We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Jungle Monkey Backpackers(Port St Johns)(Great Value!)
$18
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Lodge on the Beach(Port St Johns)
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$28
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$29
Booking.com
View Deal
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
N`taba River Lodge cc(Port St Johns)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
iNtaba River Lodge(Port St Johns)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Umzimvubu Retreat(Port St Johns)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveler rating
121
57
24
11
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
57
24
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswild coastport stlive entertainmentfew beersthe cottagesthanks guysunique placejungle viewself catering unitrelaxed vibeawesome fooda great place to stayan amazing viewbackpackerslocalsvibesaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 224 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2016

Great location and good sea views. Friendly staff the only negative is the mattress was WAY past its sell by date. After complaining they replaced the mattress the next day.Menu has a daily special and great tasting food.

Room Tip: Self catering units are quieter and away from the bar area.
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sandra p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amapondo, Owner at Amapondo Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2016

Hi, thanks for the great review. Sorry about that mattress situation. The entire bed has since been replaced and the old one is now being used as firewood.

Please come again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2016 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend tarveld in most of south africa for three monthes and amapondo was definitely one of our favorites places.

The town is super friendly, the beach is beautiful, the food is good and the staff of the backpacker is the best!

If u gonna stay there make sure u take a tour guide from amapondo and i highly reccomend to ctach the the owner and the manager of the place for a talk about the place and to help u plan the rest of your trip, both of them knows sa very good.

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank idobentzur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amapondo, Owner at Amapondo Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2016

Hi guys, thanks for such a great review. I remember helping you plan your trip a bit and I hope it's going well. Amapondo most certainly is a friendly place, and Port St Johns too. Thanks for mentioning our tours - Warrick, our tour guide, is very friendly and extremely knowledgable about the area and he just loves taking people on tours and showing them around. Thanks again for a great review and we hope to see you again soon. Regards, Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2016 via mobile

Aaahhh... When you find yourself in Port St John's make sure you stay with these champions. The staff are amazing and friendly. The hostel is beautifully situated near the beach. It's a little mission to get in to town if you don't have your own car. The room was perfect and the food amazing. Thank you Amapondo Team for the wonderful stay. I'll be Back like the Terminator said.
BJORN:)

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank bjorn373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amapondo, Owner at Amapondo Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2016

Hi Bjorn, thanks for a great review and your kind words - I love the fact that you called us 'Champions'. That's really made my day, and I will announce it at our next staff meeting. Regarding the mission to get to town if you don't have your own car - we do daily trips to town and we will happily take anyone to town and back at any time, so don't worry too much about that. It's​ also extremely easy and very safe to hitchhike. I do it all the time. If you stand on the road outside Amapondo with your thumb in the air, someone will pick you up soon enough. And it's totally safe - even for single girls travelling alone. We look forward to seeing you again soon Bjorn. Regards, Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2016 via mobile

Vibe is excellent. Friendly staff. Lots of people gathering around a bonfire and enjoying the loud music and lots of booze. The cottage was basic....clean(ish)...and exactly what you pay for.
Unfortunately one big negative: the bed is WAY past its sell-by date. And its not just me. Met a couple who stayed there the same night and their backs were in a state because of their bed as well. Fix it please! Otherwise perfect for having fun in Port St Johns!

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank E-Nobody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amapondo, Owner at Amapondo Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2016

HI, thanks for the review. So sorry about the mattress. We have ordered a new bed entirely and it will be delivered on Monday. Thanks for the feedback. Hope you come again. Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2016

Seriously impressed with this place. The rooms are spacious with solid, comfy beds, the kitchen is one of the best-equipped i've seen in a hostel, the bar area is very cool with pool, table tennis etc, the shower rooms are great and the place is just generally well looked after. Best thing; the people - staff and volunteers are really helpful and friendly, and will make you feel relaxed in no time. There are cats, dogs and donkeys all over the place which is also great and it all comes together to just create a really nice vibe. It's situated quite far out of town, but there are vehicles going back and forth several times a day and they're always happy to offer a lift, and the pay-off is that it's very close to a great little beach (no swimming sadly due to sharks). Plenty of fresh seafood on sale from the locals for great low prices. Just all-round impressive.

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amapondo, Owner at Amapondo Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2016

Thanks for the review. So glad you had a great time and that you enjoyed Amapondo. You are right about the people - we really are blessed with such wonderful people around all the time. Please come again. Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews