We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME HOSPITALITY IN GREAT SETTING”
Review of iNtaba River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port St Johns
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
iNtaba River Lodge
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“AWESOME HOSPITALITY IN GREAT SETTING”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

If you want to experience great hospitality in a great setting in Port St.Johns, then go to N'taba River Lodge. The setting is awesome and one can feel the African experience. Nestled between mountains and on the river's edge, this lodge has spectacular views. The setting at night is so blissful and relaxing with lights focused on some trees. One can spend the entire night just admiring the set up.

The owners were very hospitable and made our stay really enjoyable. We were taken to the airstrip at the top of the mountain overlooking the lodge. What spectacular views of the river, sea and the lodges far below !! They are breathtaking.

The rooms were neat and tidy and the gardens were very well maintained. The food was delicious and the spread was great. The owners take pride in serving authentic cuisine.

Really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this lodge to visitors to Port St. Johns.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSREDDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    9
    0
    4
    3
See reviews for
12
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed in a chalet that comprised 2 double bedrooms with an interleading door which gave our 8 year old a room of his own and we didn't have to squash together in 1 room. The chalets we stayed in have a thatch roof and little stoep to sit on and enjoy the view. Each room i sfurnished pleasantly and has it's own bathroom with shower (no bath). There is a heater for winter which we definitely needed as we were there in winter but there was no air conditioning. Not sure if that would be a problem in summer but the thatch certainly kept the rooms cool.

The resort is in a stunning location overlooking the Umzimvubu river and because cars are parked at the entrance and not next to the chalets it is peaceful and safe for kids to run around. The facilities include 2 swimming pools (not fenced off) a restaurant, a bar with a deck on the river and a games room. The resort is well looked after and easy on the eye.

The accommodation is on a half board basis only and breakfast and dinner are served up in the cosy restaurant - we were there in winter and the fire was always crackling and warm. The food was simple but absolutely delicious. We enjoyed sampling the Durban curry, the roast and the seafood medley. We would have liked the flexibility of trying restaurants in the area and making ourselves a sandwich, but this resort doesn't have self catering options which is the style of accommodation we normally go for. Having said that, it was a treat to be served up 2 meals a day and the rates are good value when considering the quality of the food that is served up.

One improvement that the resort could make is to pay attention to the small finishing touches that take accommodation from good to excellent. There were a number of small maintenance and care issues that hadn't been attended to. For example, there is a working kettle in the room as you would expect, but the cable doesn't reach the plug so you have to boil the kettle on the floor. There is a hairdryer and tucked in a drawer as they often are, but when you pulled it out, it was sticky and unpleasant to hold. The bathroom is perfectly pleasant and modern, but there isn't anywhere to put your toiletry bag because the cabinet is too small to hold one. The remote in 1 of our rooms didn't work (it was attended to).These are minor irritations but could so easily be fixed by someone going through the rooms more thoroughly or by leaving a feedback sheet in the room.

We enjoyed our stay here. The owners and staff are welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them. The location is great and close to the beaches and activities in Port St Johns.

Room Tip: Choose chalets on the LHS as you face the river. Chalets on the right border with another resort tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rollingstone2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

As a UK Travel Agent - travelling to South Africa on a self drive. I started my journey in Durban on route to Port Elizabeth. We were recommended to break the journey in Port St Johns at iNtaba River Lodge. Drive from Durban to Port St Johns 360km which took us 4 hrs to get there. Car parking is not an issue as there is enough space and secure.
On arrival we were warmly greeted by the owners and competent staff, we were shown to our accommodation which was a beautiful thatched roofed bungalow. The room was very light and airy and beautifully presented. The views from our room was the river mouth, pool and the mountain. Far more luxurious then what I had expected.
There was afternoon tea served in the dining area which was most welcoming after our drive. The evening meals were prepared by the owner himself (Ivan) which was a truly hearty meal and delicious. The atmosphere was most relaxing and tranquil - a true gem!!
The next morning we were advised to see the airstrip on the top of the mountain and the local beaches around Port St Johns. We had a amazing time exploring the area.
Sad to have left as we had wished we could have extended our stay for an extra night as we found that this was a truly African Experience.
Thank you iNtaba for making my stay most memorable - as I will be back soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmmieBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2012

This was by far the best place we stayed during our December holiday at the wild coast.

From the moment we parked our car we were met by the welcoming owners and competent staff. The ladies helped us with all our luggage and we were soon greeted with coctails in our room.

What a marvelous setting! The rooms are much better than the photo's on their website. Our room was huge and beautiful. Far more luxurious than we expected. We had a stunning view of the river and the well maintained gardens and pools.

Bugs and her husband (the owners) advised us to go up to the airstrip, to go to third beach and also directed us to one of the most scenic roads we had seen on the wild coast. If it wasn't for them we would never even have known it existed:)

We arrived with a huge bag full of dirty laundry and to our pleasant surprise all was washed and packed away in our room the same day!

The food is a gastronomical feast! WOW! By far the best food we had on holiday. Everything is fresh and lovingly prepared. The owner/chef makes sure nothing leaves his kitchen that is not of the highest standard. I can't even start to describe the authentic curries. Delicious! We rushed back for lunch everyday as we did not want to miss out on anything:)

My son is an extremely difficult eater. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners or the staff. At each meal something was specialy prepared for him. Not because they had to, but because they wanted to.

I can honestly recommend this establishment to anyone. We will most certainly be back this year. Only this time, we will stay longer.

Room Tip: We stayed in the corner suite next to the restaurant. There is a huge bathtub which was great for my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonoraJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed in Ntaba River Lodge in the end of June 2011 during the sardine run. The hotel rooms are decorated in an African style. The roof and ceiling is thatch what creates a warm feel about the hotel room. The furniture is also handcrafted wood and in general in our opinion the hotel and grounds are well kept and decorated with taste. The hotel rooms are clean and hotel grounds are well kept. Food is decent and the staff are kind and helpful. We stayed there in the middle of winter and even though it was about 26 degrees Celsius during the day the nights were quite cold (possibly about 5 degrees Celsius). There were electric heaters in the rooms but when all guests turned them on the electricity sometimes went out. At some point this became difficult to deal with and the owner actually had to take away some of the heaters - we were allowed to keep ours as we had to dry our wetsuits. It was the only place we stayed in in Port St. Johns o cannot compare to other options but from the outside it seemed to be the nicest place in the town. If you are looking for 4* luxury by European standards - don't go to Port St. Johns. If your prime objective is an adventure but you want to do this with a little bit of luxury Ntaba River Lodge will be the perfect place for you. Last but not least, if you are planing to go to Port St. Johns for the Sardine run Ntaba River Lodge is practically next door to the boat launch site - you can sleep a little longer in the morning :-) .

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piotr K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Fantastic setting, warm hospitality , great food.
We were inspired by the natural beauty and awesome setting. Best authentic, Indian curry in Port St Johns.

Room Tip: Book the Superior rooms with air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AfricaDidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We are a family of Four ( 2 daughters) and spent a week with friends at N'taba River Lodge during the Easter Holiday.

We were totally amazed at the service and hospitality we received. On arrival, we were warmly welcomed with cocktails by the Owners & the Staff . We were shown to our rooms and given a brief tour of the facilities available.

Our room was very welcoming, freshly cleaned with ample of towels and fresh linen. We were surprised that the rooms were furnished in Indonesian Teak furniture and decorated to the highest standards. The en suite bathroom had terrazo bath tubs and basins imported from Indonesian and modern frameless showers.

Dinner was a gastronomic feast with a huge Buffet catering for vegetarians and non vegetarians. Staff service was exemplary.

We were very excited to meet the " Carte Blanche" TV production team during our stay who also gave rave reviews of their stay.

Once again , my friends and family thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely make this our annual holiday destination. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Room Tip: The new Superior Rooms are recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KhushmaDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port St Johns hotels
0.1 mi away
N`taba River Lodge cc
N`taba River Lodge cc
#3 of 14 in Port St Johns
46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Port St John's River Lodge
Port St John's River Lodge
#2 of 8 in Port St Johns
67 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
#5 of 14 in Port St Johns
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Lodge on the Beach
The Lodge on the Beach
#5 of 8 in Port St Johns
45 reviews
3.4 mi away
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
#1 of 14 in Port St Johns
209 reviews
3.8 mi away
Delicious Monster Retreat
Delicious Monster Retreat
#7 of 14 in Port St Johns
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iNtaba River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iNtaba River Lodge

Property: iNtaba River Lodge
Address: P.O.Box 190, Port St Johns 5120, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port St Johns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Port St Johns
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between towering cliffs and set in amazing Tropical gardens on the banks of the Umzimvubu River, N'taba River Lodge is a family resort offering the finest mixture of Wild Coast hospitality and hugely comfortable rooms. Holiday makers seeking a place to get in touch with nature can find it all here! N'taba River Lodge is a nature lover's dream... Indulge in lazy days just enjoying the river flowing past, canoeing, spending a day at the beach, enjoy hiking or walking trails, go horse riding on the beach, visit local communities and sample a local Pondo lunch. With the diversity our rugged landscape, the sheer beauty of the area and dense vegetation that surrounds us, bird watching enthusiasts will be held a captive audience throughout their visit, not to mention the opportunity for amazing photographs and unforgettable memories to take back with you! N'taba River Lodge is an attractive and luxurious establishment with a relaxing and laid-back atmosphere. You will be pampered in spacious single or two bedroom family cottages, each with its own en suite bathroom or shower. We also have a Honeymoon cottage where our friendly staff is happy to serve a candle-lit dinner on your private patio overlooking the river. Our "Madiba" Executive suites are also offered to the discerning and frequent business traveler. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing