We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in the beehives! Amazing experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Stay in the beehives! Amazing experience!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed in one of the traditional beehive huts. It was fantastic! It was raining and quite cool when we visited, but the beehive kept the warmth all night long. The surroundings are fantastic, having breakfast overlooking the hippo pool (although we only saw the crocodiles) and hanging out with pumbas and nyalas on the premisses. The buffet at the restaurant was very good, complete with soup, main courses and dessert. I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Stay in the beehives!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CeciliaSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    167
    65
    7
    8
See reviews for
105
190
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

To avoid at all, the staff is very unfriendly, unpolite and not usefull at all. The guy who was supposed to accompay us to our rooms refused since it was raining. We got stuck for two hours since the credit card was not working and we proposed them several options (euro, charge on the credit card and others), but they refused and we had to drive 20 minutes far to withdraw the money from atm.they have no idea how to deal with customers.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Giulio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoogkarspl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We booked ourselves for E nights at mlilwane because of the beehives. These turned out to be a good choice. Big huts with good sanitation for a reasonable rate.
For diner and breakfast you have to go to the one and only resaurant in the neighboorhood were both were served as buffet. Quality is good but not excellent. Price is, probably due their monopoly, a 20 to 40% overrated compared to south africa. shop prices are normal.

The following for us was mountainbiking. Very nice surounding at mlilwane but again overrated. 120 rand per hour while we rented them at other places for 150 to 200 rand per day.
Bikes cost new about 7000 rand! Prices can be explaned when goog maintained but the quality is verry bad. Shifters dont work properly. Sprockets where worn out. grease or oil are never used.

Average for cycling at mlilwane i assume is about 2 hours. Therefore you can get a map but ofcourse you have to pay 25 rand. You can better ask for for a guide. they cost only 10rand per cyclist per hour. Those guys must feel worthless while they then also occupy a bike (worth 120rand)

The second day we decided to go off the wildpark. We booked therefore a tour with swazitrails. About 10km from the main camp. They offer very nice tours. (Caving, rafting....)Most accomodations have leaflets from those like operators but mlilwane dont, they only promote their own activities.
To book this we needed the WIFI from Mlilwane. Again they charge for this. only 1rand per minute but not verry common anymore these days.
We asked the reception also to make a phonecall to the tour operator but again they had to charge 10rand per minute for this. Most receptions happily cooperate. Possitive was that the lady mentiond to call via the public phone.

the rates are not sky high but where at leat just annoying. We had a nice stay in the beebives but when you dont like hiking and you are not able to initiate your own tours or able to go outside the park then you are catured in mlilwane as long as your stay and you dont really see swaziland

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arjan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have stayed at Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctury for only one night. I had booked for two nights, but the place was in terrible conditions. The staff at the reception was extremly unfriendly. The restaurant inside will definitly need a good cleaning. Breakfast was outside, with temperatures around 10 degrees. Food quality was well below average. Room was not clean.
I have left this place after breakfast and was extemly disappointed.
So far I have only written very good reviews for other places on tripadvisor, but looking back there is nothing which I enjoyed at this place.

I cannot recommand this place. Avoid.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heiko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigGameParksSD, General Manager at Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary was established almost 50 years ago and is well known for our unique accommodation options aimed at providing outstanding value for money. Our Beehive Units are a fascinating place to stay, structured in the traditional Swazi manner out of thatching grass in the iconic beehive shape. Inevitably, they are not as spotless as conventional hotel rooms, but they are cleaned each day with great care. The Rest Camp Huts which you chose as an alternative to your original pre-booking are almost 50 years old, but are also cleaned daily and remain the unpretentious lodging, designed with simplicity and with a traditional safari theme - also not a traditional hotel style. The Hippo Haunt restaurant interior remains cleaned on a daily basis too, but we are renovating the deck section adjacent to it and there is a chance the building material does make its way in. I am disappointed you felt the food quality to be below par, it is an area we pride ourselves in, serving venison as well as more conventional meals to groups as well as to independent travelers - any additional feedback would be most welcome. Smiling, friendly and helpful Swazi staff are often a hallmark of an experience at Mlilwane and we will continue to strive to deliver on that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

After a long day driving from Durban to Maputo, we finally had a rest in Swaziland where we spent the night at Miliwane and its a very beautiful place, all the rooms are thatched huts and for the location and theme if I may call it, I give Miliwane a very HIGH FIVE . Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1st_Zulu_Safaris_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The beehive huts were one of our holiday highlights - they look small but ours easily fitted the double bed and two singles with loads of room to spare. The bathroom 'hut' attached was comfortable and the shower was hot.

The surroundings are lovely - it was so nice to see the baby Nylala and the Warthogs just roaming around. The staff at the park are friendly and helpful - Stewy and Valentine were great fun!!!

Just a small piece of advice - the huts are not in the slightest bit soundproofed, so you could hear people chatting in the next hut easily, as well as doing other things that you really don't want to be hearing, particularly at 6.30am!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahv70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was an amazing experience staying in these accommodation facilities, quite unique and has all the modern conditions to make your stay comfortable. From the outside it looked like a small place and when you enter through the very small doorway, you got a surprise.

Room Tip: I think all rooms were excellent, great experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Masons_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary
3.6 mi away
Mantenga Lodge
Mantenga Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ezulwini
688 reviews
6.2 mi away
Summerfield Botanical Garden
5.8 mi away
Lugogo Sun
Lugogo Sun
#4 of 6 in Ezulwini
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 3 in Mbabane
313 reviews
10.3 mi away
Foresters Arms
Foresters Arms
#1 of 3 in Mbabane
462 reviews
6.0 mi away
Royal Swazi Spa
Royal Swazi Spa
#2 of 6 in Ezulwini
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary

Property: Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary
Address: Lobamba Road, Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary, Swaziland
Location: Swaziland > Manzini District > Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary is Swaziland's pioneer conservation area and a beautiful, secluded sanctuary situated in the Kingdom's Ezulwini Valley, 'Valley of Heavens'. Located between Mbabane and Manzini, 24hr gate access is offered to the Sanctuary enabling guests to enjoy the neighbouring tourist hubs of Ezulwini and Malkerns with their many unique attractions and craft shops. The name 'Mlilwane' ('Little Fire' in siSwati) was derived from the numerous fires started by lightening strikes on the Mlilwane Hill but now holds significance as the little fire that started a big conservation movement in Swaziland resulting in the saving of over 22 species from local extinction across the three reserves. The Sanctuary covers 4,560 hectares and comprises of a southern and northern section. The southern section's grassland plains stretch up to the striking Nyonyane Mountain with its exposed granite peak known as the 'Rock of Execution'. All of Mlilwane's accommodation, dining and activity options are concentrated in this southern section of the park, with the exception of guided trails which enter the pristine northern section. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing