We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our night in Pemba, unforgetable!”
Review of Emerald Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Emerald Bay Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Pemba Island B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We met Ahmed at Pemba port. He took us to this wonderful place, in a little village, Chokocho...The sunset was coming into us, and the full moon could be seen on the sky. Excellent dinner on the top roof, under the sky full of stars. The three of us, were delighted by the staff politeness and excellent service.
Nobody should miss the opportunity to visit this cosy hotel. Clean, tidy, greatly decorated. A place to feel yourself safe and cared for.
Go, and relax there. You will never regret it!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VictoriaF194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raffaele s, Proprietario at Emerald Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Sincerely thank you for your stay at our resort!
We hope to spend many other unforgettable days together

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 56 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

Right from being picked up from the airport by Ahmed who works at Emerald Bay, our stay here was simply unforgettable. Ahmed's constant smile and good humour instantly helped us feel welcome - he helpfully answered our questions about Pemba, it's culture, history and politics, and gave us an impromptu mini spice tour of our own on the way to Emerald Bay.

The resort is small (a good thing) and beautifully designed. It is incredibly peaceful - surrounded by fertile farmland, you can feel close to nature here and when darkness falls, it almost feels like you are the only people on the whole island - there is literally nothing all around. Again, a very good thing!

The food was fantastic - beautiful, freshly baked bread everyday, and fresh seafood and sometimes meats. The staff are all so helpful, speak good English, and always smiling. The resident manager, Mohamed, is a beautiful, gentle being and again, always there to help or answer any questions. They are also great at helping to decide what trips to make (to closeby islands for snorkelling for example) and helping you plan your day the evening before. There is a complimentary boat trip included each day to the sandback - only at lowtide can this incredible natural spectacle be experienced. The seas around Emerald Bay, and also around the other islands we visited (Misali and Shamiani Islands) are the most stunning seas I have ever seen in my life. Simply breathtaking.

We had been on Nungwi Beach for two weeks in Zanzibar and then came to Emerald Bay for a week. The difference between the two is massive - whereas Zanzibar is used to tourism and Westerners, Pemba is not. To me, Pemba is a place to be peaceful, still and quiet. If you are looking for bars, clubs, and all western mod-cons, best stick to Zanzibar.

My request to anyone going is to please respect the local culture there - it is important for women to cover their bodies when going anywhere outside of Emerald Bay such as towns or to and from day trips. It is important to understand that tourism is a relatively new concept in Pemba and that you can't go into town wearing a bikini top or showing your belly (as I saw one tourist doing). The locals are fearful of change to their peaceful island and whatever our views of their culture, we must remember that we are guests on their island and must respect their ways.

I would definitely go back to Emerald Bay and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobu-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

A different way to think about a sea holiday and not only a sea experience.
The island is beautiful and the time spent was definitely exciting.
Emerald Bay Resort is the best place to melt nature, relax and the unbelievable colours of the Indian Ocean.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francesca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Raffaella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CINZIA-MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: non posso dare consigli: la mia stanza era ottima
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank studiopacilio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: ottima vista dalle camere ad angolo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fferri2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pemba Island hotels
5.9 mi away
Pemba Lodge
Pemba Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kiweni (Shamiani)
94 reviews
15.5 mi away
Hotel Archipelago
Hotel Archipelago
#4 of 6 in Pemba Island
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pemba Crown Hotel
Pemba Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wete
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.8 mi away
The Aiyana
The Aiyana
#1 of 7 in Pemba Island
126 reviews
35.4 mi away
Gecko Nature Lodge
Gecko Nature Lodge
#1 of 4 in Pemba Island
200 reviews
4.7 mi away
Zanzibar Ocean Panorama Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Bay Resort

Address: Chokocho Village, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Pemba Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Pemba Island
Price Range: $197 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Emerald Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing