We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful week” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port St Johns
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port St Johns
Certificate of Excellence
Abqaiq
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

My wife and I and our 3 1/2 year old daughter had a wonderful relaxing time at Umngazi, meeting friendly guests and staff. What a spectacular location! We can well understand why people keep coming back here year after year.
Thank you so much.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Baqiaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Umngazi Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this kind review, it was very satisfying to read that the Team had ensured your holiday was a memorable one for the whole family. Our hope is that you will be one of the families to be returning year after year as well!

Until we see you again we wish you all the very best for 2014.

Kind regards,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    191
    51
    8
    6
See reviews for
414
403
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

We had an unforgettable 4 days at Umngazi last October: we got married there and were pampered and looked after by everyone. Food is very good, and the fish platter on our wedding night was unbelievable. The girls at the Spa were fantastic (prepping me on the big day), and Michele, manager, witness & photographer had every little detail in mind.
The honeymoon bungalow is so romantic, we even enjoyed an afternoon at the fireplace with a bottle of bubblies, while wale-watching from our terrace.
Thank you for everything, it was the perfect wedding for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaskiaVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Saskia,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this kind review, it was very special to have you stay with us and to share this wonderful event. I have of course shared your review with the team and Michele who were only to happy to make this day the most memorable one for you both.

I do hope we get to welcome you back here sometime soon, until then we wish you all the very best together.

Kind regards,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Rock, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

We had a wonderful week in January and have booked again for 2015, the staff were wonderful the food was excellent and the booze was cheap! I would highly recommend this lodge as a family destination , they are so organized and accomodating for kids and the nannies are great .
My only disappointment was the spa , I felt that the therapists weren't good enough for the standard of the lodge .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn & George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Robyn & George,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this kind review. We really do try and make sure that we are everything to everyone in the family so it was great to read the family was well taken care of. I was of course disappointed to read about your Spa experience as this is an area where we have had great success and normally superb feedback.

We will be in contact with you in this regard to find out were we were let down. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you once again for your feedback.

Best wishes,

Graham

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

The new décor both in the lounge, dining room and chalets was delightful.
There was a very strong smell of urine in the bathroom.
Could be mould as the bathrooms have not been upgraded since our last visit.
Or they need to be cleaned more thoroughly.
Service was good until Thursday and Friday where it was slow.
Wondered if the staff were tired.
It had been exceedingly hot.
The road surface needs to be repaired as a matter of urgency.
Not a good advertisement to foreign tourists arriving at the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Hilary,

Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review, I appreciate your feedback. Please be assured that all the points of concern have been addressed with the Team and attended to including the road which is ongoing unfortunately.

I do hope we get to welcome you back again soon.

Best wishes,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Forget the outside world once you´ve arrived at Umngazi. Located directly on the river mouth & coast you´ll be treated with beautiful views and plenty of activities. Perfect for every type of guest although I can imagine that it can get very full with children during the south african vacation period so be aware of that. we stayed in the honeymoon bungalow as we wanted to be in the area where no children are allowed, which proved trustworthy. It was a very nice room with a great deck for reading and watching the waves crash on the shore. the only complaint i had was that our room smelled a bit musty as if there wasn´t proper ventilation & light getting to the room. Overall though, we had an amazing time - great food, pool, and the spa...amazing!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank cjdisano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Umngazi Guest,

Thank you so much for the kind review your time to give comment is greatly appreciated. I am glad to appreciated everything that this beautiful part of the world, The Wild Coast, has to offer, it truly is very special and we of course appreciate the journey you took to visit us here.

I do hope we get to welcome you back again soon, thank you for choosing Umngazi.

Best wishes,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Umgazi river bungalows ..and was very disappointed at the staff ..standing around ..completely disinterested in the guests ..had to often ask for service .. managers ans staff promptly sir down at their own table ..smack bang as soon as guests sit down ..this should be a time whene managers make sure guests are enjoying their food ..if there is anything they or staff members can do to make your meal and experience better..but no ..backs turned to guests ad if they themselves were on holiday and not to be disturbed ...the poor service despite the absolute beauty of the facility is in need of urgent attention and stronger management skills indeed..kids screaming in the adults dinner sit downs was not encouraged by the lodge but was a constant irritation and once again ..disappointing

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Kyle,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, your comments and feedback are important to me and of course the Umngazi Team.

I was very concerned to read what you had to say about the overall service and especially the fact that the management team was not present, as to say, is not acceptable and has already been addressed by myself.

I do sincerely apologise for the lapse in service during your nights stay with us, and can assure you it is not the standard we pride ourselves in! I do hope we get the opportunity of welcoming you back again, and would appreciate you letting me know directly when and if you do.

Thank you once again for making me aware of this.

Kind regards,

Graham

Graham Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

I spent three years growing up on the resort in the 90's, was beautiful then and is still now, if not better. Took my wife up to Transkei for our honeymoon and we spent a week at Umngazi in October 2013, was totally relaxing.

We booked the Honeymoon suite and thanks to the amazing management team, were upgraded to the Ntabeni Suite.
This suite was awesome, with a Spa bath, both indoor and outdoor showers, and beautiful panoramic views of the lagoon and sea.

We were spoilt by the entire team and even though my wife fell ill during our stay which put a damper on the overall experience, we couldn't fault this place. (Tip: don't drink the water from the taps, not even to brush your teeth). The management were so helpful with regards to medication and the entire team seemed to care about my wife's well being.

The food was good and lots of variety, a bit too much to eat though so go for smaller portions per sitting.

Cocktails was very good with a full size Billiards table in the bar.

Lots of activities to do and keep you busy, Spa and horse back riding is a must.

There is a curio shop at the resort which has pretty much everything at a very good price, bought fishing gear and caught 3 fish :-)

The honeymoon package is really worth it, lots of goodies. We received a platter every single evening and water as well.

This place is beautiful and so are the staff, can't think of a better getaway whereby you can have the best of both worlds, luxury and nature.

Definitely a little bit of heaven on earth.

Room Tip: Ntabeni suite is first prize, if not get a sea facing room. Make sure to use the Peaceful Sleep spra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aries_Globe_Trotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Andrew,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this kind review, it was great to welcome you back after being away from Umngazi for so many years, I hope it did bring back many happy memories for you and of course created many more new ones!

It was so pleasing to read that the Team look after you both, you mentioned the quantity of food, remember you don't have to eat it all:) I do hope we get to welcome you both back again soon.

Until then we wish you all the happiness together.

Best wishes,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port St Johns
4.3 mi away
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
#1 of 14 in Port St Johns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Lodge on the Beach
The Lodge on the Beach
#5 of 8 in Port St Johns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
22.2 mi away
Swell Eco Lodge
Swell Eco Lodge
#1 of 3 in Mdumbi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
#4 of 14 in Port St Johns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
3.9 mi away
Delicious Monster Retreat
Delicious Monster Retreat
#6 of 14 in Port St Johns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
6.8 mi away
N`taba River Lodge cc
N`taba River Lodge cc
#2 of 14 in Port St Johns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa

Property: Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa
Address: i, Port St Johns, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port St Johns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port St Johns
Hotel Class:4 star — Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the Wild Coast, in the heart of Pondoland, and encompassed by a rocky coastline, indigenous forests, secluded coves and breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean, lies the award winning Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa - an award winning family resort & spa. The thatch-roofed bungalows are situated amongst the indigenous gardens which provide the perfect setting for a totally relaxed holiday. Weekly fly-in packages are available Friday to Friday from Durban where you fly at 500 feet above sea level along the beautiful coastline - a wonderful way to start your holiday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Umngazi River Bungalows Hotel Port St Johns
Umngazi River Hotel
Umngazi River Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing