We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great break from technology”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stone Camp in Mkhaya Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great break from technology”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed at the Mkhaya game reserve in February of this year. It was a great place - very in touch with nature. The lodges were comfortable with running water - but be prepared for no electricity. Make sure your camera batteries are charged before you get there. No need to charge phones - there is no service.

You definintely need to be comfortable with nature. One of our friends had a rhino outside his front door in the morning. There were bats in our hut (all is outdoor) - but we were pretected by mosquito nets.

The 'all inclusive' food was great - i had never tried impala or nyala before, and they were great. It was quite an experience to have warthogs and nyalas wandering around while we ate.

The game reserve was large with lots to see, we were even able to get out and do walking safaris around the rhinos - capturing a rare sighting of black and white rhino together. The only thing missing was the cats... no lions or cheetah. Rumor has it there are a couple of Leopards, but I think they are rarely spotted (pun intended).

Room Tip: Try to request a room on the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 4inAffairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    28
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
34
83
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed here for one night in January 2008 and it remains a most treasured memory.
There were negatives to staying here but they are insignificant to the experience as a whole which was amazing.

We found the meeting point easily enough and parked up to wait for the transport to take us into the reserve.

After the morning game drive and lunch it became apparent that we were to be the only guests that evening so we would have the afternoon drive and the whole camp to ourselves which made it that extra bit special. On the drive we had a very close encounter with a curious elephant which came (too) close to sniff us and also saw eland, sable antelope and rhino.

As there was just the two of us the evening dancing at dinner was cancelled but the setting was glorious...at the side of the dry river bed with the warmth and light from the boma and the music provided by the sound of the insects and wildlife – it was just perfect. The food itself was unremarkable and the service was haphazard, for example we had a choice of pork or lamb, we both chose pork, we both got lamb...

The Stone Camp rondavels are fantastic. They are quite beautiful and although open feel quite private. They were clean and the staff arranged the mosquito nets over the bed in the evening. The bed was big but felt and smelled a bit damp and we did feel cold in the night.

It’s hard to criticise as the place itself is a gem and the work they do is important but it is expensive and with that comes certain expectations and standards which were not fulfilled. However overall I loved this place and would wholeheartedly recommend it to people for a night to remember.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tululah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

I loved the circular stone rooms, open to the night air. It was so unique and neat. Loved the safari's. Not too fussy about the root veggies with the meal.... but everything else was great. It was amazing to be so close to nature.
I would love to go back!!! And would recommend Mkhaya to anyone and everyone!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jayla78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

This is the highlight of our experience in Swaziland. The rooms are all like bungalows in the middle of the forest, there is no electricity and the experience is incredible. At night you feel the forest around you, you are waken up by the birds. All of that in a very clean environment, a group of girls are cleaning and cooking in an excellent manner, you can eeat by the fireplace. It is a magic and unique experience. It is a bit pricey but it is worth all of them as you will remember it for long time.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank valib22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mkhaya Game Reserve
23.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 3 in Manzini
105 reviews
20.4 mi away
Nkonyeni Lodge & Golf Estate Hotel
0.0 mi away
Reilly's Rock Hilltop Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Swazi Village Home Stay
Swazi Village Home Stay
#1 of 11 in Manzini
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hlane Royal National Park - Caravan Park
Hlane Royal National Park - Cara...
#4 of 4 in Hlane Royal National Park
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Emafini Country Lodge
Emafini Country Lodge
#3 of 11 in Mbabane
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Camp in Mkhaya Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Camp in Mkhaya Game Reserve

Property: Stone Camp in Mkhaya Game Reserve
Address: Phuzamoya, Mkhaya Game Reserve, Swaziland
Location: Swaziland > Lubombo District > Mkhaya Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mkhaya Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stone Camp in Mkhaya Game Reserve 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and South African Hotels so you can book your Stone Camp in Mkhaya Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing