pemba Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kiweni (Shamiani)
95 reviews
8 mi away
Hotel Archipelago
Hotel Archipelago
#4 of 6 in Pemba Island
24 reviews
0 mi away
Pemba Crown Hotel
Pemba Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wete
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.9 mi away
The Aiyana
The Aiyana
#1 of 7 in Pemba Island
132 reviews
25.5 mi away
Gecko Nature Lodge
Gecko Nature Lodge
#1 of 4 in Pemba Island
203 reviews
9.9 mi away
Emerald Bay Resort
Emerald Bay Resort
#2 of 7 in Pemba Island
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fundu Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fundu Lagoon

Address: Wambaa Peninsula, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Pemba Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pemba Island
Price Range: $732 - $956 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fundu Lagoon 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fundu Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fundu Lagoon Pemba Island
Fundu Lagoon Hotel Pemba Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing