We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax in natural beauty”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port St Johns
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port St Johns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2011

My SthAfrican partner has been staying at Umngazi since he was a small boy in the 60s and has returned many times since with his own children for family holidays. So when we travelled to Sth Africa from Australia in January he was very keen to return to Umngazi after ten years away. I was not entirely convinced given it sounded like such a family oriented place and my preference was for a romantic beach break!

To my pleasant surprise, Umngazi caters for all! The location is truly amazing - a place of truly unspoiled and unique natural beauty. Loads of great activities if u are up for it - the guided walks are fabulous and the local guides incredibly knowledgeable. The fishing is great and hiring a boat and guide well worthwhile. Most memorable was the pair of us jumping into the river at its mouth and floating with the tide on a huge palm frond all the way back up the river to the hotel.

Rooms delightful. Clean and charming. Outdoor shower is magic.

As other reviewers say, not for foodies (which we tend to be) but food is ok and other aspects of your stay well make up for this.

Great service from local staff... First night in the dining room, an elderly staff member came up to my partner and called him by name. She had apparently been his nanny at the hotel over 40 years ago and had seen him from time to time over the years and still remembered him!! Truly amazing. Brought a tear to the eye!!

Magical place. Long way from Oz but we will definitely be back.

PS don't miss the double massage at the spa!!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaunandmargie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, your comments and feedback are incredibly important to me and the team. It was great to share in your partners memories of Umngazi and that you both enjoyed reliving those fun times! I am sure the lady in the diningroom you have mentioned is Joyce as she remembers many of the guests that return to show off their Umngazi to family and friends. I think many people return thinking it has changed and are pleasantly suprised that the Umngazi of old is still here.

I do hope we get the opportunity of welcoming you both back in the not to distant future.

Best wishes,

Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,034)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

971 - 977 of 1,034 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2011

I proposed to my girlfriend one late evening after our couples massage and bathing ritual on the deck with the ocean in the background. Could not have asked for a better stage. The views from the Spa are awe inspiring!!! The hotel and grounds are immaculate with thatch upgrades being done at the time of our stay. The staff are extremely welcoming and friendly and the array of food on display each day is more than satisfying. Take a trip on the river and see the native Fish Eagle in it's original habitat and do the 5 shots to get your name on the wall of fame but I warn you, your liver will hate you afterwards but definately worth it. Thank you Umngazi for a spectacular engagement weekend. We will be back soon.

Room Tip: The hotel is very child friendly so if you are wanting a quiet time alone then book sea view or even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skaddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2011

Thank you so much for your kind review of Umngazi. Congratulations again on your engagement and we look forward to welcoming you back to Umngazi as either Mr & Mrs or Mr & Mrs and family! All the very best.

Kind regards,

Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

An amazing, beautiful place to relax. The bungalow was very well outfitted and decorated with exquisite taste, the bed very comfy. I regretted the lack of air conditioning because it was really hot and the fan was making some noise. Our bungalow was a bit far out -- the advantage was we had the most beautiful view and some quiet, with an adorable breakfast room right nearby, but the drawback was that we were far from the reception when problems needed to be resolved -- and we wondered whether it was completely safe. It is true there was no TV in the bungalow --that would be a problem for me after a couple of days, but wasn't while we were there.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ploumParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2010

Umngazi's ability to deliver quality combined with remote rural location is to be admired. Our grateful thanks for another quality stay. Just a pity about the long-term impact of the dune mining in the surrounds.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobMoffett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

When my partner and I toured South Africa, this place was a welcome oasis of tranquility during a very exhausting three week road trip. I recommend to arrive early enough to enjoy the daily sundowner curise on the quaint river in front of the resort.

When planning a tour through the country, Port St. Johns may seem like a very remote location (true), but getting there is already half the fun of staying there, the reward waiting for you will be very welcome.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LeoRaeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

we stayed there for 2 nights; the resort is a quite hideaway on a river mouth very close to the beach (the whole day, a boat brings you to the beach, takes 2 min). spacious, clean and tastefully decorated huts (african style with thatch roof), open air shower, good matresses. the complex is very well maintained and clean. you have an outside pool, 2 playgrounds, an adult lounge (which means no kids, a lovely small house with beautiful colourful furniture, where you can read a book or relax when it's bad weather).
this is a family resort, but as a couple without kids, you will love it anyhow.
very good value for money; 3 meals included in the price, which is of very good quality (buffet). you can sit outside or in the really pretty african style dining room.
beach is awesome and there a huge dunes between the river and the sea.
the approach from the main road takes about 15-20 min and is a little bit bumpy due to some potholes, and there are a lot of caprines on the road (which is nothing special at the wild coast).
you can book river view or sea view - the sea view are not much more expensive and you are def. more quite because they are in the quite back area (which means no restaurant, pool or playground close to accomodation).
in the evening, there is an african concert of crickets and frogs which comes from the other side of the river, which is awsome.
I think regarding the quality of the place and the fact that you get a lot of good food, this is excellent value for money. you can have canoes for free, they have a sunset boat tour and so much more. a hideaway I absolutey would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveladdicted4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

First off - the surroundings are stunning, the view from the rooms and the outdoor-shower is fabulous!
But we expected more, especially given the price. The service at the reception was rather poor, from the reservation by phone to the solution of problems at the place. The food was plenty, but mostly served lukewarm and the dining atmosphere felt more like a staff canteen than a restaurant. Extra charges for services (internet, short phone calls), no sauna at the spa (at least according to the receptionist), no radio or TV and no aircon in the room just added to our slightly disappointed feeling.
With a nanny service and creative and sports activities offered probably a perfect place for a family holiday, for younger couples who are more flexible a nice place - but for our taste a bit overrated especially if you are picky about food or prefer smaller cozy places.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iznel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port St Johns
4.3 mi away
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
#1 of 14 in Port St Johns
213 reviews
3.9 mi away
Delicious Monster Retreat
Delicious Monster Retreat
#5 of 14 in Port St Johns
31 reviews
5.8 mi away
Umzimvubu Retreat
Umzimvubu Retreat
#4 of 8 in Port St Johns
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
N`taba River Lodge cc
N`taba River Lodge cc
#4 of 14 in Port St Johns
46 reviews
6.2 mi away
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
#2 of 14 in Port St Johns
75 reviews
22.3 mi away
Swell Eco Lodge
Swell Eco Lodge
#1 of 3 in Mdumbi
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa

Address: I, Port St Johns, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port St Johns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port St Johns
Hotel Class:4 star — Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the Wild Coast, in the heart of Pondoland, and encompassed by a rocky coastline, indigenous forests, secluded coves and breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean, lies the award winning Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa - an award winning family resort & spa. The thatch-roofed bungalows are situated amongst the indigenous gardens which provide the perfect setting for a totally relaxed holiday. Weekly fly-in packages are available Friday to Friday from Durban where you fly at 500 feet above sea level along the beautiful coastline - a wonderful way to start your holiday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Umngazi River Bungalows Hotel Port St Johns
Umngazi River Hotel
Umngazi River Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing