We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location it just needs a few improvements & TLC!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lodge on the Beach
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect location it just needs a few improvements & TLC!!”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

The location is perfect for a bech holiday. Lodge is elevated and hidden from the traffic of locals and cars. The owners are very hospitable and friendly.
The lodge has 3 bedrooms each with its own bathroom across the room. The kitchen is communal shared by both guests and the owners. Each room has its seperate entrance.
The lodge completely works if you are travelling as a group of 3 couples, if there is other tenants at the same time not travelling with you then its tricky and uncomfortable.
The patio/deck area with the braai area overlooking the bech is just perfect.
The beach is within a walking distance.
The traget market for this lodge its seems its backpackers. Our rooms were not cleaned the entire 5 days we were there. No one makes your bed or takes out the trash for you.
This is a self catering place and the cleaning staff only clean the kitchen area and bathroom.

Room Tip: All the rooms are sea facing with a private entrance and patio are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nols76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    6
    5
    11
See reviews for
7
20
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

The Lodge was one of the quirkiest places we stayed in during our Trans-RSA trip in 2010. We arrived the night of the FIFA WC Final and had a ball watching the finals with the owner, some locals and 3 dogs! It was something to write home about. We booked all 3 rooms (practically the whole resort) to ourselves. We DID NOT feel it was run-down or dilapidated. Simple and comfortable. We had dinner at the restaurant next door. Sunrise was gorgeous with a view to kill for.

Room Tip: Only 3 rooms to choose from and they all face the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zzmelayu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, Eastern Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2011

My job has taken me to many places in the Eastern Cape and living in Hotels and guest houses has become a little dull. I have stayed at The Lodge on the Beach a few times and will now stay there everytime I go to the area. I can honestly say it is a home from home. The atmosphere is warm and inviting and the hosts were very accommodating. Catherine prepares really great meals and certainly knows how to make you feel comfortable. For me, there's nothing better than coming home after a hard days work and relaxing with a cup of coffee on the deck overlooking Second Beach. The only problem I have with this establishment is leaving and having to get back to reality. Thanks for fantastic times

Room Tip: They're all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael_Watson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

After seeing the photo's of The Lodge on the Beach and reading different reviews on various accommodation websites, some even saying that the place was "upgrading", it was to our disappointment and horror to find anything but the “jewel” of Port St John’s.

After having to be resorted to driving through hundreds of drunk and disorderly locals playing loud music, just across the lagoon from the Lodge on the Beach, to our shock when arriving at the place to find a rundown establishment, with its roof looking like it is falling apart, over-grown and unkept gardens and a lagoon that looked as if the local municipality was using it as the new dump. We were so disappointed with how the place looked that we didn’t even stay and found another lodge in Port St John’s that was well-kept and looked after.

Tourism websites need to seriously monitor those advertising to ensure that what they are “selling” is what you are getting, otherwise I would hate to hear of more couples looking for a romantic setting to be just as disappointed as we were. I strongly suggest that the manager of the Lodge on the Beach fully disclose their current rundown situation and update their photo's and not mislead those looking for accommodation in Port st Johns.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
4 Thank Yachal_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2011

The Lodge on the Beach is just great. Located at the very end of second beach, it is a hidden pearl close to Port St Johns. All rooms have a separate balcony with an amazing view on the beach. We stayed 4 nights and had lovely treks. The atmosphere is very relaxed and is not rare to meet some locals on the terrace.
It was definitely our best stay in South Africa.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElPan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port St Johns
0.6 mi away
Delicious Monster Retreat
Delicious Monster Retreat
#7 of 14 in Port St Johns
26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
#1 of 14 in Port St Johns
212 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
#2 of 14 in Port St Johns
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
N`taba River Lodge cc
N`taba River Lodge cc
#3 of 14 in Port St Johns
46 reviews
1.4 mi away
Umzimvubu Retreat
Umzimvubu Retreat
#4 of 8 in Port St Johns
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gecko Guest House
Gecko Guest House
#1 of 5 in Coffee Bay
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge on the Beach

Property: The Lodge on the Beach
Address: 2nd Beach | Second Beach, Port St Johns 5120, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port St Johns
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Port St Johns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge on the Beach, is a guest house situated right on the beach and probably the closest you will get anywhere along the Wild Coast. There are three rooms at The Lodge on the Beach, all of which are sea facing overlooking the length of Second Beach, a rustic community consisting of three accommodation establishments, two quirky restaurants and a local shebeen. All rooms, the large shaded veranda and the braai area have magnificent views of the ocean, lagoon and forest with 'The Gap and Blowhole' in the background and Bulolo River and Lagoon at your doorstep. Each room has a small sundeck and private bathroom which is not en-suite. The Lodge on the Beach has a relaxed atmosphere and is most suitable for couples and small families who wish to be a stone's throw away from the ocean and lagoon. It is also a good place to start the 'Port St Johns to Coffee Bay Hike' from, as we are right at the beginning of this hike. The Lodge on the Beach is a bed and breakfast, and dinners can be provided on request. Local fishermen often provide seafood such as crayfish/lobster, fish, mussels and oysters which we prepare for guests. There is also a self-catering option where guests make use of the communal kitchen and braai area. There are also two restaurants namely the 'Delicious Monster' and 'Wood`n Spoon' which are within 50 meters of The Lodge on the Beach. Once at The Lodge on the Beach there are many things to do without driving anywhere which include relaxing on the beach or in the lagoon, fishing, walking through Silaka Nature Reserve to Third Beach, walk to 'The Gap and Blowhole', hiking to Bulolo Waterfall, and paddling up the Bulolo River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Lodge on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing