We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ONE OF PORT ST JOHNS BEST”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port St Johns
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cremorne Riverside Holiday Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Amanzimtoti, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ONE OF PORT ST JOHNS BEST”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Cremorne at Port St Johns has a stunning setting and one does not have to go into the town of Port St, Johns at all. Resturant and pub lovely. We stayed in a one bedroom log cabin which was cosy with clean linen and towels. Management go out of their way to please.

The river frontage is ideal for boat owners as one can go down to the mouth or up towards he Pont. Good fishing spot. For rock and surf anglers you have various good spots as well.

Room Tip: Log cabins on your right just as you enter the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babyboat269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    47
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
38
27
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Potchefstroom, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

The resort is situated right off R61, across from the river from Port St John's. It is about 10 minutes away from the town by car. It turned out to be a very good location. I would never stay in the town itself. It is dilapidated beyond anyone's imagination and it doesn't feel safe to stay there. We rented a 2-bedroom self-catering cottage (rooms 15 and 16), which offers a bit more privacy in comparison to the other similar cottages.The rooms were clean. In fact, the white (!) sheets and towels were extremely clean. The rooms were serviced daily. We had an issue with the stove, which was resolved immediately. An excellent choice for the Port St John's area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

River-front camping spots with electricity and own tap, safe, beautiful surroundings! The breakfast buffet is good value for money - get their early. Client service is a high priority for the manager who goes out of his way to make your stay as good as possible. This is a hot and humid climate - so come prepared for all kinds of crawling and flying insects!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus
Level Contributor
134 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Very comfortable log cabins. Very spacious grounds beside the river. Restaurant served very nice food with a very friendly service. Bar available and packed breakfasts for those who leave early. Secure parking. Camping and caravan areas available as well

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeGrahamHermanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

John and the rest of the staff at Cremorne go out of their way to provide a friendly welcome and great conversation throughout your stay. The staff was outstanding!

The accommodations however were very average. The rooms were hot and muggy without much air circulation. The restaurant served mediocre food and there were a lot of bugs to deal with. Overall, this is a pretty "rustic" town and guest resort.

Room Tip: We stayed in the bed and breakfast chalets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navenby, Lincolnshire UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here while doing the sardine run.

The bungalows aren't the Hilton but are very comfortable. The views down the river to the sea and over the river to Telegraph Hill are stunning.

Wayne and Alex are excellent and friendly barmen. The food is excellent and you can eat at the bar or sit in the restaurant.

The resort is safe and beautifully quiet.

The camping area is also excellent. If you are a BBQ fan this will be heaven for you.

Overall I highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DivadEkralc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Cool place and people, food in the restaurant is awesome. Juan and Brandon were cool, very funny. Absolutely stunning location. Rooms were very clean and lots of hot water. The breakfast is outstanding and I would definately go back

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliandalehutchinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port St Johns hotels
4.9 mi away
The Lodge on the Beach
The Lodge on the Beach
#5 of 8 in Port St Johns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
3.6 mi away
Port St John's River Lodge
Port St John's River Lodge
#2 of 8 in Port St Johns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
3.0 mi away
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
#4 of 14 in Port St Johns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Delicious Monster Retreat
Delicious Monster Retreat
#6 of 14 in Port St Johns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
5.0 mi away
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
#1 of 14 in Port St Johns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
3.6 mi away
N`taba River Lodge cc
N`taba River Lodge cc
#3 of 14 in Port St Johns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cremorne Riverside Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cremorne Riverside Holiday Resort

Property: Cremorne Riverside Holiday Resort
Address: Ferry Point Road, Port St Johns 5120, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port St Johns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Port St Johns
Hotel Class:3 star — Cremorne Riverside Holiday Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing