We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here it's a complete rip off”
Review of Outspan Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port St Johns
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Outspan Inn
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We arrived after a long day's travelling to find there was no electricity. OK that wasn't their fault but they should have some sort of back up system. We were given just 2 candles - i had to ask for more. Then I found there was no hot water. I was told that everyone else must have used it up. I then asked if there was any way of getting some hot water and was told they had a stove. I got given a bucket of hot water to wash with. The bathroom was decidely grotty, the bedroom was ok. My fiance had booked the place and couldn't remember what the rate was. I was guessing it would be about 300-400 rand for the room. I couldn't believe it when we got the bill for 990 rand! I asked if they were going to discount the rate given the lack of electricity and hot water - we got 90 rand discount - big deal! The breakfast was distrinctly average. I really wouldn't recommend staying here unless you can get a rate of no more than 400 rand for the room. They are completely ripping people off. Glad we only had to endure one night there.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy_B0tt0m_L0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathrynoutspaninn, Owner at Outspan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2011

Dear Sirs

I'm sorry that these guests were unhappy. The electricity situation was an Eskom problem (South Africa's electricity supplier), over the period that these guests were here, we were really plagued by power cuts - but we were lucky, a guesthose not far from us was without power over the entire Christmas period. The lack of candles - as the power cuts were quite common, we were prepared for them, but I would say that we had given out more than we had bought. A situation that I do apologise for.

As to our price - all guests are told on check in what our rate is, and the peak period rate is higher than out of season. If our rate was out of the guests budget, I do wish he had gone to stay at a backpackers or similar, where the rate would have been much lower, instead of slating us quite vindictively.

Yours sincerely

Kathryn Costello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 31 of 31 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2011

Place is very basic with B&B accommodation slightly better than the SC units, which had peeling paint, lose electric connections, faulty appliances, dirty chair covers and so plenty more annoyances that I won't even attempt to list.
Overpriced and definitely not worth 3* they have (apparently) been awarded.
We went to Cremorne Estate for lunch and then dinner and it's very nice and clean, much better than Outspan Inn - rather stay there.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank AM-Johannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathrynoutspaninn, Owner at Outspan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2011

Dear Sirs

I and the rest of our guests were very happy to see this family leave. They arrived unhappy, didn't have anything pleasant to say to anybody, and then bullied and hectored me into discounting their stay, Which I did, because they really needed to go book in somewhere else.

They mention Cremorne, which is a lovely guest house, but also much more expensive than us. If they thought Cremorne was so great, why were they not booked there?

Yours sincerely

Kathryn Costello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

When you want to stay in Port St Johns, there is not a lot of choice in accommodation. This is a part of South-Africa not yet discovered by mass tourism and part of me hopes it remains that way. Port St Johns is a place of unnatural beauty where a river meets the see and a complete new eco-system has developed. The Outspan Inn is very basic, but probably the best accommodation in the village. And because the tourist-infrastructure in Port St Johns is underdeveloped, even a basis accommodation can charge a lot. We paid 700 Rand a night for a very simple room with mosquito nets and an inadequate fan. The bathroom was old and small and had stains everywhere. The toilet-seat was cracked and the water didn't flush properly. The breakfast was adequate and the food was of a high quality. And the service level was alright. In the only restaurant within walking distance from the Outspann Inn, you have to be very patient with the staff, but they mean well. The village itself doesn't have anything to offer. No real shops or sights to visit. And in November 2010 there also were a lot of road works, so everything in the village was untared and dusty. But if you want to experience the real Africa in South-Africa, Port St Johns and the Outspan Inn are definitely worth a visit for a couple of nights. You can always do the garden route after that and live the good life again in luxurious hotels and dine out in excellent restaurants. The village and accommodation may be very basic, but the beaches and views near Port St Johns are magnificent.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will de d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Compared to other options in Port St Johns, the location of Outspan Inn is quite good (a short walk from centre of town). I think the price we paid (1,200 rand per twin share room) was too high for a guest house of this standard. Office was often unattended and we could not raise anyone some times which was a little frustrating. The breakfast was quite good. Overall, Port St Johns was quite a boring place to visit - very few places open on a Monday night in June.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JilPotsdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port St Johns hotels
1.9 mi away
Port St John's River Lodge
Port St John's River Lodge
#2 of 8 in Port St Johns
69 reviews
2.2 mi away
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
#1 of 14 in Port St Johns
213 reviews
2.7 mi away
Delicious Monster Retreat
Delicious Monster Retreat
#5 of 14 in Port St Johns
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
#2 of 14 in Port St Johns
75 reviews
0.8 mi away
Umzimvubu Retreat
Umzimvubu Retreat
#4 of 8 in Port St Johns
17 reviews
2.0 mi away
N`taba River Lodge cc
N`taba River Lodge cc
#4 of 14 in Port St Johns
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outspan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outspan Inn

Address: Main Road, Port St Johns 5120, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port St Johns
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Port St Johns
Hotel Class:3 star — Outspan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing